We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Clarke Stained Glass Windows

Harry Clarke Stained Glass Windows
Ranked #14 of 73 things to do in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We read a review and as fans if this artist went to see the 6 windows. We were not disappointed, especially as photography is allowed. There are also some lovely recent murals to see. The lady on the desk was very welcoming and explained the story of the glass. The building is very run down but the entrance fee will help to restore it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning, but don't rush your visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Take your time and study the detail of these magnificent windows by Harry Clarke. I have seen them several times and always find some new detail or nuance to appreciate. Even on a rainy Dingle morning they seem to glow with a light of their own. The fee is reasonable and supports the work of the Diseart. They can also direct you to other Harry Clarke windows across the country. Also pick up the CD Lumina by local musician Eoin Duignan who has written music specific to each window. It is available at the Dingle Music Shop across Green Street from St. Mary's Church. Now that you can take non-flash photos you can listen to the music while appreciating the beauty of this unique stained glass.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Went past St Mary to check out the stained glass. Not disappointed. They were lovely. I also enjoyed the large fresco of the last supper and the paintings of the life of the founder. Make sure you walk around as there are other paintings, woodwork and statues as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dchoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'm hooked on Harry Clarke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

During a recent visit to Ireland I was introduced to Harry Clarke for the first time and am so pleased to know of his work. We had already seen examples of his lovely arts and crafts movement work in Dublin, Gorey Church and Cork and our final visit was to Dingle to see yet more fine windows. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Dingle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Wonderful Art Nouveau-like stained glass--brilliant and varied colors. My photos of these will no doubt end up as Christmas cards. I wish there had been a little more info regarding the artist.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank captcalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry Clarke Stained Glass Windows also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Harry Clarke Stained Glass Windows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing