We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emlagh Country House
Ranked #13 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I took my girlfriend Alice down from Belfast for a birthday treat and I don't think I've ever seen her so overwhelmed! The weather was perfect to see the stunning views as you drove down into Dingle.
When we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown around then led up to our room. We loved the view from our room over Dingle bay. We were also informed of all the things we could do and places to eat.
Fortunately we were first down for breakfast and got a choice of table. Ours was by the window and again full view of the bay. As a chef in a hotel myself, the breakfast was very impressive to say the least and the staff were very tentative. If you asked for it you got.
My only regret.......... having to leave to come home.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGAM7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

While not a user of bed and breakfasts (usually hotels) I was pleasantly surprised by the superior standard of accommodation in Emlagh Countrly House. We had a ground floor room with a veranda which was a real bonus for when the sun came out. The room was extra large - lovely sense of space. Terrific shower. The Irish breakfast was freshly cooked - although the tea was weak (for my liking) Disappointing that fish was not on the menu given that we were in Dingle.

Room Tip: Any of the ground floor rooms with a door leading to a veranda and the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were in Dingle last week and just by chance drove by this wonderful guest house. The hosptiality was outstanding -- providing advice and suggestions of what to see in Dingle as well as places to see and how to get there as we made our way up to Galway. We were four adults, two rooms (garden and ocean). Both were extremely well appointed, and no loss to attention to detail. Truly first class all the way. The morning breakfast was a feast, with service fast, efficient and very friendly. We felt that we were the only guests and the proprietor had all the time for us. (Of course, the house was full so it made the attentiveness even more special.) Afternoon tea, with homemade goodies, was a special treat after a day of driving along those narrow roads. Definitely worth the price and would go back any time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed in this beautiful house with my boyfriend for two nights recently and it really was excellent! Our welcome, the open fire, the decor & the breakfast far exceeded our expectations... Well worth a visit and we will definitely be back. Well done to Marion & her daughter...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTCHTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

First, a bit of background on our other Dingle options: We originally chose the Castlewood House but our travel agent (Authentic Ireland Travel) bungled our reservation. The agent then booked us at the Dingle Skellig, which, trust me, has seen better days. As luck would have it, we were utterly delighted to come across the Emlagh House. This accommodation will be our first choice when we go back to Dingle if we can get a room there. It's 1 minute walk to one of the town's deliciously gourmet restaurant's (the Chart House), which was ideal after a long drive in the car on sketchy Irish roads.

We showed up without reservations and were graciously shown several rooms we could choose from by Granya, the daughter of the mother-daughter team who owns and runs the business. She gave us great suggestions for things to do and see in Dingle and provided a map of the town, marking the highlights. We chose a room that faced the Dingle Bay. ROOMS: Very well appointed with antique furniture and sophisticated decor. Our room had an outer door and an inner door that kept us perfectly insulated from any other noise in the building during our stay. Great water pressure in the bathroom, and they had all the amenities that help you feel welcome (chocolates, slippers, robes, etc). FOOD: Yes, we enjoyed our breakfast thoroughly-- especially the home baked scones and Irish brown bread to go with our eggs and fruit salad. The strong coffee went over really well too. Meanwhile, as we sat in the dining room, we looked out at a pasture of cows who had the Dingle Bay framed behind them. SERVICE: Marion, the mother of the dynamic duo, was so friendly and helpful as well, and the courtesy couldn't have been any kinder. The BUILDING: It was a nice, modern home that felt like a small-ish mansion. The woods, the colors of the walls and the carpeting reminded me of a Four Seasons. The home sat at the edge of town and had a pretty view looking down the hill at a pastoral scene with the Bay behind it. LOCATION: It was great-- close to town (5 min walk to the heart of it) and perfectly quiet without being remote. OTHER: I had just read the Scorpio Races which could easily have been set in or around Dingle. I was intrigued by the equestrian photos on the walls there and learned that the family was in the horse business. You can also see pictures of Marion's grand mother from the turn of the century back in Dingle before it was a tourist destination. The photos brought this family's history to life, and I wondered if the author of Scorpio Races had visited Dingle. And if she did, she definitely would have stayed at the Emlagh House.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent two nights in Emlagh House recently and truly found it to be a special place. The ambience, bed rooms and common rooms were all splendid and very tastefully decorated with well chosen art. Comfort, spaciousness and elegance were obvious in this house/hotel. Though an oasis of charm, it is quite close to the centre of Dingle with its restaurants and entertainment.
The staff were thoughtful and professional. Breakfast was excellent and served in a delightfully spacious room facing Dingle's harbour.
When booking, We thought the rates were rather high. Having been there, we can understand why, and feel it to be very good value for money. A place to return to!

Room Tip: Use the sample menues available in the drawing room to help choose your dinner venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Great place to stay. Beautiful setting, comfortable beds, terrific breakfast and friendly hosts.
many thanks for everything

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.4 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.3 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#5 of 75 in Dingle
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emlagh Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emlagh Country House

Address: Emlagh, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: £132 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emlagh House is a gracious country house located at the entrance to Dingle town overlooking Dingle Bay & harbour. The Kavanagh family, a local family, ensures that all guests enjoy their visit to the beautiful Dingle Peninsula & share their extensive local knowledge with each guest. Grainne & Marion Kavanagh look forward to sharing this wonderful area with you & welcoming you to their multi award winning home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emlagh Country House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing