We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Cozy, Welcoming Suites”
Review of Captain's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's House
Ranked #43 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I recently stayed at Captain's House with my family members and we ALL loved it! We each had our own clear, cozy room with ensuite (so we each had our own bathroom, virtually unheard of in Europe!). Mary warmly greeted us and showed us all around the apartment which was stocked with fresh fruit, scones, breads, milk, coffee, and tea. Each bathroom was fully stocked with many plush towels (when most hotels only give you one per person, we each had 3-4 towels!). Our apartment was also cleaned and our breakfast items restocked each day, which was above and beyond what I expected. Mary even came by on our second day to ensure that everything was OK. Mary and Jim are great caretakers and we all loved our quiet, cozy, comfortable stay in Dingle and would recommend The Captain's House to any family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklesit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Let me start by saying how surprised and shocked I am that anyone would give this lovely B&B a low rating. I just returned from my visit to Ireland, Dingle being our last stop. It was by far the nicest place we stayed in during our travels-and we stayed in some very nice B&Bs and flats. We had a whole apartment to ourselves with 3 tidy bedrooms with private baths in each one-a great value. We were greeted by Mary--the owner, when we arrived. She was very kind and welcoming. The apartment was clean, comfortable, cozy and stocked with fresh fruit, milk, coffee, bread, yoghurt--you name it! It was lovely and very close to the heart of Dingle-a most convenient spot but still very quiet & peaceful. I would definitely recommend Captain's House to anyone--even the most fussy traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in the Inishowen suite and felt very welcomed by Mary, the host. The kitchen was fully stocked with goodies like delicious scones, breads, fruits, cereals, and beverages. You can tell that Mary and Jim take great pride in the inn. The rooms were very clean and you feel right at home. It truly lives up to it's reputation as one of the best inns in Europe. As for location it can't be beat in Dingle. Whenever in this lovely town again we will be staying at the Captains house. Also the washer and dryer comes in very handy on a long trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Captains House was a unexpected wonderful surprise in Dingle. The apartment was very clean, we'll equipped kitchen including breakfast makings, and loft bed was very comfortable. The house is located in a perfect location near city centre, harbor Jim and Mary went out of their way to make our stay perfect. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langens64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were looking forward to our stay in the suite at The Captain's House with all the beautiful described amenities including a washer and dryer! We were quite alarmed by the dirty and run down condition of the suite. We were also told that breakfast was "on our own" to make in the dirty kitchen with a loaf of bread and milk!! We voiced our concern that the conditions of the suite did not meet the description on the website. We found other accommodations. We also informed Rick Steves to remove this listing from future editions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mary Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A delay getting our rental car in Dublin caused us to miss the first B&B we had booked in Skibbereen. After a night in a downtown Cork chain hotel, we made our way to Dingle. What a delight to be welcomed by Captain Jim Milhench and shown the lovely and comfortable Finad suite! The lower section is a sitting area and kitchen, beautifully decorated, with an outside deck and cooking grill. Plenty of room to spread out and store our bags. Up a winding stair is the bedroom with a view to the back garden. Mary had purchased a small loaf of gluten-free bread for me, and there was plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt and other choices for making breakfast in the room. (She no longer cooks breakfast, now that they have adorable toddler twin girls!) The bathroom is lined with wood paneling, like a ship, and has a self-contained water heater for the shower. The only thing lacking I had to ask for was a hair dryer. Their friendly cat and Old English sheep dog were welcome companions. Dingle is a lovely town, easy to walk around and explore, and the B&B is in a great central location. Jim insisted that we take the Slea Head Drive the next morning before leaving the peninsula, and it was worth it. We highly recommend the Captain's House and would love to come back some day.

Room Tip: The winding stair in the Finad suite is not suitable for extremely large people or those with physic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Captain’s House was more than we expected!!! The apartment style room was perfect and went above our expectations. The breakfast accommodations were provided in your room/apartment. We really liked this because it gave us the casual time in the morning to plan and prepare for the day of touring while sipping coffee in our p.js. A lovely variety of breads, yogurt, milk, coffee, juice, fruit, hot cereal and more were restocked each day of our stay. The bedroom was one queen and one twin. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and quiet for a good night sleep. The apartment was very clean and spacious. We were very impressed with the bathroom. It was very modern and provided a wonderful bath/shower combination. Plenty of hot water and nice shampoo/soap/lotion were provided. The washer/dryer was a great help since we had done a lot of hiking and travel at this point and was a true luxury to have laundry accommodations in room. We found Mary and Jim so helpful in giving guidance on our big hike and even suggesting the local farmers market for our lunch picnic. Overall we rate these accommodations excellent. The location was perfect for walking to all pubs, restaurants and open air market. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend The Captain’s House!!!

Room Tip: The Captains Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
25.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
799 reviews
25.6 mi away
Bambury's Guesthouse
Bambury's Guesthouse
#12 of 75 in Dingle
301 reviews
25.9 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#46 of 75 in Dingle
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Cill Bhreac House B&B
Cill Bhreac House B&B
#7 of 75 in Dingle
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Short Strand Dingle
Short Strand Dingle
#24 of 75 in Dingle
25 reviews
25.5 mi away
Dingle Garden Townhouse
Dingle Garden Townhouse
#29 of 75 in Dingle
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Address: | The Mall, Dingle V92 DC43, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home in the heart of Dingle. Mary and Jim would like to extend a very warm welcome to you and invite you to visit the Captain's House. Our accommodation offers more than a B & B, or Self-Catering with fully serviced Suites in our listed 19th Century home. All suites are well appointed. The Captain's House is run by a retired sea captain, with continental breakfast served in the suites Irish breakfast and home-baked bread. Mary is from Dingle town, her family have been welcoming guests to Dingle for generations. Situated on the doorstep of all the shopping, music, entertainment, pubs, award winning restaurants, marine and outdoor activities that Dingle has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing