We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Key West FL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Castlewood is more like a tiny boutique hotel than your usual B&B. The lovely rooms are overlooking the harbor, it's right on the road into town and a short walk to many restaurants and pubs. Years ago, my sister stayed in town and it was noisy, she loved the quietness here. You can get nice local beer and wine delivered to your room. The bathrooms are superb. Helen and Brian were very helpful with driving suggestions, directions, restaurants, also fixed some eyeglasses and a faulty adaptor for us. I saved the best for last, the breakfast just blew me away, so good, be sure to try the bread and butter pudding!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Reading your review makes us so proud that we are ‘getting it right’. Thank you so much for your kind comments, everyone here is delighted.
-Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
189
712
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for one night. So sorry we were unable to spend more time there. It truly is the best BB we have ever stayed in, pure luxury and the breakfast was amazing. Magnificent food.Will definitely make a return visit. Alice

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Fantastic B & B, walking distance from centre of Dingle. Lovely staff, very knowledgeable and helpful. Bedrooms very clean and comfortable. Definitely the best breakfast we have ever had in a B&B breakfast anywhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eithne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed in some nice hotels and B&Bs, but Castlewood House was a step above any of them. The decor is very elegant and the service is excellent. I was met by Brian at the front desk and he gave me a nice welcome and showed me to my room. He was very willing to help with anything I needed. I was more than happy with my room. It was of good size, well decorated, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was roomy and clean and even had a towel warming rack in it. As good as the decor of the home and the rooms are, breakfast is the highlight. The service was great and the Eggs Benedict was fantastic! The location of Castlewood House is convenient but far enough away from town center to be quiet at night. It is just past the town (heading toward Slea Head Drive), about a five minute walk along the water to the center of town. I injured a leg earlier in my trip, yet had no problem going back and forth into town. There is a sidewalk all the way and at closing time at night it was a very quiet pleasant walk. If you are driving, there is adequate off-street parking right in front of the building. I can't more highly recommend Castlewood House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review on your recent stay at our house. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to Dingle soon.
-Helen & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Large, Elegant and Comfortable rooms! Brian's breakfast was truly a highlight of our stay. Attentive and helpful staff made us feel very much at home. Dingle truly was the highlight of our week long Ireland vacation and Castlewood House was Simply Amazing!

One Dingle travel tip - Climb to the top of the hill across from Castlewood to the Eask Tower. You will be rewarded with an awesome panorama of the dingle peninsula. Absolutely breathtaking!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Delighted you felt so much at home, and that Dingle made such an impression. Don’t leave it too long before you come back! Thank you.
Helen & Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Castlewood House and in Dingle. The bedroom was large, elegant and spacious. Upon check in the staff was very helpful in recommending things to do and for several restaurants in town. Brian cooked a terrific breakfast. I really liked the starters and the omelet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, it is much appreciated. Brian is thrilled you enjoyed our breakfast so much. See you soon again I hope.
-Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Tripadvisor Award Winning Guesthouse/B&B. Our third stay in 3 years with Brian and Helen and they continue to impress! Fantastic room overlooking the bay and a superb breakfast with warm and welcoming staff make this guesthouse my favorite stay anywhere in the world. A ten minute walk brings you to the heart of Dingle with great seafood restaurants and amazing traditional pubs. Do not miss a stay here if you come to Ireland. I promise you will fall in love with the Castlewood too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SlotF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It is so encouraging to see our guests return year after year as it indicates to Brian and I that we are getting it right. Thank you so much for your kind comments.
-Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing