We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.”
Review of Rainbow Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We camped in Rainbow hostel for 3 nights in early August. We had access to a communal kitchen/ cooking facilities but we chose eat out instead. As we were camping we had to use the outside toilet and shower facilities which we found to be quite clean with toilet paper provided! ! The campsite is only a 15min strole to Dingle itself. At €9 per person per night it was very good value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    43
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
34
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Well, the atmosphere in the Rainbow Hostel is brilliant. But that doesn't mean anything bad. The house and the rooms is clean and well-equipped. The service the hostel is pretty good. We were hiking the Dingle-Way and arrived pretty tired at the hostel. There are no shops nearby, but the receptionist offered to drive is into town a picked us up, when he was on his pick-up tour for the bus (apparently they pick up guests who arrive by bus directly at the station in town). One can also walk, it is about 15 minutes... . We stayed only one night, but enjoyed the hostel. There is also a camping ground in front of the building.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lentje_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is my second time staying at the rainbow hostel. I enjoyed the first stay that i then recommended 7 other groups to stay at the same time. However this stay was regrettably let down by the staff. The night porter was rude and was moaning about my sister arriving late at night. He was put out about her arriving with children which is strange for a hostel that is meant to be children friendly. He demanded that i ring her at 2am to find out where she was which i did not do. He also tried to get a deposit off me at 2am when i was told by the manager we could pay on the last day. Its a shame as i think overall the staff are friendly and welcoming but they really need to look at some of their staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Rainbow hostel for 2 nights, one in the 12 beds dorm and the other in the 6 beds dorm. The hostel is very well located, a few minutes walk or drive from Dingle. The staff is very helpful and professional and the bathroom and kitchen are very clean. You can also camp there (in the garden), so you have the choice! If you're on a budget when visiting Dingle (which you should absolutely do, it's an amazing part of Ireland!), don't hesitate, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter, as long as you have earplugs ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahInCanadaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the idea. A hostel with loads of grassy areas to camp on. Full use of kitchen inc fridge. Communial toilets, spotless but a little awkward if ur having a shower and someone is using the loo. The price was €9 a night which is super great as there is a free shuttle bus to drop you in town. Its roughly a 5 min drive or a 30min walk ish. I loved how relaxed it was and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank longblackbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I was a member of a pilgrimage group with 10 teens and 4 adults that spent 2 nights here at end of June. We had 7 teenage boys and two male adult leaders in one room and 3 girls and 2 adult female leaders in another and both rooms were fine. Plenty of bathrooms/showers, a nice communal kitchen, and beautiful grounds (some visitors were camping outside) - a great mix of people, young and old. Will stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I camped in the hostel's grounds for four days in July. This was a pleasant and relaxing experience, which reflected the general atmosphere of Dingle and the area.

For €9 per person per night you can pick a pitch in the hostel's grounds, which consists of the back and front lawns. It really felt like camping in someone's garden (in a good way). It did get quite busy over the weekend with the car park becoming full and people making their way about the place, although it was quieter during the week.

You will have full use of the kitchen, allowing you to cook and eat, store food in the fridge/freezer and wash up. There's also free wifi inside the hostel.

Outside, there is a mixed-sex toilet and shower block which was washed pretty regularly and was fairly new so still looked in good condition.

I found the hostel hard to find by car as their website's directions aren't very detailed. They are located on the Slea Head road north out of Dingle, which is about a 25 minute walk from the town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingle
0.0 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
967 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#8 of 23 in Dingle
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
0.0 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 17 in Doolin
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lantern Townhouse
The Lantern Townhouse
#23 of 75 in Dingle
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hostel

Property: Rainbow Hostel
Address: Spailpan Camping Park, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Dingle
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing