We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be enchanted”
Review of Pax Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pax Guest House
Ranked #2 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Pax House is a home from home or at least it is the home you wish you had..Filled with interesting art and with it's own comical and loving pets (Molly and Rio) at Pax House the welcome never ends,as the cups of tea flow alongside the conversation and the sense of relaxation.
The rooms are lovely, stylish and well finished, the beds are comfy and the views are a slice of heaven. Don't worry if you don't have a sea view room, it matters not one bit since you can see a panarama from the lounge/conservatory and terrace.
It is the staff though, led and guided by John O Farrell (the owner) who make Pax House that bit more special than other places.Nothing is too much trouble and after your first conversation you will feel that they are your good friends;full of good humour and cheer alongside useful advice, stories and offers of help.
The breakfast menu never fails to please with it's wide array of dishes and a daily special to boot.

The Dingle peninsular is a gem but you may find like us, that you just want to relax and take in the view from Pax House, glimpsing Fungi the dolphin playing in the mouth of the bay whilst sipping your morning coffee. Prepare to be enchanted.....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,491 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

There are truly not enough stars to give the Pax House, John, Margaret, Michelle, Rio, Molly and the rest of the team the recognition that they deserve! This establishment and these wonderful folks have set the bar as high as it can go. Believe EVERY praise that you read about this little peace of Heaven and then make your reservation...and then book an extra night as well because you will not regret it.

Room Tip: you will not regret a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank betty313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

As soon as John opened the front door we felt like we were being welcomed home, he knew all our names, including the kids. As he showed the previous guests to their room he asked us to make ourselves at home on the most stunning terrace with the most beautiful views. He then treated us to the best coffee we had while in Dingle and the kids to the frothy hot chocolate with a little dish of marshmallows. We almost didn't want to leave the terrace to see the rooms, which when we did move did not disappoint! Great bed, beautiful duvet, spacious showers, all wow. Again we didn't think things could get better until we went into our rooms that night to find beds turned down and a glass of Baileys to help us sleep! We had the breakfast to look forward to and it got even better. The girls and the food were stunning, I had the boiled eggs with knitted jumpers and got to try out the egg cracker....great fun.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I can't say enough good things about this place. John, the owner is just great. He gave us a tour booklet with distances and descriptions of sites along the slag's head drive that was amazing. He also gave us a great recommendation for a local potter to visit on our drive. I always try to find art from the places I visit and this was my among my favorite.

The views are gorgeous and there is an impeccably decorated sitting room from which to enjoy the views of Dingle Bay. There is also a beautiful outdoor porch with the same lovely views.

Breakfast is unbelievable. It's literally like dining in a 5 star restaurant. John is also the chef, and the eggs were the best I've ever had (I'm not kidding).

The room was great. Spacious and clean. The resident, dog, Rio, was super sweet. She loves to play hide and seek with her ball and loves pets and treats.

My only regret is that we didn't spend more time here.

Room Tip: Views of the bay are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarafschroder3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our foursome stayed 2 night s and wished we had stayed longer. John and staff provide for every comfort and the view of the bay! The included breakfast was a gastrointestinal delight. I highly recommend the smoked salmon and eggs. Added bonus was meeting a delightful Irish family who were there for a wedding. They invited us to the afters, or second night of celebration and oh, what fun! John's recommendation for dinner one night-Doyle's was terrific as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor suite makes it easy to tote luggage. Also has sliding door to outdoor patio and spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The Pax Guest House is all it is rated to be and more!!! Driving up the hill from Dingle you approach the house and might think it doesn't look like much from the front, but wait until you get inside and see the views out the back....they are truly spectacular. The effervescent Margaret warmly welcomed us and brought us tea and hot chocolate on the veranda as we enjoyed the sweeping view of Dingle bay. Make sure you ask her to tell you about her diving experience with "Fungi" the local dolphin! We met John later in the day and he was just as welcoming, even calling down to one of the local pubs to make sure we had a table for dinner that night. The house is spacious and is decorated in all the shades of blue you associate with the seaside and accented by rich cream tones. Our large bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern. There was even some Bailey's at our bedside when we returned to turn in for the night. Breakfast had numerous options and was cooked by John himself. The most charming dish with the head of a bird was used to serve my omelette in. Honestly, John has thought of every single detail to make your stay in Dingle one of the best you will have in Ireland. Our only criticism was in regards to some of the other guests ruining our experience on the outside deck by chain smoking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHERESWAUGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at the Pax House for two nights this past week. We were incredibly impressed with the condition of this place. It is very well decorated and kept nice and clean. We had a renovated room that overlooked the sea and it was spacious and I loved the modern renovations and large shower big enough for two. John O'Farrell is so so helpful with making reservations for dinner and making recommendations for things to see and do in the area. The girls that serve breakfast are so friendly and provide excellent customer service just like John would expect. John also makes a fabulous omelet. The views are not to be missed and the Pax has such a homey feel that it is nice to sit outside and enjoy a drink or some food and just relax while looking at the beautiful sea and countryside. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Address: Upper John St, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: £45 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide high quality guesthouse accommodation with exceptional views of Dingle harbour. Being just 1 km from Dingle Town Centre it takes less than 12 minutes to walk down, less if the wind is at your back!All rooms are ensuite, with tea /coffee facilities, fridge, direct dial telephones, hair dryer and televisions. Extensive public areas, lounge, dining room, garden, patio, and balcony all with an uninterrupted sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing