We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best icecream I ever had, better than Italy!”
Review of Murphy's Ice Cream

Murphy's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Murphys Ice Cream is the flagship shop of this upscale Irish ice cream company. As well as an array of ice cream flavours, they serve delicious coffee and hot chocolate. Some of the flavours you might find are their world famous Dingle sea salt ice cream, Irish brown bread, Dingle Gin, and Irish rainwater sorbets, and many more.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best icecream I ever had, better than Italy!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

All I can say is that the ice cream is fantastic whatever flavour you choose, every time we were in Dingle we paid a visit, 100 times better than the name brands of ice cream in the shops!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcada, Owner at Murphy's Ice Cream, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks so much for that. Much appreciated! - Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,367
    312
    118
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

You won't be disappointed with Murphy's ice cream. Make sure you stop by when you are in town. My 10 year old was disappointed we only went twice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream, Good Coffee”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful, creamy ice cream with some unusual flavours (sea salt, Irish oats). Vies with Steve's Ice cream in Somerville, massachusetts (if Steve's still exists!) as the best ice cream in the world !

Coffee was quite good, very good for Ireland - when will someone teach the country how to texture milk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
689 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
“Good But $$$$$$$$!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good ice cream, but very very expensive. We shared a medium Bailey's Irish Cream and Coffee...5.80euro/$8!

Its good, but 6 months ago I was eating medium sized Gelato in Italy for only 3euro...but thats not a completely fair comparison I suppose.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit ”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Ice cream amazing- we had bn told to check out the sea salt dingle ice cream- world famous and can understand why - it's delicious. We also tried the oat ice cream- lovely staff & nice ice cream parlour

Helpful?
Thank Kathrine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's Ice Cream also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Murphy's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing