We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. Best place I stayed in all of Ireland.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Outstanding. Best place I stayed in all of Ireland.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nothing compares to Davitts. I travelled all over Ireland for 2 weeks and wished that every B&B & hotel was like Davitts. From the start, Mary greeted us as if we were family. We had an enormous room overlooking the main strip, which was sunny, inviting, and spotless. The location is perfect - you're in the heart of the town and can pop into the room whenever necessary. We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs which was delicious. The staff were so nice and genuinely fun to talk with. They work so hard to make sure you have a nice experience. Definitely get the breakfast in the morning - huge selection, tasty, and filling. Mary and her staff made our stay so enjoyable, it's the only place to stay in Kenmare. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    39
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
105
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was my second stay at Davitt's and I was once again pleased with the rooms and the service. The rooms are very spacious, with big skylights and huge bathrooms by european standards. The bed was very comfortable. The wifi wasn't working properly when I stayed but I was told they were working on it. The food in the restaurant is very nice as well and the breakfast is great! Try the french toast!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with the skylights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This guest house is amazing. From our arrival to departure nothing was too much trouble. I stayed here with my Sister and Brother in law. Both rooms were very clean and tastefully furnished.
We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be wonderful. Our waiter, Kurt, was both attentive and amusing and deserves recognition for this. We were treated to live music on the night too an added bonus.
The breakfast menu was very varied and plentiful and delicious. If your still reading this and not yet booked I urge you to do so you will not be disappointed. Congratulations to Mary and all the staff at this great guest house.

Room Tip: Ask for directions to the car park at the rear of the building as the street outside is always full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetaManchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had booked three nights at Davitts - which included breakfast in the morning. Our room was on the top floor and had three of these windows that opened up for air movement. Plenty of room. It appeared that these rooms (we were traveling with another couple) had been recently renovated. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

At the last minute, partly because of weather and partly after driving on the narrow country roads, I changed my plans to stay in Skibbereen and get a bit closer to Dingle. I am so glad I did and so very glad to get a last minute stay at Davitts. What a great value for a lovely and large room. Everything was beautiful and breakfast was outstanding. I had the French toast as I was a bit tired of eggs and Mary did not disappoint! Berry compote and mascarpone or something plus real maple syrup – it was wonderful and the buffet was outstanding as well. It is right smack in the middle of Kenmare. This little town turned out to be one of my favorites and I highly recommend a stay here. While parking is a bit crowded in the back you can park on the street just behind the inn with no problem. Thank you Mary and thank you for helping out with directions, I did take the ferry ride over to Kilrush or Kilmer – nice change of pace!

Room Tip: I had a room in the back it was very quiet, not a great view but that was fine and I think I had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

First of all we only had dinner and drinks and did not stay in the guesthouse area.

My wife and I found it hard to choose what to eat as they have a great menu. We selected a Sirlion steak and Fish & Chips and completely enjoyed our meal. We had another couple join us and a good time was had by all.

We were charged an extra beer and extra wine but decided it best to let it slide as the meal and service was top notch.

We will again visit Davitts when we return to Kenmare in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here in February for a few days. The room was spacious, bright and clean. The food served in the pub was excellent particularly a wonderful breakfast buffet with lots of variety. I would recommend Davits highly. The only downside was the parking which was a bit awkward and very little space. But overall a great comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Property: Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Address: 11 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing