We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Ballinvounig House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballinvounig House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The views from this home are just beautiful...pastoral, lakes and mountains, all in one. Brid (pronounced Breed) is charming, funny and so accommodating. She offered to drive us into town or pick us up. It's a 3-4 min. drive to town, not an easy walk. But because it's out of town, very quiet. No B&B in Ireland seems to have air-conditioning so the quiet is really nice since the windows are open all night long. She also arranged a great driver for us who took us all around the peninsula and showed us amazing views. I recommend getting a driver (VERY reasonable, 20euros per person for 4 hours) for the area. Internet is painfully slow there but that's the only negative thing I can say....We all loved Brid!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two front rooms for gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LIberty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had only two nights here and wished our stay was longer. Our room was so comfortable and roomy with a beautiful view of the pasture through large windows. Breakfast was delicious and our hostess Brid friendly and gracious. The B&B is close to the town of Dingle and a nice respite from the lively pubs. If we ever return to Ireland we hope to stay with Brid a few days longer.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front for fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tuckerandtuscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed 1 night in Dingle at the Ballinvounig House. Our stay was comfortable and the very charming and gracious Brid made our stay memorable. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast excellent. Brid accommodated our vegetarian diet into a delicious breakfast and gave us tips on a scenic route to take to Galway. The place is less than a 5 min drive to town and we enjoyed having fantastic views from our room. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place to stay in Dingle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The B&B is just a quick drive from the town with spectacular views. Rooms are clean, spacious; breakfast is wonderful; and Brid, the host, is warm and gracious, and very responsive to e-mail inquiries. This is my son’s favorite B&B of our entire 2-week trip. If we ever come back to Dingle, this will be our choice again. Thank you, Brid!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

"Shea," (I am not sure of her name's spelling in the Irish), is an excellent host and the B&B differs from many in the Dingle area as it is just around the south headland from the noise of Dingle in a rural location. If that wasn't perfect in and of it's self, the building is of very recent and good construction. We were very pleased with the room at the top of the stairs on the left for our party of three.
The food was great and the conversation was just what I prefer.

We climbed to the harbor tower (EICH) for perspective and the climbed Mt Brandon for an incredible view.

Room Tip: Shea will choose for you, but there is no bad room. The views might be best from the front facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while on on honeymoon. This was by far our favorite B&B of the trip. Brid, the hostess, makes it a great place. She is hilarious! We had a great time talking with her during breakfast and in the evening, and she gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants and must-see scenery. Next time we come to Ireland, we will definitely stay here, and instead of two days we'll spend a week!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Booked here as we where taking part in the Dingle half marathon, and it is only couple minutes drive to town.
Nice quiet location with great view, room was excellent with en-suite, wifi, coffee and tea facilities.
We went to the pasta party for this event which was just cold pasta in a plastic container, we took this back to the B&B which, Brid very kindly warmed up for us, and made tea for us as well with some cake, Brid also allowed us to comeback and shower after the event, which I thought was very nice of her.
Can not fault anything from our stay if anything Brid went above the call of duty to make our stay comfortable.
Will be back for definate in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxxgman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
802 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
897 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinvounig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinvounig House

Address: Dingle, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ballinvounig Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing