We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heaton family makes this stay well worth while!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heaton's Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“The Heaton family makes this stay well worth while!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stay at Heaton's Guesthouse whenever we are in Ireland, which turns out to be almost on an annual basis. Having tried other guesthouses and hotels, we have found that Heaton's is by far not only the best value, but the most hospitable guesthouse available! Their outstanding selection of breakfast foods (including Nuala Heaton's homemade scones, breadpudding, and brown breads!!) will make any traveler happy! Another outstanding feature of Heaton's is their immaculate housekeeping - one would be hard pressed to find another guesthouse as tidy as Heaton's! Many of the rooms offer excellent views of the Dingle harbor, making you feel as though the water is right at your door step. Being a constant traveler to the Dingle penisula, we always look forward to the warm reception offered by the Heaton family and an outstanding dinner prepared by Chef David Heaton. The perfect combination for an excellent holiday in Ireland!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebeetschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    82
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
163
577
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caseville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We loved everything about our stay here--lovely & comfortable accommodations & beautiful view of Dingle Bay from our room. Nuala & Cameron are superb hosts.
They have a terrific Chef. Our breakfast was A++++
Don't miss a visit to Dingle and to Heatons Guesthouse while in Ireland!

Room Tip: we had 2nd floor front of the house view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Beautiful setting by the water, convenient to the town of Dingle and Slea Head Drive. Easy to find, very friendly staff, great food for breakfast (we didn't get to try out dinner). Nice spacious, clean room with comfortable bed. Wifi available, but not a very strong signal in our room.

Great base to explore the Dingle Peninsula!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadrianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed for our first trip to Dingle in a family run guesthouse overlooking a quiet part of the bay,but only a 5 minute walk to the town.The double room we were shown looked fine but we decided to splash out on the junior suite with a huge bed and a jacuzzi bath.
Everything throughout the house was cared for and spotlessly clean.We ate in their restaurant on two nights and although expensive(compared to the UK,) the food (prepared by one of the sons trained as a chef in Dublin) was excellent in quality,quantity and presentation.Fresh cod and John Dory were really superb.
However move on to the breakfasts and be amazed;even in 5* hotels I have never seen such a range of high-quality hot and cold choices.The usual selection of hot breakfast staples is complemented by cold meats,cheeses,fresh fruits,yoghourts,fruit juices etc,etc.,but most notably by simply the best homemade breads,scones I have ever had (and I've had a few in Ireland over 40 years of visits!!) and then to finish it all off a freshly made bread and butter pudding,all from Mrs. Heaton's fair hand.
This is a welcoming,high-quality,family -run guesthouse with standards that would put most 3* hotels to shame

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBH-JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We came to Dingle ready for a little R&R after 5 nights going through Dublin, Cong, Galway and the Cliffs of Moher. We found Cameron and Nuala to be the consummate hosts. Cameron is very hands on, always making sure that you have everything you need. The food in the restaurant is delightful, tasteful and ranked above food we had elsewhere in Ireland. Our room was a corner room overlooking the front of the property directly out to the bay of Dingle. Just lovely. We were never wanting for anything here. If we ever return to Dingle, we'll be back at Heaton's.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dub
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Home from Home...
Nuala treated us like family and her son made sure we were fed like VIP's.

The food was excellent and really worth stopping off for even if you are not staying. Rooms and service is 1st class, an amazing setting..book it

We will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fassnidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We just got back from a 10 night trip through Ireland, 2 of which were spent at Heaton's. They turned out to be the best two nights we had there! We were greeted warmly as soon as we entered and were shown our room. We were lucky enough to be upgraded, and found the room to be very clean, incredibly comfortable, and impeccably appointed. We were tempted to take a "down day" to relax in the room and put off the Slea Head drive (2 minutes from Heaton's) or exploring "downtown" Dingle (5 minute walk along the bay).

The included breakfasts were also the best we had in Ireland. Lots of choices from pancakes to omelets to the ubiquitous "Traditional Irish Breakfast" - each item we had was delicious and well prepared, but also focused on presentation which wasn't the case with other B&B's we stayed at. Not that others were bad, but Heaton's had the feel of being delivered breakfast at an upscale restaurant.

Speaking of upscale restaurants, at night the dining room becomes the Shore View Restaurant. We ate here the last night of our stay, and we had wished we had eaten here both nights! I've had my share of meals in top-tier restaurants across the country and abroad, and it's no exaggeration to say this was one of the better meals I've ever had from start to finish. The chef here is gifted. Everything was perfectly prepared, and for each course, every item on the plate complimented the others perfectly. And again I'll mention the presentation - making food and matching flavors can be an art, and here they carried it through and made everything look as good as it tasted. Probably most surprising were the prices - in the same range as some of the pub dinners we had at other places during our stay! The Shore View Restaurant is not to be missed.

Rounding everything out was the available wifi - though the signal was a bit weak in our room, the signal is stronger in the lobby, where a laptop is also available if you didn't bring your own so you can check email, etc.

I would definitely stay here again, and anyone traveling to Dingle for even a single night would be missing out if they didn't stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eizik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
762 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaton's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaton's Guesthouse

Property: Heaton's Guesthouse
Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heaton's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heaton`s Guesthouse Hotel Dingle
Heatons Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing