We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heaton's Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a holiday in Ireland where we spent three nights at Heaton's in Dingle. What a rare and charming experience we had. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts the best we had in a country where breakfasts are pretty good. And the Heaton family was the best part of the entire experience on our trip to the Ring of Kerry. Each member of the family (parents, son and daughter) sought to ensure our experience with them was perfect---and they succeeded. Charming, helpful, kind, enthusiastic. We are regular travelers in many parts of the world---there is no place and no hosts quite like, or as fine as the Heatons.

Room Tip: We were a group of eight---3 couples and 2 singles---all rooms were just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Dingle, you will thoroughly enjoy Heaton's. Everything about it is perfect - from feeling welcome to having a lovely night's rest to indulging in a most delicious and varied breakfast. (Actually, the breakfast would qualify as a culinary feast.) The is the second time I've had the pleasure of staying at Heaton's. The first time was in 2002 with a dear friend of mine. We stayed for just one night, but found it so memorable that, this past June when seven of us traveled to Dingle for a week of hiking, Heaton's was the only place we considered. This time, we stayed for six nights and simply did not want to leave.
Mr. and Mrs. Heaton, the hosts/proprietors, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were meticulous. The breakfast at Heaton's is truly two-fold. First, you are invited to help yourself to a variety of fruits, yogurt, cheeses, meats and scrumptious house-made breads/muffins. If you are still puckish, you can order from a menu. The choices are all delicious. We know, because among the seven of us, we tried every offering, and weren't lead astray by any of them!
The Heaton's signature dish is oatmeal topped with brown sugar, cream AND Drambuie. (Yes, Drambuie which makes the oatmeal decadently delicious.) If you order the oatmeal, Mr. Heaton himself puts the final touches to this scrumptious treat. I look forward to many more visits to Heaton's. Thank you, Mr. and Mrs. Heaton! I shall return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor at the front of this guesthouse afford you the view of the tides. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mas-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Driving through the town of Dingle we just sort of randomly picked Heaton's and were so glad we did. It's run like a BB but is more like a small lodge or small but nicely appointed and family run motel. It's not so small that it feels like you're staying at a stranger's house but cozy nonetheless. We had a beautiful view of the bay, short walk to dinner/town and a great breakfast. It was really a nice surprise. Gorgeous artwork throughout! Spotless, friendly, well situated, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a great guesthouse. It was a nice change of pace after staying in B&Bs to stay in lodging that was more like a hotel. It has a good location walking distance from the center of town. We had a 10 year old and although she complained a little about the walk home, it was a safe and only 10-15 minutes with a child.

When originally trying to book our room several months ahead, I thought I had received confirmation from Heatons, but it turns out I hadn’t. (My error not theirs.) So two weeks before our trip I contacted them and they were able to accommodate us but in two different rooms. They moved our luggage for us while were out. They were very helpful with everything.

The guesthouse is clean and decorated beautifully. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms very nice. We stayed in a junior suite the first night and a deluxe room the second. A roll-out bed was brought in each night for my daughter. The junior suite was large and gorgeous and had a fabulous bathroom. (I think the room number was 16). The deluxe was also nice but a bit smaller. The bath was also not as new and nice as the one in the junior suite.

Our rooms had great views over the water. We enjoyed seeing the water and how the level changed with the tides and there is an amusing sculpture in the water as well. There was a small garden out back. Tea-making facilities were included in the room.

The breakfasts were very very good. Lots of variety. My daughter loved the French toast and pancakes. I had the oatmeal with berries which was delicious and one day had the bagel, lox and cream cheese which was good and made a nice change of pace from eggs. There were also lots of choices of fruits and cheese, granola. The pastries were just okay.

There are a few negatives. One complaint is that the breakfast room was overly warm and our corner table was a bit of a tight fit. The other is that the WiFi was very poor. There is a PC in the lobby for guests to use but we had a wait while other guests were using it.

I hope to return to Dingle someday and would definitely book at Heaton’s again. This was one of my favorite stays in Ireland.

Room Tip: Room 16 had a great bathroom and a nice view over the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is our second visit to Dingle. It is also our second visit to Heaton's Guesthouse. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Great hospitality. Beautiful rooms. Delicious breakfast. This is a family owned business and it shows. Cameron and his family know how to make you feel right at home. Great price and wonderful views of Dingle Bay!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - the view of Dingle Bay is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Heaton's Guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Dingle & surrounding area. My room was spacious, clean & quite with a great view of Dingle Harbor. It's located within easy walking distance of the pubs, shops, and visitor center. The breakfast here is also amazing. I'm a fan of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, but I recommend you try the porridge. The hosts gave great recommendations and directions regarding pubs, music, restaurants and local concerts taking place. Ask for a room with a view of the harbor. I think they're the best. Be sure to do the Slea Head drive/tour while in Dingle & visit as many pubs as you can. The music in town is great. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Dingle.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the front with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at Heaton's Guest house on September 14 & 15, 2013. The guesthouse was a short walk from the center of Dingle, just across the street from Dingle bay. It was an easy walk to town. The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. They were fun to talk to, David especially. The room was large and clean. They gave us good ideas on where to eat, shop, and tour. The breakfast options were great and eating in the breakfast room looking out at the bay was very nice. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray4461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
812 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Dingle Skellig Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dingle
1,697 reviews
1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 10 in Dingle
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dingle
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#4 of 10 in Dingle
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#9 of 10 in Dingle
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaton's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaton's Guesthouse

Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dingle
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dingle
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
Price Range: £69 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heaton's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heaton`s Guesthouse Hotel Dingle
Heatons Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing