We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Perfect place to stay in the main street of Kenmare. Rooms are on upper floors at the rear of the property - quiet, modern and spacious. Good dinner in the pub downstairs, with fantastic live music from really talented musicians. Breakfast was also really good, with a generous cold buffet selection to accompany the hot plates. Staff very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmandSime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Excellent value for a B&B, restaurant and pub are part of the guesthouse. Room was very clean and comfortable. It is located in centre of Kenmare, fabulous breakfast

Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Davitts is a place that I would highly reccomend. I went to Kenmare on a staycation for a few days with my mother and sister in July (2012). I couldn't believe this place was a B&B. Room was lovely and so sapcious. When booking there was only one room left and we were told before booking that the room is at the front of the premises on the busy street, and honestly this did not effect our sleep at all. breakfast was amazing, the selection of fruits, cereals, juices and hot food was fantstic as was the food itself. One of the nicest breakfasts I've had ever had. What I loved about this aswell is that prices are B&B rates but you don't have the sometimes awkwardness of having to make plesant chat with B&B owners because you are in their homes, really just like a hotel with a small receiption. Staff were very friendly and food downstairs in the evening was just as good as breakfast. If your going to Kenmare stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Davitt's is in a perfect location, right in the heart of the main street. The room was fine - we had a 3rd floor room that was cozy but all we needed. The breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip - delicious! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phatty42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had one night in Kenmare, on our way back up to Adare for a wedding the next day. We were planning to drive the Ring of Kerry the next morning, so Kenmare was a good place to start. We accidentally fell upon a food festival taking place in the town that weekend (13th - 15th July 2012) Kind of like Taste of London, but all the restaurants and bars in the town take part. Shame we only had the one night, as the food festival sounded amazing.

Kenmare itself is a picture postcard town, beautiful streets, buildings, shops and lots of restaurants and bars. The B&B is central (no parking) you have to find parking on the side streets I guess that really is the only downside, everything else was great. Large clean room, comfortable bed, large bathroom, powerful shower, can't fault anything. Breakfast is pretty much everything you need, cooked fresh and served in the main restaurant. Lots of choice on the a la carte menu.

We had dinner Tom Crean Fish and Wine restaurant, was nice but service wasn't that great. In hindsight we should have gone to Wild Garlic.

I'd love to go back to Kenmare again and I'd recommend Davitt's for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is the best "find" of my trip! Great room with awesome food in the restaurant in a town that is like the "real" Ireland. The owner Mary and all of her staff go out of their way to be helpful and assure your stay with them is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcolt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We ate here one night and the food was not great. My wife had pasta which tasted like fish (yes fish) and it had very liitle chicken. I had a burger which was undercooked and very liitle dressing. We also noticed that some tables got bread with their meal but not us. The rate was also on the high end.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank sim0n1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
1,001 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
1,004 reviews
0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.7 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 62 in Kenmare
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Address: 11 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £79 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing