We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast, clean rooms”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a bit of a splurge for us but was a lovely stay. The room was immaculate and the jacuzzi tub was much appreciated after many days of walks.

Aine met us upon arrival with much-needed coffee and provided excellent advice on local hikes. The staff also provided us assistance with dinner reservations.

The breakfast was one of the best we've had. I wish I had a larger stomach as everything was amazing.

Room Tip: The superior room had a jet tub and lovely views of Eask Tower and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is one fantastic establishment! No detail was too small to notice, the rooms were gorgeous, the breakfasts plentiful and superb, and the customer service beyond compare. Aine in particular was truly stellar...I had a badly sprained ankle upon arrival, and she not only helped me find music, entertainment, shopping, and restaurants that were exquisite, but also showed me the easiest way to navigate the town and find parking. The location was fantastic: right on the bay, extremely near to town yet quiet and peaceful. My only complaint was that it spoiled me for the rest of my journey, as no other hotel or B&B, even the more expensive ones, even came close to Castlewood Guest House. I never wanted to leave! Bravo!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AandMRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful small hotel with personal service and wonderful amenities. It looks brand new, so clean I took a bath in the gorgeous big jet tub! It is a short walk from Dingle town, but so worth it. All the amenities are first class with everything you need. Beautiful views, great breakfast, and hardworking, friendly owners. THE place to stay in Dingle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TallyLassy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Out of the bustle of the town proper, but Dingle is walkable in about 7 minutes. Lovely house, clean, modern bathrooms, excellent service. Well-stocked and delicious breakfast buffet available. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is definitely the best guest house I have ever stayed in - Hotels at twice the price or more are not as nice.. Beautiful comfortable room with big bathroom containing separate bath & power shower. Tea/coffee making facilities with comp water. Good WiFi connection.
Lovely touch was the comp bucks fizz on arrival - such a genuinely lovely lady at both check in and check out. Pleasant & helpful, without overdoing it. Situated a mere 10 mins walk from Dingle Town centre (if even that?), so it was lovely and quiet.. No noise late at night.
The breakfast was FANTASTIC - gorgeous Eggs Benedict with spinach and good, strong coffee - served in the beautiful dining room overlooking Dingle Bay - simply gorgeous! Good selection of cereals, pastries and juices. Really nice brown bread. It was so pleasant to relax and admire the beautiful view while enjoying such a lovely breakfast. We were well set up for the day! The owners came round and spoke to everyone whilst dining, which was very nice. They seemed genuinely interested in their guests and their comfort whilst staying.
Cannot wait to return to this fabulous place in a fabulous place...
Thank you for the lovely stay !! (-:

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzi_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review ! we are very humbled. The team here put their heart and soul into Castlewood every day and praise such as yours give us all a wonderful boost. Thank you so much for staying with us and we all hope that we see you again really soon, Kind Regards Helen & Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

From the moment we arrived the reception and attention to details was top notch. As we sat with Brian at the registration desk he handed us flutes of Champagne. Our room was spacious with a sitting area and large king size bed. The bathroom was large with plenty of counter space. Brian and Helen Heaton are the proprietors and no small detail is missed. Breakfast was served to order. They had a table with breads and warm bread pudding which became a favorite of both of ours.
We loved the Dingle area and we will return again. We will also stay at Castlewood House again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

So meny great reviews to this wonderful place. We were lucky with the weather, clear blue sky and amazing view from the rooms we reserved. Extremely comfortable rooms, huge beds and cleanless through the whole house. The breakfast was fabolous. Next time in Dingle, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amenhotep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing