We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at Davitt's in April 2013. Mary was the absolute best host, and made Davitt's feel like home for the week. We arrived just as the marathon bombing happened in our home town, Mary checked on us everyday and gave us updates as soon as she heard any news. As for the hotel, it's clean, modern, excellent restaurant (great breakfast and sticky toffee pudding for desert) with live music many nights. Parking wasn't an issue with the car park behind the B+B but there are only a few spots. Kenmare was relatively quiet at that time, but it was so relaxing and with plenty to do (biking, eating, drinking, hiking, shopping), Mary had some great recommendations for the area. She even arranged a bike rental for us from the local bike shop. Overall, we highly recommend Davitt's and can't wait until we can go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

The town was shocka when we arrived - pretty much all central B&B's full. Took a chance with this little gem - and although settled on a room directly on the main road - was pleasantly surprised to find that it pretty much enhanced a fantastic evening out: live folk music streaming in from the pubs below to lull us to sleep. Rooms of exceptional quality: clean, fresh looking, modern tele (which remained switched off during our stay), and spotless bathroom. Breakfast... the best we had in Ireland by a long mile. Do opt for the salmon and scrambled eggs! Good coffee.... and what I struggle we had to get decent coffee in the Emerald Isles. Bar that good breakfast selection - enough to get one going till dinner. One word of mention is the friendly Czech girl serving us the morning. Outstanding service with a genuine welcoming manner and smile!!

Room Tip: If you mind a bit of loud fold music till around 1 to 2 am - make sure you choose a room not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ047475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of a one night stay and I have to say I was very impressed with the hotel,the rooms and food where first class and the value was excellent . Next time I'm in Kenmare will definitely stay at Davitts

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1972Foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed one night as part of a short trip around Kerry. From check-in to check-out, it was a pleasure and fantastic value. Our room was on the top floor and full of light from the large skylights and had an excellent bathroom. The town has some great walks, which we enjoyed in the evening and the next morning. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and the room was as quiet as could be at night topped off by a first class breakfast in the morning. This is one I will return to!

Room Tip: Book a room on the top-floor. Light, airy and great views across the range of hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sitmosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stumbled on this place as we came late into,town and it was perfect, would highly recommend it. Great value with a delicious breakfast included. Staff was friendly and helpful and location was great. Able to walk around in this safe town late at night

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been many times to Kenmare over the years and stayed in other B&B's there but I always come back to Davitts - there is no place like it! The accomodation is modern, clean and bright and warm when needed out of season . The restaurant is superb and whilst I appreciate that all people like different types of food there really is something for everyone on the menu and it is cooked to perfection.. The staff are friendly and helpful and the owner is knowledgeable of the area being born there. I had a room on the first floor this time which was very quiet - there is a small sitting room with tea/coffee making facilities for guests on this floor and also wi-fi. Everything you need is at Davitts. I'll be back soon, perhaps even again this year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have returned here again and again. The rooms are spacious bright and spotless. It is right in the heart of the town but the rooms being located to the back of the building are very quiet. The breakfast menu is better than what we got when we stayed at the sheen falls(5*) a coule of years ago and cooked fresh, no micro bings or shrivelled sausages!!!!! Freshly brewed coffee is always a bonus. I would highly recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
973 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
13.7 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.2 mi away
Rockcrest House Kenmare
Rockcrest House Kenmare
#1 of 61 in Kenmare
630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Address: 11 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing