We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special B&B, very Special Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea
Bilbao, Pais Vasco, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very special B&B, very Special Family”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After meeting a couple on a bus in Dublin, it was suggested we travel to Dingle so we cut our time short in Galway which was our next destination after Dublin and headed to Dingle. When we arrived, we had no place to stay and we don't care to stay directly in the center of things so we walked down the main street just a bit and happened upon this precious B&B. Julie and Joe greeted us and luckily they had a room. The impeccably clean and ample B&B situated with a water view and parking, Julie's first rate Irish breakfasts, the plethora of stories and knowledge of both Julie and Joe, the family, the setting just overlooking the water couldn't have been more perfect! The area is absolutely fantastic and it really gave us the experience we had hoped for. The Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Peninsula,and just in general the entire area is spectacular. The town of Dingle is precious and I just can't get over how genuinely kind everyone was. Thanks Julie and Joe and family for a lovely visit. If ever again in Ireland, we will be staying with you and more time in your area.

Room Tip: The B&B is just a few minutes walk from the center of Dingle and they have parking. There are wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atremin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was so sad to leave this wonderful, magical place. We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it. The location is perfect for driving out to The Great Blasket Island center and seeing many stunning views along the way. Joe & Juli and their wonderful family are so caring, kind and helpful. The room we had, had a stunning view of the bay and it was pretty hard to break away from the window as it was so relaxing to watch the boats and the waves. Wondering what to do...just ask Joe or Juli, they have so much knowledge! And wow can Juli cook! We ordered the largest breakfasts we could every morning we were there and we never left hungry. She is very talented in the kitchen and don't forget to order the fresh fruit....it's a huge bowl of every fruit imaginable and so delicious! The full Irish breakfast is to die for! You can't go wrong with black and white pudding, eggs, sausages, toast and get the tea...oh the tea is wonderful! I just can't say enough...I would have moved in if I could have. I'm not sure I could possibly say enough about how much I love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, the views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HIDHOlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to find this place on Trip advisor. Julie, Joe & family have a great set up. Relaxed, easy going atmosphere, lovely rooms with fantastic views, spotlessly clean too and the breakfast is really wholesome and tasty. It's location is perfect, parking on site. You couldn't ask for better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It was such a welcoming respite to stay here after a couple of difficult days for our little family. Julie and Joe (and son!) were down-to-earth and friendly and went the extra mile by loaning us their car seat (and sharing toys!) and arranging travel for us to the airport. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. Attention to detail! Breakfast was hearty and delicious. All was great value for money. Ambience: a home away from home. Beautiful location and beautiful family. Stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea (for two occupants) have an amazing sea view! We chose the spacious, 3 person room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKC627813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The location of this B&B could not be better! The view from our room was breathtaking and it was only a short walk into the Dingle downtown. Our room was comfy and clean and had a great shower. Joe and Julie were a treat to talk with and from whom we learned lots about the nearby area and what not to miss! Highly recommend this place and definitely will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

These people, Joe and Julie and their three kids were just awesome wonderful people. We so enjoyed staying with them. If you are in Dingle, DON'T miss staying with them. You will feel like you are right at home. Plus the accommodations were fantastic with a beautiful view of the peninsula. The food was absolutely wonderful and as the other review said, Julie was a wealth of knowledge and helped so much in planning our day around the peninsula. It was raining hard the morning we left and we just hung around well past checkout visiting with them and enjoying every minute. Can't say enough good things about our stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had been on the road all day and needed a place to stay. We randomly chose this place and found a gem!!! Joe and Julie were so thoughtful and made us feel right at home. Julie was baking and was kind enough to share. We loved them so much we changed our plans and stayed 2 nights. They had a ton of information to share with us, and we were grateful. The rooms and location were perfect! We wish we could have stayed longer. STAY HERE! You will be glad you did.

Thanks Joe and Julie!

Sincerely,

Ben and his Laying hen:)

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea

Property: Dingle's First Cottage by the Sea
Address: An Choill, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cead mile Failte to our family owned & operated Bed & Breakfast establishment here on the shore of Dingle Harbour. We have enjoyed catering to travellers from far & near for over 22 years & continue to offer all our valued guests.... Comfortable Rooms En Suite in a Traditional Homestead A Spectacular View of Dingle Harbour, (two of our guest rooms & the Dining Room have sea views) A Scenic, Private Car Park! We are situated a mere 2 minute stroll to Dingle Marina & the town Waterfront Renowned & exemplary Breakfasts Superb Personal Service, Local Knowledge & Advice ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dingle`s First Cottage By The Sea Hotel Dingle
Dingle`s 1st Cottage By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing