We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious seafood, creative menu, and great portions!”

Out of the Blue Seafood
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$59
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Seafood Only Restaurant, perfectly situated on the harbour in Dingle. Pretty fine, interesting, colourful, fun and fresh dining for a Shack !
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood, creative menu, and great portions!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Out of the Blue in May 2014. The atmosphere is fun and very relaxing / casual. The menu changes daily, contains locally caught Dingle Bay seafood (only), and is presented on a chalkboard table-side. The food is presented in a much more elegant manner than the casual atmosphere would suggest. Quality and portions are not spared. We each received 2 sizable filets of fish -- when in most US cities you'd receive half the portion size at the same price. We live in a coastal US town with great seafood, and the seafood at this restaurant blew us away. Cleaned our plates and loved it! They definitely don't rush you out of the restaurant, so you can stay as long as you like (we had to request our ticket, they were content to just let us stay as long as we like).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kutaa1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    252
    82
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A chance encounter with good sea food”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I were walking on the street in Dingle trying to decide where to eat when we saw in the corner this restaurant. We didn't know what to expect but decided to go in and check it out. We were so glad we did! The menu had items like Langoustines with sweet chili sauce, fresh oysters, grilled mackerel and pesto sauce and so many other delicious sea food options. The restaurant claims that they only serve fresh sea food and if they don't get fresh fish they don't open the place. Very well said! To make a long story short we decided to get a table. However, this restaurant is so busy that it was 6:30 pm and the next available table would be at 9:00 pm. And according to the waitress it is like that any day of the week. Since everything looked so good we got the reservation for the 9:00pm opening and came back for our dinner. We ordered the items I have mentioned above and all of them were cooked to perfection. We also had a fantastic white wine which paired very well with the fish, the oysters and the langoustines. Price wise it is not on the cheap side but you get what you pay for. Also, service was very good and all the staff were friendly and very attentive. I can easily say that it was one of the best meals we have had during our 2 weeks stay in Ireland. It is worth coming down to Dingle for a treat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milepost2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best fish and seafood restaurant in Dingle”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited this restaurant twice during our stay in Dingle and had wonderful food both times. The menu entirely consists of fish and seafood dishes and has a lot of variety. All our dishes were cooked to perfection and the portion sizes were just right so that you could comfortably eat three courses and not feel too full. The atmosphere is friendly and lively without being too noisy. Definitely worth at least one visit during your stay!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeborahF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood - a must if you are in Dingle”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I visited here recently on a weekend night. From the outside the restaurant didn't make much of an impression so we weren't sure what to expect. From there on everything was just spot on. The décor inside is lovely, the service was impeccable and the food was delicious.

I had a prawn starter and a monkfish main. Both mouth-wateringly good. The food was expensive enough for Dingle but well worth the money. My main regret was that I didn't order the same starter as my girlfriend because her tuna starter was the best dish of the night.

As all reviewers note the menu is only written on the day based on what fish is available.

The only blot was the dessert which was average at best - a minor blot given what had gone before.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best place for seafood!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Fresh and delicious seafood...
They change their menu every day, depending on what they fish that day.
Delicious.... the service is great and the waiters make great recommendations also....
If you are in Dingle, it's a must....

Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Out of the Blue Seafood also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Out of the Blue Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing