We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel retreat”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Stayed one night for husband's birthday and was quite impressed with this hotel as I started out with low-ish expectations.

We selected it knowing the weather could be iffy at this time of year and it blew a gale while we were there. Hotel was perfect choice - amazing spa facilities with heated outdoor jaccuzi really made the trip.

Dined in the restaurant and food was ok, although would recommend checking out the village options. Considering it is a fishing village, you'd expect a lot more fresh fish options on the menu.

Gym facilities were ok but a bit old and worn. Pool looked a good option for families although didn't try this ourselves.

Stayed in superior room which was really spacious, robes/slippers were provided and we had a good night's sleep in comfy bed and quiet room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Teddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    390
    145
    63
    36
See reviews for
534
615
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We're just back after a 3 night mid-week break at the Dingle Skellig Hotel. The Hotel was ideally located in a beautiful scenic area within a 2 min walk to the centre of the town. Our room was clean and spacious but overall I felt that the Hotel decor was very dated and shabby for a 4 star Hotel. I had a really nice treatment in the spa the therapist was excellent but again I felt the surrounding and ambience was not that of a 4 star hotel. The breakfast was adequate but did not have a wide varity of choice. We had 1 evening meal which was included in our package this meal however left alot to be desired. While the staff were very pleasant the pork and fish were not. Overall we did receive value for money as we used our Super Valu getaway break points, However if we had paid the regular room rate we would have been dissapointed. We did not have children with us but the hotel seemed to be really child friendly which would be great for family breaks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corcaigheire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Rooms clean and adequately furnished. Essentially a family hotel rather than a luxury spa, but offers reasonable value for money. Pool, spa and leisure facilities were not used however they appeared to be well maintained with adequate staff. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. Don't be confused by the name - this hotel is best located for trips to the Blasket Islands, if you want visit the Skellig Islands this first involves a road trip of more than two hours.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just returned from a short break at the Dingle Skellig. I would agree that certain areas of the hotel such as the external facade, the reception and the bar might look a little dated, however, the overall atmosphere within the hotel is one of pure relaxtion. We stayed with our 3 year old daughter and despite the inclement weather we never felt that we actually had to leave the hotel. The staff are excellent and catered for our every need. I really felt that they made every genuine attempt to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A perfect hotel for a family break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The Hotel is located right as you come into Dingle and offers a wide range of ammenities including fitness center and spa. But the service was just okay for the price. The hotel hosted a wedding while we were there and while the wedding was kept away from the rest of the guests, late night the wedding revelers decided to smoke, drink and chat to the wee hours of the morning- right out side my room. The hotel could use updating- it has a old used look.

For the money we paid, I would not recommend the hotel, but for a lower cost, some travelers would like the full service features.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmith1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Booked room with adjoining kitchenette. Ideal room & space when staying with a 16 month old. Hotel is within walking distance of a buzzing town. Childrens meal options are excellent.

Breakfast has a huge choice from hot & cold buffet. Superb staff in all areas of hotel. The leisure centre is very good also.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Spent a night here as part of an all Ireland roadtrip - one of the most beautiful places in Ireland I've had the pleasure to visit. The hotel is in a fantastic location with views of the sea from from our room (we were in an executive suite) and within 5 minute's walk of the village centre. Great place to base yourself whilst exploring this part of the world, we will be back the next time we need to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavydavygravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
977 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Skellig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Skellig Hotel

Property: Dingle Skellig Hotel
Address: Annascaul Road | Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dingle Skellig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dingle Skellig Hotel is situated on the magnificent Dingle Peninsula and boasts stunning views of Dingle Bay. The Peninsula Spa offers a wide range of luxurious treatments using Yon Ka products. Dingle Skellig Hotel is renowned for it's outstanding service, great food and superior hospitality. Facilities include Skellig Creche, Fungi Kids Club, Leisure Club including Pool, Kids Pool and Gymnasium.Dingle town center is a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dingle Skellig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skellig Hotel
Skellig Dingle
Dingle Hotel Skellig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing