We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals we have had”
Review of The Global Village

The Global Village
Ranked #6 of 78 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Modern methods, touched by tradition, bring the purest local ingredients to life in a harmony of taste and tone. The kitchen is the centre of our creation, bringing together the classic and the modern to craft the tastes of today. Our restaurant is warm, relaxed and welcoming.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals we have had”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in Dingle for a weekend & booked a table for Saturday night. Luckily we had booked well in advance because this restaurant is so popular & rightly so. The food was really good. We had a starter of crab & then Hake followed by an amazing dessert of hazelnut cream profiteroles. Bottle of Picpoul & sparkling water, French coffee & Proper Earl Grey tea. Wish I was going again next week

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaDublin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    112
    37
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A taste experience for your taste buds”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The B&B we were staying at recommended that we try Global Village for supper. We had reservations and I was glad that we did as the restaurant filled up quickly. When we arrived there were only a couple of tables with people sitting at them. We were shown a menu quickly but we were the last ones served our food. It was strange really, couples who came in after us received their meals before us. We also didn't have the same waiter twice in a row which again was rather odd. The food was excellent though. Each bite contained wonderful flavors that melded beautifully in your mouth. We splurged for the 3 course special and when the plates finally arrived the portions seemed small but beautifully arranged and presented. This was the best meal we ate our whole trip to Ireland, I would recommend this restaurant to any of my friends. My husband and I both commented that we were comfortably full after the meal was finished. My only complaint was on the service that we received. I don't believe this was normal service. When a server finally came over they were attentive and professional. I am not sure what happened.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drifter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most beautifully presented & delicious tasting meal I have ever eaten”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wow! You need to book for this amazing food experience. Own grown vegetables & herbs, locally sourced food, a tempting choice for every course, perfectly cooked and stunningly presented dishes, a good wine list and attentive service.
Save room to have "the selection of pudding" and then choose your favourite one.....Dingle is the best place on earth & this is the gem of Dingle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of our favorite meals in Ireland”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We've been to Dingle several times and have always wanted to try GV but since we travel in the off season to avoid the crowds this restaurant is always closed. We were ecstatic when we saw that they were now open year round on the weekends. We arrived early and took advantage of their prix fixe menu for 29 Euro which offered three courses. The food was exquisite and beautifully prepared. We started with a trio of crab which included a crab and cognac bisque, a crab and apple salad and then crab pate. All excellent. Our make courses were Plaice fillets over an herb risotto with wilted spinach and crab toes aka claws. The other main was a trio of fish to include roast monkfish, brill and whole Dingle Bay prawns over creamed leeks. The menu mentioned polenta with this dish, but we couldn't find any on the plate. For dessert we had the dessert trio which was a little sampling of their best desserts. Not bad for 29 Euro. What's best about GV is that the menu lists the producers of all their ingredients so you know exactly where your food is coming from. Most of the suppliers are within a few kilometers of the restaurant. Their wine list is wonderful as well and very affordable. Truly one of our favorite restaurants during our two week trip to Ireland.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarbyTarantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Global village”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Dined at the global village last week with 6 others. We all went for the set menu. I had the goats cheese for starters which was tasty, although the cheese would have been a littler better if it had been softer I feel. I then had the cod which was melt in the mouth delicious! The potato Rosti and the garnishes complimented it perfectly and the portion was huge!

We shared a mocha dessert platter which was also delicious.

Would recommend this restaurant, especially if you love fish.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Global Village also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Global Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing