We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A 5 star B&B !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A 5 star B&B !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just one night in Dingle is not enough - but touring the West Coast of Ireland keeps you on the move. It was tempting to stay in Dingle more than our planned one day/night, because of two main reasons :
1) We saw Fungi the dolphin ! A well spent 16 Euros for over an hour hunting, spotting & excitement.
2) Staying at the "First Cottage", Room 2 - what a fantastic view ! And what a fantastic family who own this B&B !! The place was in a superb position. It was clean & nicely decorated. Joe, Julie & their children went that extra mile to make this place special. Highly recommended & we'd love to go back again.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a great view. Has twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Dingles first is located a very short walk to town center right on the water front. Our accommodations were clean, spacious ,comfortable  with beautiful views to the bay. Joe & Juli and family are the ultimate of warm, friendly and gracious hosts, we felt more like friends visiting rather than traveling guests imposing. This is why we chose to stay after reading many similar reviews. Breakfast every morning was excellent, enough on my plate for two people and why We never needed lunch afterward. Next time We are in Dingle I want to just hang with J&J, relax and skip the sight seeing. Thanks for helping make our trip memorable!

Room Tip: Book ahead and ask for a room with the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinChris2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Julie and Joe were great hosts. We had a lovely room with a view of the marina. Julie knows a lot about the area and Ireland in general. She gave us some great tips that brought us to some of the most beautiful places we had ever seen. Dingle is a really neat town and the Dingle Peninsula simply cannot be missed during a trip to Ireland!! Book with Julie and Joe and you will be happy you did!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BellaB0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Julie and Joe are lovely and made this stay very special. Breakfast was very generous and we enjoyed our stay. Two small notes, the shower was bizarre as it seemed to oscillate between piping hot and ice cold and also the bedroom was basic but great value for money and would definitely recommend it for a stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RARMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay in DIngle. Julie and Joseph were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful with what to do and see in the area. They told us so much about the Dingle Peninsula. The rooms were great and the breakfasts were delicious. We were lucky enough to get the water views. We even added a night here onto our stay in Dingle. It was also close enough to walk through the town. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

After a very long wait and much planning, the McGills and Meltons arrived at last in Dingle on May 13 to stay with Juli and Joe for the first two nights of an 18-day road trip around the country. This lovely family made us feel at ease and at home, providing a wealth of information on the area to boot. We were very comfortable in our bright, clean rooms (cove view!). And words can't describe the incredible breakfasts put before us each morning. Wonderful! Anxious to return there already! In fact, we added a night we loved the town, the area, and this b&b so much. Slainte!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stumbled upon First Cottage by the Sea while reading other reviews of lodging in Dingle Ireland. After seeing the pictures and reviews from other travelers I booked two nights here on my trip last October. Firstly the location is unbeatable, it is about 5 minutes walk to the marina where all the fishing boats dock, and the view from our bedroom was as if we were on a boat. Watching the sun come up across the bay and seeing the boats come into harbor was truly a special experience. If you do select to stay here I strongly recommend a sea view room.

julie, Joe and their lovely children were such a treat to spend time with on our trip. Of course almost all b/b's in ireland have the warmth and welcome of a family home - but we truly felt something special at the FC. We checked in and were given our key to the side door and told to come and go as we pleased, breakfast orders are taken the night before and Id also suggest going for the full irish breakfast! The majority of our time in Dingle was spent touring by car, and the big breakfast was very important - as it kept us sated till an early dinner time which we enjoyed only a few hundred yards from the FC side door.

Julie and Joe provided us with maps, driving directions as well as recommendations for things to do and eat. We will definitely be returning to their lovely home and hope that you enjoy your stay.

"baby in a basket"

Enjoy Connors pass and Slea Head drive!!

Room Tip: request the water side room - the sunrise/sunset over the bay is idyllic. and wake to the gulls in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea

Property: Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea
Address: An Choill, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cead mile Failte to our family owned & operated Bed & Breakfast establishment here on the shore of Dingle Harbour. We have enjoyed catering to travellers from far & near for over 22 years & continue to offer all our valued guests.... Comfortable Rooms En Suite in a Traditional Homestead A Spectacular View of Dingle Harbour, (two of our guest rooms & the Dining Room have sea views) A Scenic, Private Car Park! We are situated a mere 2 minute stroll to Dingle Marina & the town Waterfront Renowned & exemplary Breakfasts Superb Personal Service, Local Knowledge & Advice ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dingle`s 1st Cottage By The Sea
Dingle`s First Cottage By The Sea Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing