We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, great brewery”

Dingle Brewery Company
Ranked #14 of 71 things to do in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The brewery is based the old creamery building on Spa Rd.,Dingle. Opened in 1888 the creamery became the economic epicenter of the Dingle Peninsula and was a vital commercial center for the area, especially after 1916 and the following troubled years which had left the economy, especially agriculture, in a perilous state. The owners of Dingle Brewing Co., have been mindful of the place that this building has in the history of the area and have lovingly restored it, retaining its charm and character. By running the brewery and also offering tours to the general public and tourist market the Dingle Brewing Co. hope to restore the level of importance which this building had previously enjoyed and make it an essential part of the Dingle experience as well as providing employment for people in the town. As well as offering tours they will be producing ‘Tom Crean’s’ Premium Irish Lager’, the first pint of which will be poured, quite fittingly, in the South Pole Pub, Annascaul, Co. Kerry. The very pub, which the great man Tom Crean ran after retiring from his Antarctic expeditions. The lager will be available initially in selected osupplied as demand dictates. The Dingle Brewing Co. is aiming to rejuvenate the unique atmosphere of socialising in an Irish pub by producing a premium Irish lager which will appeal to both the public and the publican alike and provide a focal point for friends to get together, enjoying that unique atmosphere, each others company and a pint or a glass of ‘Crean’s’
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great beer, great brewery”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very friendly and helpful - the self-guided tour made it comfortable. Tom Crean's is a fantastic beer - we hope to see it in the US someday!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cat_in_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    74
    20
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great brewery with great beer.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped in here when we had extra time one afternoon in Dingle. It was a great little brewery and the beer is fantastic. The tour is self guided so you can wander at your own pace and don't have to keep up with a tour group. The employees are very helpful if you have questions. I highly recommend dropping in here for an hour or so if you have the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank UncleHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

For $7 euros you get a pint and some wonderful history. I did not mind that it is self guided. The history pieces on beer, the creamery, and the fascinating tale about Crean were just fascinating. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dchoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a find.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visited this small brewery on a wet day in Dingle. What a find. They brew a light lager named after a local arctic explorer called Tom Crean. The self guided tour was Ok until you got to the bit about Tom Crean. What a man! I would highly recommend a google search just to find out about this quiet unassuming hero.

What about the lager? Well not just probably the best larger in the world (sorry Carlsberg) I would say ( based on my extensive international research) it is the best lager in the world.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful beer, self-guided tour”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I absolutely love Tom Creans (and I don't often "absolutely love" any type of beer) but the tour was a little lackluster-- informative guides to read but still self-guided which isn't usually as fun as a guided tour. But still, the story is interesting and the beer is great (it even travels well, I brought a six-pack back for my dad in South Dakota and he gave it the same rave reviews I did in Ireland).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank west0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dingle Brewery Company also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Dingle Brewery Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing