We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful holiday at The Skellig”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is our 4th trip to the Dingle Skellig and it just gets better each time, Our children (13 & 10) say its their favourite hotel in the world. They are a bit old now for the kids club but enjoy hanging out in"The Klub" which is a room with pool table and numerous game consoles. Its geared towards young teens . The movie room is a great hit also and is bang up to date. For the Mammies and Daddies there are lots of cosy places to read the paper or a good book. For the 1st time I tried the spa and the outdoor tub. It was amazing . Myself and my sister-in-law braved one of the new year storms in the tub. Wow, what an experience. The glass surround sheltered us from the gale force winds and we were completely snug in the very warm tub. We couldnt help thinking about poor Fungi the dolphin as we looked across the stormy bay. After a spin in the sauna and steamroom we joined our husbands for dinner in the restaurant. Yum yum and also the following night in the bar, the food was just as good. A quick "Hi" to Lorraine in the bar for your wonderful attention and overall friendliness. Indeed all the staff are the same at this hotel. On our last morning I complimented Susan on the beautiful breakfast spread ( the best I have ever seen in any hotel) and asked about a particular small scone that my sister-in-law loved . (She has an extremely sweet tooth!!!) Susan went and asked the sous chef to make up a batch and handed them to us (still warm) as we left. Need I say any more.....
This visit we upgraded to an executive suite and had extra beds for our two children . It was a truly beautiful room and immaculately clean and tidy.
Thank you again for giving us a wonderful family memory.

Room Tip: Executive suite 315 is devine
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dexysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamFitz1, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Dexysgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review regarding your recent stay and for your continued loyalty to the Dingle Skellig Hotel. We are delighted to hear such positive comments regarding our staff and our food.

We are glad you got to visit our Penisula Spa during this visit and got to enjoy the hot tub during our wild windy weather!

Our younger guests are very important to us so it is great to hear your children enjoyed our 'Klub Room' and our movie room.

Once again, thank you for your encouraging review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Dingle Skellig Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Fitzgerald,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
There are newer reviews for Dingle Skellig Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Probably the best hotel destination we have stayed in ireland,fantastic food,super staff.great for kids,the most authentic place to stay in Kerry the breakfast choice is really amazing ,especially the seafood, the restaurant has fantastic views,the girls working with the kids in the kiddys club are fantastic,cant wait for our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms are similar,comfortable and clean,hotel has a compact design.however roof wifi is not as good...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamFitz1, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Enda S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the complimentary comments regarding our breakfast choice. Our team here at the Dingle Skellig Hotel continually strive to exceed guests expectations. We will also pass on your kind comments to our Kids Club staff.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Dingle Skellig Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

From the moment we walked into reception to our departure we found this hotel faultless.
The staff everywhere from reception to the restaurant, the bar, the leisure centre, the spa and the housekeeping were top notch.
The views from our comfortable and elegant bedroom were amazing
Breakfasts and dinners were delicious.
This is one hotel we will definitely retun to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Dingle Bay
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathandGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamFitz1, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear KathandGP,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Dingle Skellig Hotel and for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your great comments about our facilities and our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife & I stayed here in Dec. 2013 for 2 nights. We booked the hotel on an offer deal arranged through the Select Hotels Group. As the weekend break was through a "deal", our expectations were not very high. However, we were greatly surprised.

In particular, our dining experiences were fantastic. Between the bar food shortly after arrival on Friday night, breakfasts Sat & Sun morning and evening meal in the restaurant on Saturday night, the whole dining experience was well above what one might expect for the price paid. The range of dishes offered on the menus was great, the quality of food was superb, all waiting staff provided very attentive service and the value on offer in the bar & restaurant was very good. Of particular note was the breakfast (in the dining room) - in addition to the large hot & cold buffet options, there was also an extensive specials menu offering, among other things, a range of local fresh fish dishes.

The hotel had just been decorated for Christmas. Piped festive music & the complimentary mulled wine on arrival also added to the whole festive mood. Overall, this was a hugely enjoyable experience and we would thoroughly recommend it. We'll be going back, need I say more. (GG)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Went for the Junior Suite for a 1 night stay for me and my other half. On arrival I was informed we got upgraded to the Executive suite and the room was amazing. The room was so big with Tv, large sitting room with a couch and arm chair, large spacious bathroom and large bed that could fit 6!

The location is just at the edge of Dingle with a 10 minute walk into the centre of the town and really nice views of the bay area from the room and the hotel restaurant.

The hotel restaurant was amazing. I had the Dingle sea food chowder and sirloin steak while my partner had the salad and supreme chicken. Neither of us was dissatisfied as the food was amazing with very friendly staff.

The breakfast as well was another treat. A huge selection from the continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fruit, pastries with a hot buffet for all the regulars for an Irish breakfast as well as ordering from French toast, pancakes or waffles. I would recommend the French toast!!

All the staff were so friendly and welcoming... I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and I would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynx1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were greeted by Caren, a most lovely, friendly, and helpful woman! She spent time with us introducing us to the beautiful Dingle Peninsula. The location was ideal. We could walk to town with shops and restaurants. The drive is delightful and the views spectacular. We spent 2 nights here and wish we had a couple more. Will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were very lucky to get a mid week super rate for one night. Our room was very big with a view out on the bay, couldn't fault it. But let's talk about breakfast. Yes it alone was worth staying for. I do hate massive breakfasts but here there is such a huge selection one tends to indulge. The breakfast room has a wonderful view out on to a garden which continues on into the bay. I could have stayed there all day drinking cups of tea. Staff were very helpful and polite. My husband availed of the pool which was a plus for him. I stayed in bed....which was a plus for me! Cannot fault our stay. Weekends are more expensive so watch out!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebbles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 74 in Dingle
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Skellig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Skellig Hotel

Address: Annascaul Road | Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range: £120 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dingle Skellig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dingle Skellig Hotel is situated on the magnificent Dingle Peninsula and boasts stunning views of Dingle Bay. The Peninsula Spa offers a wide range of luxurious treatments using Yon Ka products. Dingle Skellig Hotel is renowned for it's outstanding service, great food and superior hospitality. Facilities include Skellig Creche, Fungi Kids Club, Leisure Club including Pool, Kids Pool and Gymnasium.Dingle town center is a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dingle Skellig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skellig Hotel
Skellig Dingle
Dingle Hotel Skellig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing