We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Gallarus Oratory

Gallarus Oratory
Book In Advance
More Info
US$256.54*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Dingle Peninsula from Tralee
More Info
US$308.80*
and up
Private Tour of Dingle Peninsula from Killarney
More Info
US$61.76*
and up
Private Tour: Dingle Peninsula from Killarney
Ranked #2 of 73 things to do in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ancient church built over 1,000 years ago.
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Good attraction to view if you are passing in the vicinity. Parked in the free car park and when I went towards the toilets a man from the centre approached me and asked for payment. He told me this site was a payable attraction and would have conned me of my money had I not done my homework. I told him that this is a FREE attraction and will not pay him anything, to which he retreated and asked me to leave from where I entered which I did.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    325
    85
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were glad to stopped to visit this site but the directions from our guide book had us on a one lane road full of hedges that scratched our car. (remember in Ireland, hedges aren't cut until October).

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midleton, Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Irelands oldest church”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a truly amazing building, still watertight after about 1200 years! Completely constructed of dry stone in the shape of an upturned boat, it is quite amazing that the structure remains standing in the harsh environment of southwest Ireland. Definitely worth taking time to make the visit.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Skip the famine house and bee hive rip offs and visit the Gallarus Oratory. Well preserved and interesting to walk into. Amazingly solid construction. Yes, there is another path to get in which will avoid the 3 euro fee, but if you skip the Famine house or beehive, put that money toward the entrance fee for Gallarus - at least the landowner at Gallarus has provided a nice parking area, bathrooms, gift shop etc.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fascinating Site”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We found this historic site fascinating. The video is really interesting and covers other sites, the staff really friendly and the building itself is fascinating.
Don't miss the upstairs tea room as the scones are yummy!

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gallarus Oratory also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing