We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tholen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Mary Brennan is very lovely ladie who welcomes you with a friendly chat and tea and scones with home made jam, very pleasant welcome.
The B&B is one of the best we stayed in more than 40 years
We stayed 10 days because we wanted to discover Kenmare for a reason and we loved every
minute of it.
Anyone who read this revieuw, I can recomment this perfect place, you won't regret.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
116
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

than Mary Brennan and her superb B&B in Kenmare! A warm and welcoming lady with a great sense of humour and full of good advice for travel, sightseeing and eating out in the area. The accommodation is second to none, breakfast extensive including home made bread, scones and fresh fruit, and a generous supply of coffee, tea and kitkats is always available. We stayed at five B&B's during our trip and although most were excellent, we rate Ashfield as Ultra-Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Mary was a very welcoming host. Our room, No.1. had lovely views of the river and mountains
and was very clean and comfortable. Lovely breakfast with freshly baked soda bread and scones. Plenty of parking at the house which was very close to the delightful town of Kenmare
with its many excellent restaurants. Had a particularly good dinner at the 'Wild Garlic'.
We would certainly stay at Ashfield again. Do not miss the little unique Lace Museum above
the Tourist board in Kenmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeightHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

after reviewing trip advisor to find out which was the best b&b to stay in while i done a bit of traveling round the ring ASHFIELD BED & BREAKFAST had some great reviews .so i booked a 3 night stay myself and partner ..mary and paul were so welcoming when we arrived ,freshly baked scones were waiting for us ..there b& b .was spotless ..and the view from their house was amazing mary has a lot of knowledge about kerry itself so we didnt really need tourist information ..paul was able to give sound advise on the local pubs and resteraunts ..must say the couchmans pub was a brilliant spot along with the atlantic bar ..food was lovely in all the places ..and lve music in most bars ,,the seafood resteraunt on the main street called tom crean is well worth a visit .food and athmostphere was lovely with a great bit of irish history trown inn ..all in all i will be back to see mary and paul and their lovely pet pippa .

Room Tip: try book master bedroom for the view ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna Wosser C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Mary was very welcoming, with tea and homemade scones when we arrived in the late afternoon. Her home is immaculate, with large rooms and a great shower. You can walk into town, but we found parking behind the visitors' center convenient. Mary had great tips, not only for where to go in Kenmare, but also for other parts of our itinerary. When I emailed Mary a couple of weeks before our arrival, she had a great idea about driving the Beara Peninsula and Healy Pass on the way in. She also had great advice about the Gap of Dunloe and how to avoid the bus traffic as we drove to and from Killarney. Ashfield B & B is one of the places that truly makes an Ireland visit memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbillmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We chose Ashfield based on Trip Advisor reviews and now know why they are rated #1 - everything was perfect. We stayed for 3 days while touring the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula. Kenmare is a perfect base for touring and a terrific town in its own right. We were very glad we did not stay in Killarney!

Mary is a perfect host. Her welcome was warm and sincere and she gave us several helpful suggestions for pubs and activities. Our room had a double and a twin - very comfortable. The bathroom was quite large and had a wonderful power shower which is unusual in Ireland. The breakfast menu is extensive and always plenty of fresh fruit and homemade breads and scones.

Ashfield is located on a side street, adjacent to a golf course. Very quiet and peaceful. Yet an easy walk, on sidewalks, into the center of town. We made friends with the pet donkeys, Trappie and Coco, and fed them Mary's left over breakfast breads.

This is definitely the best B&B in Kenmare and one of the best of the 5 we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaTravelerOahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I'm not surprised that Ashfield is rated No.1 in the Kenmare region.
I have stayed at Ashfield FOUR times now over the last six years.
I spent four nights there last week and, as usual, could not have been looked after any better. Mary and Paul are gracious happy hosts and ensure that everything is perfect, even to the Kit-Kats and biscuits with the tea/coffee service.
If you are a golfer,perfect!. It is alongside Kenmare Golf Course.
I'll be back to Kenmare and I will always stay at Ashfield.
Kevin Hulton-Smith

Room Tip: I have stayed in both front and rear rooms.I cannot choose a preference, all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 61 in Kenmare
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Killowen Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing