We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to town/Great beds”
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Walking distance to town/Great beds”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were very pleased with Alpine. The bed was so comfortable, and Tom, the Innkeeper, tries really hard to make your visit pleasant. I agree with the previous reviewer, the beds were the most comfortable of all the places we stayed. After 14 days of travel, my back was killing me, I finally had a good night sleep . My room was quite cozy. Wonderful breakfast. Love the eggs and smoked salmon & breakfast bar.

Room Tip: I was in room 25, and was very pleased. It isn't super fancy, but I slept well 2 nights in a row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    66
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
75
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Alpine Guesthouse. The location is great and really close to everything, so you can pretty much walk anywhere around town. The rooms were clean and the bed was probably the most comfortable and cozy of all the places we've stayed in Ireland so far. The room was a bit cool, but the feather comfortable on the bed made up for that. Breakfasts were good and filling. We would easily stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Although Alpine Guesthouse was recommended in a guidebook, we were not terribly impressed. The room was musty and furnishings were old. The housekeeper aired out the rooms while the guests were gone for the day, but it was jarring to come back and find the room wide open with no one around. (We would have taken all electronics and valuables with us had we known the room would be left open unattended.)

Breakfast was decent, but not the best we had. The one bright spot was the charming common rooms -- the breakfast room and parlor. Proximity to the center of town is nice. Overall, we would look for accommodations elsewhere if returning to Dingle.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor-facing room. I hear they are lovely, but they were all taken by the time we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Came recommended to us. Had high hopes. Loved dingle. The alpine guesthouse was very convenient located to the center of town but not a great place to stay. It was very cold outside and there was no heat in the room. We froze! Thin towels, no amenities in the bath. Nice size room though. Just disappointed that it was so sparse. Breakfast was average.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at he Alpine Guest House and enjoyed every minute of it. Our room was nice, a view over the Dingle Bay, bed was comfy, and the bathroom was great. Paul and Caroline were very friendly and helpful, pointing out restaurants, shops and places to see on the 'Dingle Drive'. The location was perfect, two minutes to the heart of town, large parking lot and on the main road into town so it was easy to find. Breakfast was cooked to order and good. Alpine added to our overall amazing two days in Dingle. We would definitely stay here again.
Frank and Sandie

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My girlfriend and I spent our two nights in Dingle at the Alpine Guest House and they stay was exactly what we were looking for. A two minute walk from the main street, our room had a nice view of beautiful Dingle Harbor and its surrounding mountains, even the old stone tower on a hill above the Harbor. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were also roomy. Our breakfast was filling and delicious. The owners, Paul & Caroline, could not have been more welcoming. When we return to Dingle, we'll be staying with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were finally planning to spend 3 nights in one place for the first time during our 2 weeks trip in Ireland and Alpine Guesthouse turned out to the be exactly what we were looking for. Nice room, good breakfast (although that has been pretty standard in Ireland), friendly staff. Good views across the road to the bay were a bonus, and it was perfectly situated just out of the downtown hustle and bustle yet just a few minutes walk away. A great place to relax and enjoy the peninsula. The only downside was slightly thin walls which did little to muffle the sounds of the loud drunk couple returning at 3 am, but the other 2 nights were completely silent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Barr Na Sraide Inn
#31 of 75 in Dingle
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Bambury's Guesthouse
Bambury's Guesthouse
#13 of 75 in Dingle
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Property: Alpine Guesthouse
Address: Alpine Guesthouse Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing