We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Last Cottage B & B
Ranked #64 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
SF Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy, great location”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We spent a night here last week. The 2 BR room was small and cozy. Sink in the room, bathroom down the short hall. A bargain, I thought, at 30 euros each, including breakfast. Best breakfast we had in our 10 days: fluffy scrambled eggs, tender bacon, coffee she "brought back from her trip to Peru".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtn-Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luland, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review - it is very much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and the Peruvian coffee. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland and that you will come again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We checked in with Lorna, who, with her mother Margaret, runs this small, quaint B & B. Margaret's grandparents owned the home originally and she "came back" to run the place 30 years ago. The rooms are small and modest, with great views of Dingle Bay. Good location close to pier. We unfortunately did not have time to talk with Margaret or Lorna more since we spent only one night. Rick Steve's Ireland guidebook accurately describes it "as a good budget bet with three old-fashioned rooms.....almost like a museum...modest, unpretentious and comfortably cluttered." Dudley the dog bid us good bye after looking longingly through the patio door to the breakfast room. Yes, the rooms are small, with bath down the hall, but I'd prefer this kind of unique experience to a cookie cutter hotel. All was pleasant and clean. We would return in a heartbeat. Special thanks to Sam and Cathy from Vermont who, as we parted, gave us a farewell wish that the "mists of the cliffs of Moher lift" upon our visit. And they did! Thanks for the magical wish!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luland, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you so much Becky and Mike for such a lovely and honest review. Both Lorna and I loved meeting you and were also sorry that we did not have more time to chat. So glad that the mists lifted over the Cliffs of Moher for you and that you enjoyed both your stay in Dingle and the rest of your Irish holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend two years ago, we stayed in the room with the queen sized bed. The rooms are by no means large, but are very adequetely sized, and have their own sinks so that you don't have to go to the restroom for brushing teeth, etc. There is one very clean bathroom shared with the other two rooms, but when we stayed there was only one other couple so it's pretty easy to arrange the shower situation.

Breakfast was yummy, we got the full cooked breakfast, and there is always tea available day or night.

Margaret was very accomodating and full of knowledge, and it felt like a much more authentic experience staying in someone's home, plus it was reasonably priced. I'm not sure if her 3-legged dog is still alive, but he was pretty funny as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkercrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luland, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review. Hasno the three legged Yorkie is very much alive and still meeting and entertaining our guests, as is Dudley the Springer Spaniel who has come to join the family. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A comfortable and traditional Irish B&B located on Dingle Harbor with great views of the water and hillsides. The three rooms share one bathroom, which was spotless. A short two- to three-minute stroll takes you into the heart of Dingle town.

Breakfast was a good selection of menu items to choose from. We'd order the Cold Breakfast, with plenty left over to make a sandwich for a picnic lunch.

Margaret is charming, intelligent and, above all, fun to be around.

This was our second visit, and it was like coming home. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornakerry, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Hello Carol and Jim, Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Last Cottage - and no better people to do so after your second long stay. It was a real pleasure to see you both again and have time to chat with you during your 6 night stay. Hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My sister and I visited this charming little bed and breakfast on the Dingle Peninsula. It is small but well-maintained, and the breakfast was just delicious. It definitely kept us going for our 30-mile bike ride around the beautiful peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornakerry, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. It is always nice to hear from guests and to know that my efforts to make them happy and comfortable have been successful. Thanks again. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Last Cottage B & B in Dingle. It is very close to town and to the boat dock. Margaret is a wonderful hostess and made the best breakfast! We also enjoyed her sweet dogs and especially Dudley. We felt like we were visiting a friend instead of staying in another hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornakerry, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Just wanted to say "Thanks a Million" for the super review and for taking time out of your busy schedule to write it. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Last Cottage. Dudley still misses you as he is so happy when guests enjoy his company too. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you love a good breakfast, this is the place. Close to the harbor, to the town of Dingle (Dingle's teeny so anything in the town is in close proximity), and Margaret's "a peach"! Really enjoyed the B&B experience even though it didn't feel like "discovering Ireland." Make sure if you stay at the Last Cottage you spend time talking to Margaret. She's an interesting woman who is open with sharing her life and stories!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyakw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornakerry, Owner at The Last Cottage B & B, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - it is certainly much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, breakfast and our chat.. It is always nice to hear from our guests after they have left us so thank you again. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 mi away
Coastline House
Coastline House
#12 of 75 in Dingle
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Marina Lodge
Dingle Marina Lodge
#23 of 75 in Dingle
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dingle Atlantic Lodge B&B
0.6 mi away
The Old Smokehouse Restaurant and Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Short Strand Dingle
Short Strand Dingle
#32 of 75 in Dingle
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Cottage B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Cottage B & B

Property: The Last Cottage B & B
Address: The Last Cottage 140 The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the water's edge within minutes walk of the town, marina, pubs and restaurants. Everything is within walking distance of the Last Cottage. A room with a magnificent sea view of Dingle Harbour at a very reasonable price for discerning tourists on a budget. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing