We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea for one night at the beginning of September, but I wish we had stayed longer! From the moment we arrived, Julie was very helpful. She gave us maps, told us the best hiking trails to take, and even when we came back soaked from the rain, she layed our clothes and shoes out to dry. Julie's breakfast is one to be remembered. It was delicious and more food than I could even eat. We loved every minute of our stay. Joe even gave us a lift to the bus stop so we wouldn't miss out bus out of town. Joe and Julie are the definition of Irish Hospitality. Out of our two week stay in Ireland, our night here in Dingle is probably my favorite memory from the entire trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennaz1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Joe and Julie are the nicest couple, pure Irish, and extremely helpful. We only stayed one night but wished we had time to stay for at least 4 nights as there is so much to do in the area. Julie was really busy but had time to chat and help us with our plans for the next day. Our room had a view over the harbour which was wonderful. Walking distance to the town. Music played nearly every night in one of the local pubs. Dingle is a must see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here at Dingle's First Cottage on the Sea on the 23rd and 24th of September and we loved every part of our stay. Our room was cozy and comfortable with a lovely Sea view room, and Julie and Joe could not have been more helpful. We felt somewhat a part of their family with our 2 night stay.

Parking was safe, breakfasts amazing, and the best part was feeling like you were part of a family for a day or 2.

The walk into Dingle was mere moments at best. This is the best place to stay in Dingle of you are looking at a B & B. It's a true family run business and we loved it!

We had a very personable chat upon leaving with Julie as to where we should go and how we could execute our ongoing trip due to our inexperience. She assured Mr. Peter Travedia that he would be ok approaching the Conor Pass with confidence. She was right. We made it! And it one was of the best pieces of advice ever.

We experienced a lovely trip with her guidance. Joe and Mr. Travedia had a good conversation one morning. This is a real family and a lovely one at that. We were encouraged to visit a place with the namesake we were from.

Thank you Joe and Julie for the wonderful hospitality. We so appreciated all you did for us and it was much appreciated! Your family is lovely and we had such a nice time.

http://www.dingle-region.com/pass.htm

P & D from Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our second stay at this B&B in Dingle. The first was in 2008. We were so impressed 5 years ago, that it was no question where we would stay in Dingle this time around. We were not disappointed. Julie and Joe were as wonderful as we remembered them. Very helpful with travel advice and very gracious. The accommodations are lovely, clean and comfortable. Our only regret is that we only had time to stay for one night. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip to Ireland. Dingle is a beautiful place to visit on vacation, and the First Cottage makes it even more so. Thanks Julie & Joe for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The water view room is fantastic if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you are Dingle, stay here if you can. They only have 3 rooms---so I'm sure it'll be touch. It's just a block away from the city center area and their home overlooks the penninsula. The rooms are big, clean---and if you're lucky you'll get the one with the view! Joe and Julie area GREAT. They were friendly, chatty and hospitable. You can park your car behind their home, they helped me with my bags (which is odd at any b&b I found). Joe gave me a lift up the hill so I could walk down and enjoy the scenery. Their kids are well-behaved. BREAKFAST IS INCREDIBLE. Do yourself a favor---ask Julie not to make you so much food, lol! She gives you a lot of food, I felt bad not eating more than a 1/4 of it! I really have nothing bad to say about this place. It's a little bit more expensive than the ones I would have picked, but for a few extra euro--it was perfect. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMVSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at Julie and Joe's fantastic B&B. They were brilliant hosts who couldn't have done more to make us feel comfortable and at home. Their wealth of local knowledge and willingness to share it, was an added bonus to our stay. The room was homely and comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing. Our room looked out over the harbour and it was just a short stroll into the centre of Dingle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in what was one of the best B&Bs of our 2 weeks in Ireland. Thanks Julie and Joe.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Really cozy B&B with a lovely family feel. We visited for one night and we couldn't have felt more at home.We were delighted to have stumbled upon this and we would definitely visit again. Julie the owner said that she "likes to feed her guests before they go" and she really did, we had breakfast at 9 am and I didn't eat again till 6 pm!! Loved our stay and our hosts were a real breath of fresh air..see you again soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyOBrien08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea

Address: An Choill, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cead mile Failte to our family owned & operated Bed & Breakfast establishment here on the shore of Dingle Harbour. We have enjoyed catering to travellers from far & near for over 22 years & continue to offer all our valued guests.... Comfortable Rooms En Suite in a Traditional Homestead A Spectacular View of Dingle Harbour, (two of our guest rooms & the Dining Room have sea views) A Scenic, Private Car Park! We are situated a mere 2 minute stroll to Dingle Marina & the town Waterfront Renowned & exemplary Breakfasts Superb Personal Service, Local Knowledge & Advice ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dingle`s First Cottage By The Sea Hotel Dingle
Dingle`s 1st Cottage By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing