We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Situation”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of An Bothan

An Bothán
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
An Bothán
Muiríoch beach Blasket Island Beauty
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
An Bothán
Muiríoch beach
Blasket Island Beauty
Comfort Zone
Cook's Domain
Sweet Dreams
Snooze Time
Summer Frolics
Rugged magnificance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Angela D
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal Situation”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week here ... Perfect weather and glorious sunsets. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable and contributed to our enjoyment. We enjoyed having breakfast outside the kitchen door. Well situated for exploring the outstanding coastline with the sun setting around 10.00 pm at this time of year. The mezzanine was a lovely surprise and there are lovely views through the gable windows. The utility area was well planned and very functional.... Ideal for coats and shoes. Lovely wood burner which would make the open space very cosy at colder times of the year. Elaine, the owner, was helpful and gave us good advice. Be sure she tells you the short route to Dingle where there is an excellent Super Valu supermarket catering for all tastes.
We would come back to both the cottage and this very special area.
We ate some good meals at Gorman's Cliff Top House in Ballydavid and at the Louis Mulcahy Pottery in Ballyferriter.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The property was well equipped, clean, bright and airy. The enauite shower room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bothan”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a Fabulous stay in the cottage. So much space for just the two of us. Elaine was really welcoming and her advice was perfect " if there is sun in the morning make your way to the mini harbour to take the boat to the island" the next sunny morning we headed off, brilliant day and the only sunny one! Great advice. Thank you Elaine your cottage made our first trip to Ireland all the more memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FFGF J
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We all really enjoyed our stay in An Bothan. Ideal location in the heart of west Kerry. Elaine was a real pleasure to deal with and could not have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A perfect Irish country retreat”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was perfect, very clean and comfortable on Dingle Peninsula.
The kitchen was very adequate for meal preparation and the fireplace warmed us nicely after long rainy hikes.
Elaine went out of her way to make sure our needs were met!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and the privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachMac06...
New Tazewell, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical, Relaxing, Step back in time”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had been thinking of making a trip to Ireland, we are from the U.S. (Tennessee). We planned our trip relatively last minute, but we were able to reserve the cottage fairly easy. I loved everything about this house from its old charm, to the hardwood floors, to the scenic beauty of the surrounding farms with grazing sheep and cattle to the view of the Three Sisters (cliffs and the ocean) in the distance. To me the location is perfect, I got to wake in the country every morning, but Dingle Town is only 10 minutes away offering numerous Pubs/restaurants/shops and traditional music for entertainment in the evenings. The perfect mix of relaxation and quiet with fun and entertainment. We spent 8 nights here and found ourselves entertained everyday and night, even in October. We hiked Mt. Brandon, toured the Crean's Brewery, explored Dingle Town's shops and St. Mary's Church, made a day Trip to Kilarney National Park (drove the Gap of Dunloe), explored Minard Castle and coast, drove the Slea Head Drive (breathtaking), and explored the Connor Pass on to Brandon Point. My husband is a fan of Traditional Irish music, so spending time listening in the pubs each night was definitely a highlight and we met many wonderful people who gave us exploring tips. We made so many memories.

I cannot forget to mention Elaine (who we rented from), who was so helpful in providing suggestions of activities to explore and music to see. She ensured we had everything we needed. We were truly greeted with true Irish hospitality and a bottle of wine!

If you are worried about having WiFi . . . don't . . . there is free WiFi in almost every pub, just ask for the password if you do not connect automatically. This is how I communicated with family, without receiving overseas charges.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The character of the Cottage. It had an old time feel.
Liked least: I had to get used to the oil heating, but it was not really a big deal.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolcoco
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful, clean, tastefully decorated and restored house in a beautiful area. The owner is both friendly and helpful (without begin intrusive in any way). The house has a wonderful relaxing atmosphere - a real 'get away from it all" space. A cosy stove if needed.

The location is a short drive to Dingle but is a short walk to a beach and some pubs/restaurants.

We can't recommend enough

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W
Germering, Germany
2 reviews
“Far away from every day life in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in the An Bothan Cottage in early September 2013. The weather was beautiful most of the time and we enjoyerd very much to stay in the cottage. The cottage is clean, spacious and well furnished. In the evenings we loved to sit near the fire reading or playing cards. Elaine provided us with a lot of useful information, indeed there are many things around to be explored. Our children loved to touch the stingrays in the Ocean World Aquarium, to see the baby seals being fed in the Seal Sanctuary and to watch the dolphin "Funghi" near the port of Dingle. It is worth to climb on Saint Brendan mountain from where you have a beautiful view over the peninsula. Our favourite place for tea and scones was a small café near Slea Head - with a terrific panorama over the coast. There are wonderful beaches nearby, the temperature of the sea was around 15 degrees - so don't forget your wet suit! We had a great time in An Bothan, far away from every day life and felt very relaxed when we returned home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charming cottage
Liked least: everything was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing