We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, terrible food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Diner

The Diner
Ranked #32 of 79 Restaurants in Dingle
Cuisines: Fast food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: New restaurant in Dingle Ireland, just opened about 8 weeks ago. Great food, pleasant staff, right on Holyground across from Garvey's Super.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, terrible food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Me and my partner ate there for lunch. The service was very good, the staff were lovely and friendly.
But the food was terrible. We both ordered pizzas, and the dough was overly chewy, and floury, too much cheese, and plastic tasting toppings.
Neither of us could finish our plates.
Such a pity, because the menu looked and sounded amazing, but wish I hadn't spent my money there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadé C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    65
    39
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We found the staff rude and unhelpful,breakfast was just about edible,because it was Sunday morning and we figured there wouldn't be many cafes open for breakfast we made do with this 'cafe'
cheap burger joint style plastic seating,overpriced,oh and did I mention the staff/owners were rude? they 'demand' upfront payment while you stand and place your order at the counter!!
don't even think about asking for anything extra,they will whisper to decide how much extra to charge you!!
take my advice and dine elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irelandbroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Visited the Diner in Dingle yesterday. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children. Meals included gougons and chips, burgers and chips and lasagne and chips, drinks and a lovely local beer. The food was absolutely lovely and plenty of it, not your typical greasy burgers and chips. The staff were lovely and very helpful about local attractions.
The meal for all 5 of us came to less than 50 euros and filled us up for the day.

Very relaxing restaurant not far from the seafront, we will def be returning here on our next visit to Dingle. Would absolutely recommend The Diner for families.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
365 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were looking for a quick place to get a bite to eat. The Diner was our spot. Great Fish and Chips. Trendy little place...was surprised they didn't have wifi. Seems like Ireland doesn't like the World Wide Web. Al Gore would not have any fun in Ireland. Dingle is a great little town and places like The Diner give people a chance to eat somewhere other than a Pub. So Cheers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely takeaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Got a take away and I was very pleased. Beautiful fish and chips and mushy peas. My husband got the soho burger and said you could taste that everything was so fresh. We will be back !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrshan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Diner also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing