We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome and cared for”
Review of The Hideout Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcome and cared for”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hostel is close to town but very quiet. The staff are fabulous - especially Patrick. All the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The dorm rooms were a bit cramped but I had the fortune to be put in a double room by myself for a night due to bookings. That was heaven. The breakfast is simple and adequate. Free wifi. Good kitchen and comfy sitting room. Outside, there was a little patio. Best of all was the friendly staff. I would
D definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Single room is a bit expensive but for 2 it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
41
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've stayed there a little bit by chance because the other hostel was full. I don't regret it and I even came back for 3 more days. First, the hostel is ideally situated in Dingle, a lovely city with a lot of things to do, good restaurants and pubs. Then, the staff is really kind and helpful, they gave me good information about what to do in Dingle. The size of the hostel, is ideal more like a big family house and the dorm size is perfect. I met a lot of people there, very friendly and easy to chat with. The kitchen is very handy if you want to cook your own meal, the dorms are a little bit quaint but clean and mine was quiet and I could sleep well there.So I warmly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have visited Dingle several times before, and knew that it would be on our itinerary for our cycling and hiking group of 11 people. The staff was very helpful and they allowed us a safe place to store our bikes. The kitchen is nice, and we prepared a sit-down dinner for our whole group which was fun! The location is great, just a little bit off the main street so that noise isn't a problem. Rooms were large and clean, and we appreciated being able to wash out some of our clothes and hang them on the line in the back of the hostel. There is so much to recommend about Dingle itself, and this place is a great choice of accomodation. Don't miss the Slea Head drive, go in the evening and watch the sun set (if you are lucky with the weather) out on the tip of the peninsula. If you are lucky, you'll see dolphins leaping about (not just poor overworked Funghi!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allegan, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When you first walk in you are met with very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is great, the rooms are very clean and you can't go wrong with the kitchen which is clean and well stocked with whatever cooking utensils you need. We were going to only stay four nights but the but extended it one more night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Hideout in May 2014, and we had a great stay! Indeed, the hostel is one of my favorites from a sixteen day trip to Ireland. I brought college students over for the first ten days, and we stayed at other hostels, but The Hideout is more like a B and B than a hostel. We didn't cook meals there though we could see that the kitchen was well-equipt for those wishing to cook their own food. It is centrally located in Dingle, my favorite small town in Ireland. There is great trad music here all within several walkable blocks. The drive around Slea Head is stunningly beautiful.

The hostel's room had a big queen size bed and it is was clean and homey. The entire property was all we could have hoped for, especially for the money. People should consider the majority of opinions about this place, not the few cranks that may post.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolcefarniente0162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spending my last 4 Days in Dingle before heading back home, i never regret my stay there. Not only was the Staff very nice the Rooms were clean and i met some of my best Friends from all around the Globe there. We had a great time even if it was just sitting outside the hostel and have a nice talk. The next time i'll go back to Ireland and Dingle i will stay there again for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I really cannot say enough about the warmth and hospitality of the Hideout Hostel in Dingle, Ireland. I discovered Dingle and the Hideout back 2011 and have been returning to the Hideout ever since. I personally have stayed at this hostel 4 times in my last 3 visits to Dingle. I actually returned to Dingle, and the Hideout, a second time this trip. Having been on the road for almost ten weeks and feeling travel weary, I wanted to spend my final week in Ireland in town, and a hostel, that felt like home. When stepping though the doors of the Hideout that is exactly how you will feel. From the warm welcome, to the bright sitting room, the pleasant dining area and the cozy kitchen, the Hideout takes you in and makes you feel at home. The owner Micheal and the rest of the staff are top notch, the location stellar, and the atmosphere laid back and breezy. I have enjoyed the hospitality of several hostels throughout my many journeys across Ireland and they all have a personality that are their own, but nowhere have I found a place quite like the Hideout. If you are ever lucky enough to experience the amazing town of Dingle, do it from the comfort of The Hideout Hostel as it is certainly unique unto itself and as a seasoned hostler and traveler, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#7 of 23 in Dingle
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel

Property: The Hideout Hostel
Address: Dykegate Street, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Hideout Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing