We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Stay at Ashfield House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Fine Stay at Ashfield House!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a pleasant one night stay at Ashfied B&B. It is in a quiet neighborhood slightly outside the center of lovely Kenmare town. From our comfortable and clean room we had good views of Kenmare River. We arrived on a very warm afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Mary, who helped us to or room and brought us cool beverages. She offered helpful suggestions about where to eat that evening (We had an excellent pub dinner at the Coachman), and about our route through Killarney National Park the next day. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Thank you, Mary!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripLoverPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
113
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The B and B was very comfortable. Mary is a great cook. Her breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland. The porridge (oatmeal) was very creamy and the eggs were made perfectly. She always gave us a warm greeting and asked about how our days went. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have recently spent 10 days in Ireland and Ashfield B&B was one of the best places we stayed. Mary was very welcoming and we found the B&B without any problems using the provided map and instructions. The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable with a good ensuite.
As we are golfers the location next to the golf club was great but unfortunately we didn't have our clubs! The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our stay in this charming town and would loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet this is a lovely peacefully location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here one night. Our room was large and attractive. The towels in the colours of the Irish flag were a cute touch in a nice bathroom. My french toast at breakfast was average but the fried eggs were perfect. The beds were quite comfortable. There was a good choice of food. The owner was pleasant and welcoming and not worried about us being early. If you want to pay by credit card you need to do so the night before.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DodoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

For reasons not clear to me, this B&B was difficult to locate on my GPS and Google maps. I finally had to stop at the petrol station nearest it. But once located, it is a wonderful find.

I got out of my car, pressed the door bell, and was immediately greeted by Mary who said she was expecting me and then ushered me to my room. It’s the quickest check-in in my life. Also, she offered tea or coffee, which I would have gladly accepted had I come in earlier instead of at dinner time.

The room is good size. The TV was somewhat small but that was not a bother. The bathroom was rather small but cheerful with a skylight. The amenities were of a high quality.

Breakfast the following day was good.

It will probably appear on the maps soon enough. I hope the service levels maintains.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were so glad we spent four nights with Mary at her B&B. Our room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. The B&B was also very quiet and relaxing to return to after a full day of sightseeing. Kenmare was a perfect location to explore the Ring of Kerry, Beara Peninsula, and Killarney National Park. The walk to town from the B&B was super easy and flat with sidewalk all the way. Mary was a friendly and helpful hostess. We were hoping to make a trip to the Skelligs, which required us to get an early start and thought we might have to skip breakfast, but Mary told us she wouldn't mind a bit having our breakfast ready for us before we left. She also called Portmagee for us while we were eating to make sure the boats were making the trip that day. She did all of this without us even asking! What a gem! Mary and her husband were so much fun and we thoroughly enjoyed talking to them each morning. They readily answered all of our questions and provided great suggestions on what to do each day. We felt more like friends than guests when we left. We highly recommend Ashfield B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ashfield B and B for three nights and enjoyed our stay in Kenmare. The room was a good size and very comfortable. Mary and Paul were both helpful and very accommodating hosts. Porridge at breakfast is a must! The location is a gentle walk to the town center which seems to be a hub of Irish music . And the golf course is just next door. All makes for a very enjoyable stay in Kenmare.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laurence11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 60 in Kenmare
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Killowen Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing