We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Ritz Carlton of B&Bs. Every detail has been thoughtfully considered. You will be hard pressed to find better service, food, or accommodations anywhere. Period. Our two nights in Dingle at the Castlewood were a high point in our trip. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaEyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
186
698
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

What can I say? It's all been said before. I knew it was going to be good when they offered us champagne and orange juice in reception and the delightful owner/host had flour on his jumper because he was baking bread for the following morning's breakfast. Every minute there was heaven and Castlewood House (it felt more like a warm and welcoming B and B than a hotel) is forever entrenched in my all time favourite places to stay. My only regret was that we didn't book a longer stay there on that glorious peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a fantastic weekend stay last week, Brian and Helen and all the staff are so welcoming, the house itself is just amazing. will definitely return for another stay on our next visit to the fabulous Dingle. would highly recommend staying here to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I had for 4nights in this beautiful hotel, and I must say it was the nicest place we have ever stayed in. The rooms are perfection, the decor is so nice Helen has certainly a great flair for interior design. Everything that has been said about the breakfast is true and you won't be disappointed . The girls serving you are the best you would get anywhere. Whilst we were there it was our 52nd.wedding anniversary and Helen discreetly left a box of chocolates in our room what a lovely surprise when we returned that evening after driving around the Peninsula , that just shows you how thoughtful a person she is. Not forgetting Brian he is one of the best as well.!!!.
Thank you Helen&Brian for making our holiday so special. Jerry&Patricia.

Room Tip: I'm sure every room would be just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Both my husband and I had a weekend free in late February very unusual so we set sail for Dingle on 28th February and booked Castlewood thanks to Trip advisor reviews. Oh wow!!!! We were not disappointed. The smell of daffodils in this clean and welcoming home. Wonderful room with an amazing view of Dingle harbour and walking distance of the town. Decent coffee in beautiful appointed ware. Even with Helen in Hospital after having the couples twins, Brian cooked us one of the most amazing breakfasts that we have ever had. Brilliant. What a disappointment Hotel Europe was the following night... We were sorry we did not stay with the Heatons for a 2nd night BUT we will be back.......very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water room 10 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cashel, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

having read the reviews we had serious expectations, but no disappointment, spotless, warm and welcoming but not suffocating, location is brilliant, quiet enough for great sleep but only a few minutes walk from all the pubs, restaurants...etc...
breakfast is quite amazing, staff very friendly and efficient.
It is a long time since we had received such understated quality hospitality.

worth every penny.

Room Tip: you might as well decide now to stay more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in Dingle for 2 nights and Castlewood House exceeded our expectations. Brian and Helen are wonderful. Brian was very helpful, a great cook and has put together a wonderful home...we were very lucky to have stayed there. We should of stayed longer. Helen is charming and very caring toward her guests despite caring for a family with small children too. A wonderful home, exceptional breakfast, great hosts and just a 10 minute walk to the main part of Dingle..a bonus. Dingle and Castlewood House has become a very special place in all of our travels. It easily deserves a very high rating and we'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
432 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing