We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality in Dingle!”
Review of Captain's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's House
Ranked #42 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family so enjoyed the "Rathlin Suite" for 3 nights in Dingle. Our family group of 5 had 3 bedrooms with en suite baths, a kitchen, and family r for oom. After being on the road for almost 2 weeks, it was a treat to have a kitchen so we could cook for ourselves and enjoy the fun city of Dingle. Mary and Jim were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast food they provided was high quality and generous. Terrific location from which to take advantage of all that Dingle has to offer--from pub crawls to Eco tours to Blasket Island, and really great shopping! Loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are somewhat quieter than those facing the street. All were comfortable...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdmagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Captain's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great location right in the centre of dingle beside the Phoenix cinema , I stayed in a self contained mini apartment which was lovely . My own garden attached which would be nice in summer. The host left brown scones and coffee and there is a full self catering kitchen so no rush to get up for breakfast & option to cook during the day as well. Very private

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose The Captain's House for our first stop walking the Dingle Peninsula and we were not disappointed--for central location, flexibility, comfort, it is a wonderful, welcoming place. You become part of the family, if you like, and we did--Jim was always friendly and helpful, his lively twins, Lyla and Lara, and their jolly, rolly-polly, shaggy dog Bróg.
Jim stocked and restocked the pantry so that it didn't matter that they don't serve a sit-down breakfast--but we found excellent fare for lunch and dinner our on the town. (And don't forget Murphy's Dingle ice cream--also in Killarney.)
We liked the place so much, the warm welcome and the great independence it gave us to eat as we pleased, spread out and get our trekking equipment ready, explore as we pleased, that we stayed another day on our way toward the Kerry Peninsula.
All in all, a great choice to see and enjoy Dingle and environs and know there is a comfy set of rooms and a well-stocked larder to welcome you back.

Room Tip: Either room is fine--you get plenty of space, too.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bermane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A two day booking May 20 - 22 (2014) was extended to three due to a thoughtful and well balanced service.
We celebrated a birtday and a couple of extras was performed by Mary and Jim to our absolute delight.
Captains House is ideally located for getting to the restaurants and pubs without any effort. Professional service and friendliness made our stay a memory to keep for life.

Thank You L&L, Mary and Jim

Hakan L

Room Tip: We had selected the "suite" in two floors
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakan Lak L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My huband and I stayed at the Captain's House recently (for 4 nights) and we cannot say enough good about our experience there. Jim and Mary were very welcoming and checked on us often to see if anything was needed. Thier self catering suite was exactly what we needed. The fully equipped kitchen was restocked with fresh goodies every day. We did not feel the pressure of being up to eat breakfast on a schedule and felt more than welcome to come and go as we desired. Mary was a great resource for anything you are looking for in Dingle and the surrounding area. The suite was spotless and included so much more than we expected. There was a bowl of fresh fruit on the table when we arrived and fresh flowers on the coffee table. The location of the Captain's House is perfect as it is close to shopping, restaurants, pubs and marina. The cinema is just within moments of this location. The outdoor patio is a nice touch but weather and our schedule did not permit us to use it. We did not get a chance to use the gas fireplace in the sitting area but it is certainly a plus to the individual that might opt to stay in for the evening. We will be going back to the Captain's House when we visit Ireland again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were worried by some of the negative reviews about this place but instinct told us to choose it anyway and we are SO glad we did. None of the problems listed are in evidence anymore, so whatever was going on, the place is back on track. Jim and Mary were so lovely and gracious, greeting us warmly even though we forgot our e-mail instructions and checked in after hours at their back door! They brushed off our embarrassed apologies and made us feel as if we were friends coming to visit and they were so glad to see us. So do note, even though the address is Mall Street, go to the entrance on Dykegate street.

The apartment was perfect, much nicer than we expected, a sitting room with table for eating, a well-stocked kitchen area with washer/dryer, stove, oven, refrigerator, a bedroom with queen bed and twin. We had everything we needed plus other thoughtful touches, like flowers in the room. Mary showed us around, explained how things worked. The location was great, a few minutes' walk from the harbor and restaurants. We had a great meal the first night at a pub Mary recommended.

In the morning we gorged on brown bread, scones, croissants, cheeses, milk, three kinds of juice, yoghurts in several flavors, the best muesli I've ever had, and helped ourselves to the huge fruit bowl. There was also a container of cereal and plain bread which we didn't try. The second morning, a whole new loaf of different brown bread, more scones and apple pastries instead of croissants. Can you tell we were happy with the breakfast?

We had a great chat with Jim the morning we left. He's had a totally fascinating military career. We would definitely go back and recommend this charming place to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Munacil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

2013 was an extremely trying year and we decided to give ourselves a treat and get out of the city for the New Year. The problem, however, was the decision between B & B, hotel or holiday rental. Then we found The Captain’s House self-catering accommodation which had it all. Jim and Mary were great hosts checking us in and giving us all the info we needed on the town and the New Year’s festivities. They also checked on us from time to time over our stay to see that all was well. The first thing that we loved about the property was the location. It’s like having your own apartment in the best possible location to enjoy Dingle Town. Restaurants, shops, cinema, pubs, and the marina are virtually on your doorstep. The suite was spotless and extremely well appointed, warm, cosy and comfortable with two TVs’, (sitting room and bedroom), linens and towels of the highest quality and a great, well equipped kitchen where we cooked a great Blasket Island lamb dinner one evening. The bathroom was posh and bright and had a great bath/shower with plenty of hot water which is something you don’t get in B & B’s. The two additional big pluses which you don’t get in standard self-catering lets were the continental breakfast, (breads, scones, croissants, yogurt, cereal & cheese), which was provided daily and the daily cleaning service. The weather didn’t permit us using the outdoor patio equipped with table, chairs and BBQ but we’ll be back to give that a try when we go back this spring for a week’s stay. I’ve got to stop here but it’s hard stop praising this fantastic property. It’s more than a hotel, more than a B & B, more than a holiday rental; it’s a step into 21st century hospitality in a quaint, listed 19th century property.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D15traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dingle Atlantic Lodge B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dingle Brewery Gate
Dingle Brewery Gate
#14 of 23 in Dingle
9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillgrove Guesthouse
Hillgrove Guesthouse
#47 of 75 in Dingle
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bambury's Guesthouse
Bambury's Guesthouse
#11 of 75 in Dingle
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Address: | The Mall, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home in the heart of Dingle. Mary and Jim would like to extend a very warm welcome to you and invite you to visit the Captain's House. Our accommodation offers more than a B & B, or Self-Catering with fully serviced Suites in our listed 19th Century home. All suites are well appointed. The Captain's House is run by a retired sea captain, with continental breakfast served in the suites Irish breakfast and home-baked bread. Mary is from Dingle town, her family have been welcoming guests to Dingle for generations. Situated on the doorstep of all the shopping, music, entertainment, pubs, award winning restaurants, marine and outdoor activities that Dingle has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing