We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Ireland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doire Farm Cottages
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Doire Farm for three days in September and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here, especially owing to this down-to-earth family, who taught us so much about the culture of the Irish. We were entertained nightly by young Maria, who serenaded us with her accordion and told us what it is like to grow up in this beautiful land. Anne is a gracious host who serves a delightful breakfast and made us feel right at home. The farm is located a short drive from the quaint little town of Kenmare, which is the ideal setting off point for day trips to Beara, Killarney, and the Ring of Kerry. Thanks again to Anne and her family.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AncasterMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2010

We have just got back today from a week in Pa's Cottage. Everything you could wish for is there - character, comfort, atmosphere and wonderful hospitality from the Anne and her family - and Scruffy the dog! Very well located so you can tour all the peninsulas and return to Kenmare for great food and entertainment in the evenings. Worth every penny. Thanks for a fantastic time. R&C

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stagman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was a needed break from Hotels. What a wonderful place, off the R569, quiet with near new rebuilt cottages. Anne and her family have spared no effort to make this comfortable for a week or more and with the tranquil setting on the dairy farm, and lots to see a short drive away on the Rings of Beara or Kerry.

There is really nothing negative, it's quiet and private with fireplace, and all you could want from a self catering farmstay.

One of the best self catering places for quietness and comfort. We would come back again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We were due to stay at Doire Farm for 7 nights - but loved it so much that we stayed for an extra couple of nights! Gorgeous cottages and a very warm welcome from Anne and the family. We stayed in two of the three cottages available and both were immaculate with homely and cosy furnishings - the wood fire also added to the romantic feel (even though it was very sunny throughout our stay!). My husband enjoyed the race for the fresh eggs every morning, and Anne surprised us on more than one occasion with her tasty home cooking - this was a very special treat! The surrounding area is beautiful, with plenty of places to visit, eg Gap of Dunloe, Derrynane, Ring of Kerry, Ring of Berea and Glen Inchaquin. We also had a stunning meal at Packie's in the beautiful town of Kenmare.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betibw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

What a treat to stay at such a lovely warm and welcoming retreat! Ann and her family did their utmost to make us feel comfortable and at home. After travelling for a number of days in Ireland, it was by far the most positive experience yet. The bed was comfortable, linens immaculate and room fresh and inviting. We found it to be a traquil and restful experience. We have travelled extensively and this B & B ranks among the highest in total relaxation and satisfaction. We will return...
Sandra and Andrew Koster
Canada

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Symba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Anne was very nice. She served a nice breakfast and was helpful in making suggestions for eating in town and helping us call future accomidations to confirm plans. We thought the rooms smelled like they had been smoking rooms and the beds were really hard (even compared to the other hard beds present across Ireland), and the walls in the rooms were pretty thin.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JStentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I had a very nice 2-night stay with Anne. She is a wonderful person and made us feel at home. Our room was comfortable and she served a great breakfast. The B&B is on a working dairy farm, so you really get a sense of rural Ireland. She was more than happy to answer all our questions. This property is very kid-friendly, with a play area out back. During our stay, we learned than Anne has cottages on site to rent as well. We toured two of them, and they are absolutely first rate. They are roomy and very well decorated, with everything needed for meal preparations and laundry. So if you are thinking aout an extended stay, you might want to check out Anne's cottages. For a shorter stay, the B&B is fine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.5 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doire Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doire Farm Cottages

Address: Upper Clontoo | Kilgarvan, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing