We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of Chowder Cafe

Chowder Cafe
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant serving breakfast using locally made bacon, puddings and sausages along with local free range eggs. We also have pancakes with fresh fruit and maple flavour syrup. served 10-12, Our lunch menu 12-4 is about Dingle fresh fish and Irish meat. Our Chowder is recommended We do have a great Club sandwich menu including veggie ones. Please note that we are a small kitchen which means we cannot cater for gluten/nut allergies, also vegans should be aware of our limitations. Regarding credit/debit cards we don't accept them as the bank charges we are offered are too high.We would rather keep our prices as reasonable as possible.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Well who knew Dingle was such a great place to eat? The restaurants and cafés are amazing.
This little gem Chowders stands out. My partner made the brave call that "this is the best meal all holiday" could be so. He had a Goat Cheese bruschetta.

Helpful?
1 Thank MCLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    108
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food good”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

fresh good, but retrospect I like the quaint feeling a little bit better than this--reminded me of cafes at home so this is just personal--but lunch was great

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domazlice, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Mmmmm yummy yummy giant veggie burger! A bit for everyone - fish, chowder, burgers, coffee, sandwich, soup, etc. Nice place with pleasant athmosphere, nice staff and great value for your money. Compliments to the chefs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pavleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fine find”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We popped into the Chowder Café for coffee when we were in Dingle and decided to some back the next day for lunch – we are glad we did. The Café is an unassuming little place that has very good food. Both of us had the special that day which was fried mackerel – fresh and well done, not greasy at all. They source their product from local suppliers which they list on their menu. Open for breakfast and lunch – worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Eat Lunch Here in Dingle! Delicious! Great prices, friendly staff!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stopped in for lunch in the lovely town of Dingle, it was a small place, pretty busy. I had a BLT with brie that was delicious! Great bread, brie and bacon. Also had the banofee pie, glad I did, definitely worth the calories! Wish I had room for more dessert as they are all hand made. Fresh food served with love! Great location too, don't miss.

Not open for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDomaracki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chowder Cafe also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Chowder Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing