We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lauragh Lodge

Lauragh Lodge
Ranked #35 of 55 Restaurants in Kenmare
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A unique restaurant overlooking the mountains. There is no second seating, so you can take your time and enjoy the experience.
2 reviews
“Very special restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a lovely evening at this restaurant on Friday night. Stunning location, relaxed atmosphere and great locally-sourced food. Booking recommended as it was buzzing the night we were there - great value food and BYO wine too, highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“What a discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This restaurant set in the hills of the Beara peninsula was a real find. There was an immediate warm welcome, accompanied by a glass of bubbly, from our host Debra. There is a relaxed atmosphere well suited to the location nonetheless the service throughout was excellent. The comfortable area to sit while placing orders allowed you to contemplate the splendid views across the hills or watch the kitchen activity. The dining area was spacious and beautifully laid out with a great eye for detail. The meal of locally produced food was well cooked and quite delicious at a very reasonably price.
We fear that by the next time we are able to visit we will need to book much further in advance. Nevertheless we would strongly recommend this to anyone fortunate enough to be within striking distance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were warmly greeted at Lauragh Lodge by our host Debra with a glass of sparkly. There is a lovely informal sitting area to relax and chat before your meal. The amazing large picture windows make you feel that you are actually sitting in the mountain range rather than admiring the view out.
The tables are elegantly set with real linen napkins.
The food is freshly cooked local fresh produce. Simply the best, if you asked Tina Turner to sing it.
The best bit is there is no ouch in the price. It is really well priced.
The food, atmosphere, location is superb and unusual.
This is a dining experience and we will definitely be repeating.
Congratulations Debra

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magic view, beautiful food, and fantastic hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

A few weeks back our family enjoyed a fabulous time at this stunning place. Debra has thrown her heart into her lovely restaurant. The kids enjoyed a pre dinner colour in or chase of the sheep in the adjoining field depending on their predisposition before sitting down to a scrumptious meal of local produce served up in generous portions. The kids meals in particular were hearty and healthy. The Beara peninsula is a brilliant spot and this is a great place to find on your journey there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique, cosy, stunning location, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Found this restaurant on trip advisor while looking for somewhere to eat in kenmare. Its about 20mins from kenmare situated in the most beautiful mountain location. Debra the host is friendly & welcoming and cooks great food. We found the whole experience very relaxing and could have sat looking out at the view all night. We'll be back in the future

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lyra74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lauragh Lodge also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Lauragh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing