We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely property!”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
N. Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Really lovely property!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in June. Unfortunately it spoiled us for all the other lodging we were booked in to during our trip thru Ireland! This place is fabulous. My room was huge, and the breakfasts are wonderful. As some indicate, it is on a busy road but with the drapes pulled I did not notice the traffic. I thought it was a lovely touch when we came in at night and candles were lit in the foyer and entry hall!

If you are a birder you will love the bird spotting at low tide in the tidal inlet in front of Castlewood.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
189
712
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Castlewood House is fantastic. Large elegant rooms, excellent service, delicious homemade breakfast, and a 10 minute walk to town. Brian greeted us with a Mimosa when we arrived, and laid out for us the restaurants and pubs we should visit.

We plan to visit Dingle again, and there is no question we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for two nights in a spacious deluxe room overlooking the bay. Helene and David were most welcoming and helpful, and the overall feeling was of being in someone's country house rather than an impersonal hotel. Beautiful decor. There is a pleasant sunny sitting room also overlooking the bay where one can relax after a busy day site seeing with a welcoming coffee and afternoon tea. Breakfasts were amazing (even offering champagne cocktails!) and best cup of tea I had had in Ireland! Large bathroom with quality toiletries. Nothing to fault and very relaxing. On the outskirts of town so out of the hustle and bustle but only a short easy walk in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

David & Helen were very attentive. Brian's cooking is superb. Must try the bread pudding offered during breakfast. The best ever!
We loved Dingle and this was a lovely location. Walking distance to everything, yet just away from the noise of pubs.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortho-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Ritz Carlton of B&Bs. Every detail has been thoughtfully considered. You will be hard pressed to find better service, food, or accommodations anywhere. Period. Our two nights in Dingle at the Castlewood were a high point in our trip. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaEyeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

What can I say? It's all been said before. I knew it was going to be good when they offered us champagne and orange juice in reception and the delightful owner/host had flour on his jumper because he was baking bread for the following morning's breakfast. Every minute there was heaven and Castlewood House (it felt more like a warm and welcoming B and B than a hotel) is forever entrenched in my all time favourite places to stay. My only regret was that we didn't book a longer stay there on that glorious peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a fantastic weekend stay last week, Brian and Helen and all the staff are so welcoming, the house itself is just amazing. will definitely return for another stay on our next visit to the fabulous Dingle. would highly recommend staying here to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing