We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here with a group for a weekend. Its a lovely hotel with lots of public space (big lobby, bar etc). The lobby has recently been renovated and is very nice. There is also a lovely library room with big fire.

The room was a little small and was probably not as nice as the rest of the hotel. It had a double bed and a single bed but there was not a lot of other space in the room. It had an old style 4:3 tv with no HDMI input so I just watched some videos on my laptop.

The meal in the restaurant was very nice - we had a nice space for our group. The breakfast the next morning was very good. The breakfast was buffet style but I didn't know until afterwards that you could order items (crepes/pancakes etc) from a menu as well.

We used the outdoor hot tube in the SPA and that was good fun. It was separate from the main leisure centre so it was a bit quieter.

There were lots of families there while we were there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful through the stay - more than most hotels I've stayed in.

Location is good as well - there are lovely views from the dining room. It's probably about a 10 min walk down into Dingle itself.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    386
    145
    63
    36
See reviews for
534
610
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York at the mo by Irish
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I setup an account just so i can say the following!

We got married here on Saturday and what a fantastic time we had. Sheila, Rosarie and Graham couldn't have been more helpful from the minute i contacted them about having our reception there. And as i live in Toronto they were a huge help to me as i had no idea how to tackle everything from here so they provided lots of tips and often reached out to me as i am not the most organized person :)

The views are second to none! We had over a 100 people in from out of town and i couldnt wait for them to see the spectacular views of the Kerry coast and luckily enough on march 15th there was blue blue skies and everyone got to enjoy it to the fullest!

The cocktail reception was fantastic - as i was in picture mode i only got to try the black pudding and pear but this was yum!

I cheekily asked to delay our meal by almost an hour so our guests could watch the ireland rugby 6 nations game (which Ireland won) and the hotel obliged and on cue rang the bell as soon as they saw an opportunity after the game ended and the celebrations subsided! Im so glad we waited until the end of the game as this only added to the overall mood of the night!

The wedding reception meal was outstanding and with filet steak as an option i was thrilled to hear afterwards that everyones steak was cooked to perfection and at their preferred temp. With nearly 200 people having dinner this was an amazing achievement.

We had the trio appetizer of fish cake, chicken caesar and a tartlet - just delicious, esp the fishcake!
Then potato leek soup - served piping hot and delicious.
Our mains were trio of fish, filet steak or chicken stuffed with black pudding. I had the chicken - sooooo tasty and very good portion but not too much as this was a 4course meal, my husband had the steak - cooked to perfection and came with its own chorizo mash and my maid of honour had the fish and she loved it and was pleasantly surprised at the portion size!
Dessert was a trio - fruit crumble - I'm not a cinnamon fan so this wasnt for me but i know this is a guest favourite so had it as an option, chocolate soufflé - loved this and ice cream.

Overall i cant recommend the Skellig enough. These are professionals and you are in safe safe hands and they are always on hand to give you their advice when you are unsure and they were right eachtime. I wouldn't change a thing of our time there.

Thank you for making our wedding reception the most memorable night of our lives. When I'm home to kerry again I will sure to be back for some fishcakes :)

Diane and Adrian Guinan


I will post some of our photographer pics of the views once i get them.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irishlady82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife, daughter and I stayed in the Skelling Hotel in Dingle last week for 2 nights in our week long visit to Ireland. First of all, we drove from Galway to Dingle. Don't believe what you read about driving and roads in Ireland. The main roads are very manageable and driving on the left is something you get quite used to. I do recommend a GPS.
Dingle is a beautiful town. Very relaxing, clean and comfortable. It was my daughter's favorite spot in Ireland. If your trip includes Slea Head (and it should) you should spend at least 2 nights in Dingle to relax properly and enjoy your visit. Skellig Hotel is a very nice resort style hotel. Rooms and fixtures are clean and comfortable. This is a real hotel, not a bed and breakfast. There is a bar and fine restaurant at the hotel. Food was great. Staff was pleasant and helpful. It is easy to recommend Skellig Hotel. You will be comfortable here. The hotel is on the east end of town and just a short few blocks into the main restaurant and shopping area right on the marina. Don't even think this place if Fisherman's Wharf in SF. Dingle is beautiful and we enjoyed it a great deal and were glad we stayed at Skellig Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 338 and especially enjoyed the larger room and the view of Dingle Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pxisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We recently spend three nights in the Dingle Skellig Hotel. The room rates for the hotel itself were very expensive, however we found a significant discount booking through an on-line aggregator. The pluses for the hotel are a great location, magnificent view, quality breakfast (included) and friendly staff (mostly). The minuses for the hotel were largely around cost (glass of house wine €7.50, toaster sandwich €14). There pool area was nice, however the water in the children's pool was cooler than the adult pool and the temperatures of the bedrooms ranges from very very hot to cold through the night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irishfam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamFitz1, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Dingle Skellig Hotel. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed our Breakfast Buffets, our friendly staff and our Swimming Pool area. However, I was puzzled to read about your prices relating to your experience in the Bar. Our Selection of Recommended Wines start at €5.80 per glass and we do not carry a glass costing €7.50. Our Toasted Sandwiches are priced at €6. Each of our bedrooms temperature is individually controlled by the guest, allowing each individual guest to have full control over the temperature in their bedroom as peoples preferences for heat vary greatly from guest to guest. I would be delighted to speak with you personally on any of the issues that you raised at any time that is convenient.
Kind regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent the last 2 nights in this lovely hotel. Staff were very friendly and service was great. We were well accommodated on Saturday so we could watch Ireland win the 6 nations and the dinner service and food was very good. Would come back again as such a beautiful location that makes you proud to be Irish x

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anomerniven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fab hotel to stay in. You can curl up with a book in a corner anywhere and nobody would bother you. Beautiful food and great staff. Nothing was a problem. Night porter was a gent. Margaret the housekeeper was full of chat as she worked. Fires lit in all areas. Breakfast fantastic.Some of the Hotel had been renovated previous to our arrival and with the end of the bad weather that weekend of storms all repairs were being tended to in a quiet fashion. Lovely leisure facilities and spa area and staff very good. Would highly recommend to couples or families as the children seemed to be entertained all the time(Kids club). This hotel was very relaxing and definitely a calm after the storm.

Room Tip: Maybe upstairs with a beautiful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamFitz1, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Enda,

Thank you for taking the time to post your complimentary review regarding your recent stay at the Dingle Skellig Hotel. We are delighted to hear such positive feed back. Thank you for your kind comments regarding Margaret, She is a great asset to our team here at the hotel. We will pass on your comments to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Dingle Skellig Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I think this is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, the feeling of calm and relaxation was second to none. The hotel is well equipped with leisure club & pool, but the spa and adult-only relaxtion area was a particular highlight, the outdoor tub was just fabulous & very relaxing, with views overlooking dingle bay - superb.
Our room was beautiful, cosy & well equipped. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was brilliant, very large variety and the staff were excellent here. We ate in the hotel bar one evening, and the seafood chowder was gorgeous, as was the delicious fish & chips. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and am already planning another trip down to Dingle.
If there was a tiny issue, it would be that the hotel isnt in the middle of town, about a 5 mins walk there, however this wasnt an issue for us!
You wont be disappointed if you book this hotel, i promise!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europeangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Skellig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Skellig Hotel

Property: Dingle Skellig Hotel
Address: Annascaul Road | Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dingle Skellig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dingle Skellig Hotel is situated on the magnificent Dingle Peninsula and boasts stunning views of Dingle Bay. The Peninsula Spa offers a wide range of luxurious treatments using Yon Ka products. Dingle Skellig Hotel is renowned for it's outstanding service, great food and superior hospitality. Facilities include Skellig Creche, Fungi Kids Club, Leisure Club including Pool, Kids Pool and Gymnasium.Dingle town center is a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dingle Skellig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skellig Hotel
Skellig Dingle
Dingle Hotel Skellig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing