We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingle Ireland's gem of a B&B”
Review of Milestone House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milestone House
Ranked #3 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dingle Ireland's gem of a B&B”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just returned from a 2 week trip through Ireland, and the Milestone House run by Barbara and Michael was a high point of our time there. It is located just a few minutes outside of Dingle which takes you out of the noise and bustle of the town and lands you right in the countryside. The walk into town is lovely. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well appointed and Barbara sits down with you as soon as you are ready and goes over all the sights and great places to eat. Michael makes the best soda bread around, and his breakfast rhubarb is a revelation. We would have stayed longer if we'd known how warm and engaging these two are. If you are very lucky you may see Barbara's mother pressing the sheets while she sits next to the window looking out into the yard. Dingle is famous for it's music and Barbara can get you tickets to anything or recommend the best pubs to take in the Irish music experience. There is a huge ancient standing stone in their front yard with an amazing story and provides a great landmark when you are coming in late at night. All in all, a memorable time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet with private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    54
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
195
356
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lyme, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent two nights at the delightful Milestone House B&B. Nicely located on Slea Head drive just a pleasant 10 min walk from the center of Dingle. Barbara and Michael are wonderful hosts providing excellent recommendations for food, drink and entertainment in town. They backup their recommendations too as we encountered them the first afternoon as we enjoyed lunch at the Goat Street Bistro which they had recommended. Breakfast was excellent with many choices, always accompanied by Michael's signature brown bread and soda bread (Michael even shared his recipes with us). We enjoyed the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon with sprigs of freshly picked wild garlic in particular. Our room on the upper left front of the inn had plenty of space and storage, with thoughtful touches such as individual bottled water. The en suite bathroom was clean and modern. The view out our window across Dingle Bay was beautiful and served as a perfect backdrop for a quality night's sleep. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Milestone House. We'll be back !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alby14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soap Lake, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a great B&B. They are on the Slea Head road a bit out of Dingle. We prefer quiet and this was perfect. You can walk into town, but we drove. They gave us so much information on the town and always showed interest in what we liked to do. They would then direct us to some great experiences. The food for breakfast was perfect. They had a wide variety of choices, my husband is eggs/bacon, and I'm more light with cereal or yogurt/fruit. They had all of the choices. They also have an ancient boundary marker stone out front which is pretty cool. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were only there one night but loved every bit of it! Barbara & Michael are so nice and helpful. Barbara helped with picking a spot for dinner and mapping out our Slea Head drive. Michael, as everyone always writes makes a fabulous bread! What I really enjoyed is the fresh fruit and how he makes a honey simple fruit sugar ( I Think that's how he does it). Would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k_branTulsa_Oklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wernersville
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Easy to find and just a tiny way out of crowded section, hostess took us under her wing and gave us tea, cookies, and a great map better than Mr Steves' because of all the personal recommendations and Barbara's help with reserving tix for a great concert at St James', awesome dinner and offered to drive us in or back if we wanted to enjoy a few pints! It was like having a friend of the family which is just what I needed! I can't wait to return to Dingle, our favorite town in Ireland. (Probably thanks to Barbara) and will certainly stay at Milestone House. Immaculate, safe, quiet, slept like a rock. Really great breakfast with a million choices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuyler, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I and a friend spent two nights at the Milestone recently and had a wonderful time. It was convenient to everything. The room was was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and our hosts, Michael and Barbara were so helpful and accommodating. I recommend it highly and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Dingle. The location was great, especially for starting out on the Slea Head drive around the peninsula. Easy walk to and from town, which we did several times. Beautiful scenery with the hillsides to the back and the water to the front. Barbara and Michael were so nice and so helpful with recommendations for stops on the Slea Head drive, restaurants to eat at in town, and where to listen to live music. The breakfast both mornings was delicious (the raspberry jam was amazing!). A very welcoming B&B that we would recommend to anyone staying in Dingle!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charm_of_finches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.2 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#8 of 75 in Dingle
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milestone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milestone House

Property: Milestone House
Address: Dingle | Co Kerry, Dingle 0000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Milestone House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing