We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Else Is There To Say?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pax Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pax Guest House
Ranked #1 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What Else Is There To Say?”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Pax House , with John at its helm, was our FAVORITE b&b in Ireland. The location is superb with town an easy stroll, albeit sans sidewalks down and back. His collection of artwork is not to be missed. Take time to study the treasures, you won't be sorry.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful glassed in room, overlooking the sea. Unfortunately this summer's lack of summer in Ireland prevented us from dining al fresco.

My only comment is that our bed seemed to be more of a double and less of a queen, a small price to pay for such fabulous accomdations. We hope to return to Dingle and to Pax.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    41
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
324
757
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We relied heavily on TripAdvisor comments to plan a 16-day Paris/London/Scotland/Ireland vacation, in particular when it came to bed & breakfasts. We were swayed by the great review on Pax House and were not at all disappointed. (We were amused and pleased to find two other couples who were following similar itineraries, staying both at the Pax House in Dingle and Daly's House in Doolin, based on their TripAdvisor research.)
John was a terrific host, the food delicious and the room large and comfortable. My wife was particularly taken by the eclectic art collection throughout the house. John was very attentive and gave some great siteseeing advice.

The view from the balcony, where my wife was served tea one afternoon, is magnificent. Though Dingle has obviously become a popular tourist destination, we never felt it was overcrowded or tourist-y. This would be the ideal spot to spend 3-4 leisurely days at the end of a long driving tour of Ireland.

Siante!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHuntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We loved staying at Pax and playing with the owner's dog - such a cutie. Great views from the breakfast room and binoculars for sightseeing provided. Huge rooms, very luxurious. Owner gave great tips on what to do and made our dinner reservations every night. Hubbie loved it and wants to go back! It was our first stay in a B&B and we were nervous that it would not have the amenities of a hotel room. Silly! It was wonderful. Great service, attention to detail. Only negative is we had to drive to get to dinner. The road to town is a little dark for us - we're city people. Decided not to risk it.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

A most welcoming host,John O'Farrell welcomed us early and even prepared a tray
of tea as we waited for our rooms to be readied. Our mouths dropped when we looked
out the window and saw the view - an inlet bay with the Ring of Kerry to the south and
the Dingle Peninsula on the right. It even had a dolphin popping up in the bay.
Lovely room with lounge area and beautifully tiled bathroom. Breakfast was excellent.
A bit pricey but worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emangramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

John O'Farrell is the wonderful host of the Pax House in Dingle, and we couldn't have been made to feel any more at home. Mr. O'Farrell's sense of decor blends well with the relaxing location overlooking the inlet to Dingle Bay, and the spectacular views are front and center here. Mr. O'Farrell was extremely helpful in assisting us in our tourist activities, and even though he has probably given directions around Slea Head a few thaousand times, Mr. O'Farrell remained most enthusiastic in explaining them yet again to a couple of Yanks. Our room was very cozy and warm, and we both slept soundly with a nice breeze blowing in off the bay. Breakfast was delicious and wonderfully prepared and presented, and my wife and I were both sorry when it came time to check out and continue our trip through Kerry. Highly recommended; we will be very happy to return to Pax House. Thank you, John! - Peter & Nancy Flanagan

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peepff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The Pax House will certainly will be a memorable experience regardless of what you are seeking - It sits on a hill just above the town of Dingle and because of its elevation and location it has has outstanding views of Dingle Bay and the Kerry Peninsula, manicured rooms with all of the extra amenities (including turn down service with a chocolate treat), unbelievable breakfast (including fresh black currants among the fruit selection) with some of the best views anywhere, and a quiet country environment (only 1 KM from town). Dingle has plenty of parking even in the high season so driving down the hill makes it very easy to go back and forth. John is very gracious and offers great advice on the area. We stayed in four B&Bs on this trip and this was absolutely one of my wife's favorites. My only complaint: We should have stayed longer. Next time - we will!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Augustine, Fl USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Start with the view across Dingle Bay and the haunting tower at the harbor entry, then be met by John, your host, who is so attentive to your every whimsy. He always seems to be in earshot as you come in the door to provide you tea and cookies, or to turn up the fireplace. The rooms are full of creature comforts with turn down service and treats. It is like staying at the Ritz yet having your best friend being your host! At breakfast, you are asked "What would you like?", not the typical... fill out the form for the morning! His modern charming B&B provides not only wonderful views, it also provides something that many Irish and Scottish B&B's do not provide --- warmth, yes actual heat!!
John has a charming little dog that loves all and always happy to great you with happiness and playfulness. We have NEVER had such a wonderful host and it was against this PAX HOUSE standard that we judged all other B&B's, and found all lacking!! John epitomizes what pride in guest satisfaction is all about. Bravo.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 78 in Dingle
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Property: Pax Guest House
Address: Upper John St, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide high quality guesthouse accommodation with exceptional views of Dingle harbour. Being just 1 km from Dingle Town Centre it takes less than 12 minutes to walk down, less if the wind is at your back!All rooms are ensuite, with tea /coffee facilities, fridge, direct dial telephones, hair dryer and televisions. Extensive public areas, lounge, dining room, garden, patio, and balcony all with an uninterrupted sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing