We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in one of the "5 star" lodges for a week. On arrival the girl on reception was lovely and we got checked in early. First impressions of the lodge were lovely but looking closer they are not 5 star like advertised. There is definite wear and tear on them. The carpets were stained in both bedroom and the curtains. The duvet on our bed was torn. The fridge seal was falling offf and the dishwasher did not work properly.
Our phone did not work and one of the shower doors was falling off so I called reception on my mobile and spoke to a man who had absolutely no interest in listening to me. His manner was awful and I think he just wanted me off the phone. We had two people come to fix the problems and they put a temporary fix on the shower but the phone was never fixed over the week.
Also I used the ironing board and it colapsed nearly landing on my foot!
I used the swimming pool with my daughter every day and it was great.
We went to the childrens playroom and it was not great. Lots of broken toys and a very small area. The playground was ok.
We ate in the restaurant twice and the food was very good and had bar food one day and that was great aswell.
Overall I dont think you are getting great value for money here as the lodges are expensive and you get nothing i.e no breakfast and no cleaning for the money.
On checkout I was unfortunate enough to find that same guy ( I think his name was Jason) and he did not even ask me did we enjoy our stay. I was so baffled by his bad manners that I didnt bother saying anything to him. He barely looked at me. We have stayed in alot of hotels in ireland and I have not experienced manners like this.
We won't be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for a vacation to see the Ring of Kerry and Ring of Beara.
Great place to stay to cook and have a little home away from home while on vacation.
Only a two minute walk from town for some great food at Packie's (get the potato pancakes for sure). I would definitely stay at this resort again next time I am in Kenmare. Had a great time at this location and it was kind on the budget also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kirby804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the beautiful area of Kenmare. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the lodge midway thru our trip. Prior to this stop, had been to B & B's and hotels. There were 4 of us traveling. We rented a 2 bedroom lodge, each had there own bathroom.

We were able to wash clothes and eat in a little. The price as way cheaper than the hotels and it was nice.

The location was walking distance from town. This made each couple independent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all of our facilities that our self catering holiday homes have to offer. We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed with family in a two bedroom holiday home. It was very clean and spacious. Two bedroom and thee bathrooms. A big kitchen-living room area. A well closed in back garden. A very safe and comfortable house. We had the use of the hotel leisure center which was free to all residents of holiday homes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend the hotel and also the holiday homes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Booked two of the forelands houses which are located 5 minutes walk from main hotel. Houses fabulous and fit purpose of large group of adults and kids. Lots of room and clean and spacious. Great location as a base for exploring surrounding county and town of kenmare. Made great use of excellent swimming pool facility with great staff here. Great value for money.

Now for the negative. As a group travelling with young but well behaved kids one of the reasons for staying in an affiliated house to the hotel was with the intention of eating in the hotel and maybe enjoying a couple of drinks without feeling in the way because of the presence of kids. However on our first drink in the hotel and before ordering food one of party was spoken to very rudely by a staff member regarding one of the toddlers who was exploring the environment as those just started walking tend to do. All our party are professionals in various sectors and all agreed the comments were very inappropriate and rude. This put us off immediately using this amenity and being typical irish did not make a scene and complain but rather took our business elsewhere for the duration of our stay. All the other restaurants in kenmare were more than happy to take the business of 8 adults and 6 children and make us feel more than welcome even with a few kids. While very happy with all other aspects of our stay and in today's climate I'm sure the hotel would rather have gained some of our business while staying at the affiliated houses which was lost due the rudeness of a staff member.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandMary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in one of the 3 bedroomed holiday homes for a friends wedding in June.On arrival-parking right outside the door and the house itself was just beautiful! :) So nicely decorated,clean,tidy,bright and welcoming!We stayed for 2 nights and the value between 6 of us was fantastic.Really enjoyed our stay & will be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned from a week in the luxury lodges . We had a ball , the staff in Kenmare Bay from the moment of booking were wonderful . We had a large family party travelling with the older folks staying in the hotel . Everyone from 2 yrs old up to 80 years had a ball . The teenagers loved the swimming pool , the younger ones went to the kids club and made us all shortbread biscuits which were delicious . Many thanks we will be back , perfect location and houses were clean , well kept and stocked .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbie-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
13.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
978 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
1.4 mi away
The Courtyard at Sheen Falls Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges

Address: Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: £94 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges are situated in the grounds of the Kenmare Bay Hotel, just a short stroll into the town centre of the quaint town of Kenmare. Enjoy all the facilities that the hotel has to offer combined with the comforts of your own home. Each 3 bedroom holiday home comprises of: Master ensuite double bedroom; Twin bedroom; Single bedroom; Bright & Spacious kitchen/dining room with all modern conveniences; Living area with fold out sofa bed, multi chanenel TV/DVD unit and open fire; Cot and highchair; downstairs toilet; semi-private garden; parking.Each 2 bedroom Lodge comprises of: 2 Master en-suite king-size bedrooms, which can be twins or doubles; A sofa bed in one of the bedrooms; Fully fitted kitchen; Open plan dining room and lounge area with LCD TV and DVD player and MP3 docking station; Private garden; Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing