We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heaton's Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best lodging in Ireland”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This guesthouse located several blocks from downtown Dingle is well situated for exploring the Dingle peninsula. After an evening of visiting the local pubs, we were able to walk back to our rooms from downtown. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well worth the price. The breakfast buffet is the best we had during our two weeks of touring Ireland, and we enjoyed dinners in the restaurant as well. Owners Cameron and Nuala made us feel at home, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We would happily revisit the beautiful Dingle peninsula and definitely stay at the Heatons Guesthouse. It was our favorite place in Ireland.

Room Tip: Front rooms with by view of bay nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaska516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    80
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
159
563
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Wonderful small Inn with clean and lovely Junior Suite with lovely water view. Restaurant was excellent and had the bewt lamb we had had in Ireland. Won't go wrong with this place and the owner is helpful with places to see.

Room Tip: Go online and see the rooms and book directly wit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poncelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed two nights at Heaton's. We came in after a long day of touring through the Cliffs of Mohr and down through the Dingle Penninsula. The guesthouse sits across the street from the bay, with beautiful unobstructed views. Cameron, our host was most accommodating. Our rooms, while not the largest on our Ireland travels were very well appointed and immaculately clean. The bed was also very comfortable and proved to be a good nights sleep. Rather than going into town for dinner after our long day, at Cameron's suggestion, we ordered a bottle of wine and cheese plate. We enjoy our snack in the beautiful common area in front of the fireplace. The next evening, we had dinner at the guesthouse where his son is the chef. This dinner proved to be our dinner from the trip-YUM! The breakfast is also something special- all homemade and delicious! While many reviewers have written that they enjoyed a short walk to town, we felt it best if we drove a few minutes to the center. The walk seemed a bit long in the dark.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadMBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stay at Heaton's Guesthouse whenever we are in Ireland, which turns out to be almost on an annual basis. Having tried other guesthouses and hotels, we have found that Heaton's is by far not only the best value, but the most hospitable guesthouse available! Their outstanding selection of breakfast foods (including Nuala Heaton's homemade scones, breadpudding, and brown breads!!) will make any traveler happy! Another outstanding feature of Heaton's is their immaculate housekeeping - one would be hard pressed to find another guesthouse as tidy as Heaton's! Many of the rooms offer excellent views of the Dingle harbor, making you feel as though the water is right at your door step. Being a constant traveler to the Dingle penisula, we always look forward to the warm reception offered by the Heaton family and an outstanding dinner prepared by Chef David Heaton. The perfect combination for an excellent holiday in Ireland!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebeetschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We loved everything about our stay here--lovely & comfortable accommodations & beautiful view of Dingle Bay from our room. Nuala & Cameron are superb hosts.
They have a terrific Chef. Our breakfast was A++++
Don't miss a visit to Dingle and to Heatons Guesthouse while in Ireland!

Room Tip: we had 2nd floor front of the house view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Beautiful setting by the water, convenient to the town of Dingle and Slea Head Drive. Easy to find, very friendly staff, great food for breakfast (we didn't get to try out dinner). Nice spacious, clean room with comfortable bed. Wifi available, but not a very strong signal in our room.

Great base to explore the Dingle Peninsula!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadrianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed for our first trip to Dingle in a family run guesthouse overlooking a quiet part of the bay,but only a 5 minute walk to the town.The double room we were shown looked fine but we decided to splash out on the junior suite with a huge bed and a jacuzzi bath.
Everything throughout the house was cared for and spotlessly clean.We ate in their restaurant on two nights and although expensive(compared to the UK,) the food (prepared by one of the sons trained as a chef in Dublin) was excellent in quality,quantity and presentation.Fresh cod and John Dory were really superb.
However move on to the breakfasts and be amazed;even in 5* hotels I have never seen such a range of high-quality hot and cold choices.The usual selection of hot breakfast staples is complemented by cold meats,cheeses,fresh fruits,yoghourts,fruit juices etc,etc.,but most notably by simply the best homemade breads,scones I have ever had (and I've had a few in Ireland over 40 years of visits!!) and then to finish it all off a freshly made bread and butter pudding,all from Mrs. Heaton's fair hand.
This is a welcoming,high-quality,family -run guesthouse with standards that would put most 3* hotels to shame

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBH-JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaton's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaton's Guesthouse

Property: Heaton's Guesthouse
Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heaton's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heaton`s Guesthouse Hotel Dingle
Heatons Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing