We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Dingle Peninsula Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dingle Guided Walks

Dingle Guided Walks
Ranked #14 of 25 Tours in Dingle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided Walks on the Dingle Peninsula. Ancient Pilgrim Route - The Saints' Road, Brandon Mountain, Slea Head, Conor Pass, The Dingle Way, Mount Eagle, Lough Adoon and many more. Visit archeological Sites and enjoy the breathtaking scenery. Colm Bambury experienced local guide. Driving Tours also available.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Dingle Peninsula Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Colm is a knowledgeable and articulate walking guide. He offers insights to local culture and regional history. We saw all of the important sights and learned about the area through interesting and entertaining stories. Our experience could not been possible without such a helpful and experienced guide.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PRS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a day to spend in Dingle and we wanted to do a quick 2-3 hour tour. I found Colm on the internet and we arranged everything by email.

He took us to some great spots on the peninsula and showed us things we never would have seen such as beautiful vistas and ancient ruins. His knowledge of the area and the history was impressive. He really made our day enjoyable.

I think most helpful was that he asked us what we had seen and then custom designed the tour to what we hadn't seen yet. Good times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricola22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dingle Walks not properly signposted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

While on Dingle peninsula we acquired the booklet "Walking on the Dingle Peninsula" .
We selected and undertook two of the walks contained therein
1) Cuas na nEighe Walk
This walk starts from the car park above Clogher /Clochar Beach (outside Ballyferriter). The problem is Clogher/ Clochar Beach is not signposted in any way. We spent time going back and forth but no signage. Eventually we had to ask a local for direction and he was surprised that there was no signage. He gave us exact directions ("near Louis Mulcahy pottery - little road that had "Annes pottery " sign). While we were Irish tourists I cannot imagine how utterly more frustrating and unintelligible it must be for non Irish tourists ? - never mind the mindset of the local tourist bodies who allow this to happen.
The walk itself was spectacular and well worth the undertaking
One other problem was the farmers electric fence across one section - there was no stile to pass over so we had to crawl underneath the electric wire. Dignity where are you !
Someone somewhere who has responsibility for tourism is obviously not too concerned about tourism/tourist and the simple logical solutions to resolve these issues.!

2) Lub Na Cille
This starts from the Dun Chaoin "Blasket Island" car park.
This was a spectacular walk, very enjoyable and well worth doing.
Other comments are
a) Each walk is identified by coloured arrows on poles at intervals and a corresponding general map outline in the booklet. Would it not be a good and logical idea to have the arrow poles and the map outline synchronised to show progressive identifying numbers so that the walker could readily identify on the booklet map where exactly one was, especially when a spectacular or historic point is reached. ?
b) During part of this walk one meets the ruins of the school house used in film Ryan's Daughter. Again there was no signage or plaques to outline the history of this major tourist attraction. Indeed the exposed roof timbers look decidedly dangerous. Why has this building not been restored and preserved as a major tourist attraction.? Even a local voluntary group could gather funds/ donation of building materials/ voluntary labour and restore this building to its film state. There is no doubt that a restored "film" schoolhouse this would prove to be a major tourist attraction.
The same comments apply to St Gobnait's well/church behind the above building which are in a totally disregarded state.
Generally I found that the Dingle peninsula is woefully signposted for non Irish speakers and tourists. The film Ryan's Daughter is a huge tourist attraction and money spinner but the tourist industry/bodies have not taken this on board.
Lot of signage and plaques required.
Another example is Cumenoole ? Strand - a beautiful beach and used in the canoe scene in Ryan's Daughter. No signage/plaque !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FintyAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A highlight of our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our hike over Mt. Eagle with Colm. This is not a hike we could have done on our own: though we were on a path for parts of it, at the top we were walking through a peat bog in a cloud, and might be up there still if we hadn't had a guide. My husband, 13-year-old daughter, and I rank it as one of our top experiences in Ireland; my 8-year-old daughter vacillated between loving the adventure and finding it too challenging. Colm was not only an expert guide, but also informative, funny, charming, warm, encouraging,and patient. He was one of our favorite people we met on the trip. I couldn't recommend this more highly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Colm Bambury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Colm was our guide and taxi driver for our recent 3 day visit to Dingle. His is the best! We were a group of 5 women. We had arranged to have Colm pick us up in Galway. Two of the five rented a car and felt they were in over their heads with driving in Ireland. Colm took care of us for 4 days. He was so fun and knowledgeable about all of Ireland but passionate about Dingle. Colm has a heart of gold and will take care of you if you are women alone. Colm is the real deal. There are many tour organizations that are not. It was hard to say goodby when he dropped us off in Dublin. We did not have a chance to take a walking tour, but definitely on my bucket list for the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank olla2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dingle Guided Walks also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 

Been to Dingle Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing