We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many B&B's and this is the absolute best. The decor, the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, the food – it doesn't get any better than this. The view overlooking Dingle bay is beautiful and it's just a short walk into the town center.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracieAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
185
690
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What is it about Castlewood House that makes it so relaxing? Is it the elegant but comfortable decor? The warm, helpful welcome? The top-quality bedding and bathrooms? Or the unforgettable breakfasts? All I know is that we hope to return someday. Top marks to Helen and Brian, and their delightful staff.

Room Tip: We loved room 10, which was huge and had lovely views from two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fabulous B&B with spacious, clean, modern rooms similar to a brand name or boutique hotel. Excellent breakfasts with a variety of delicious options on the hot menu as well as buffet service. We had excellent views of the Dingle Bay and peninsula from our room. The location is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dingle, but close enough to walk everywhere in town. We spent three nights here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discodev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed three nights at Castlewood House as part of our 25th anniversary trip to Ireland. Brian, Helen, and their staff were most attentive to every detail and offered us many helpful suggestions on local dining, activities, and self-guided tours.The location of Castlewood House offers a very agreeable blend of convenience and quiet, as it is located at the edge of town but within walking distance to all pubs, restaurants, and attractions in Dingle. The many thoughtful touches included welcome cocktails, blankets for enjoying sunsets on the patio furniture, and "to-go" coffee in the foyer for day trips. Breakfasts were truly highlights of each day, with the pancakes a particular favorite. Our room was spacious and well-decorated, with a very comfortable bed and a huge ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe4968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Wonderful accommodation, spotlessly clean, delicious breakfast with friendly attentive staff. Brian and Helen, you run a fabulous establishment. As other reviewers have commented, this is more like a boutique hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgf2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the nicest, cleanest, hotel we stayed at in all of our travels through Ireland. The location was fantastic too with a nice view. The food served at breakfast was yummy, and high quality. The staff were nice, but kept out of your way. Would definitely stay, if I returned to Dingle.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pseudoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a pristine, special property in an excellent location for those coming to tour the dingle area.

Tastefully decorated with attention to detail in all areas, you will feel pampered and relaxed. That it faces Dingle Bay and is within easy walking distance to the town just adds to it's appeal.

And enjoy breakfasts that are a cut above the uusal fare with gourmet offerings in a lovely, sunny dining room.

Obviously the owners are treating this as a priority in their lives and not just a business. And if you like being pampered and having a friendly helpful staff at your service then this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barney400138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castlewoodhouse, Owner at Castlewood House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we really appreciate you taking the time and we do hope that you will get the chance to come back to us again some day
Regards Helen & Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing