We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Needs Renovation"”
Review of Ashe's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashe's B&B
Ranked #47 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Needs Renovation"”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family recently stayed at Ashes B&B. It was a great location, within walking distance of all the restaurants, pubs and town center. They also has a secure parking lot where we could leave the car for the day while sight seeing. However, The B&B was really run down. There was mold growing everywhere, the bathroom was covered, the shade in the room (which was broken) when you pulled it down was covered in mold. The rooms smelled musty. If you didn't wake up early enough you were left with a cold shower. I wish I could write a nice review, but between the poor mattresses, mold and cold showers I can not!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    15
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We recently stayed at this location on a trip to Dingle in July. The location was excellent, and the car park was very important for us as we were staying a few days and did not want to worry about parking.

The breakfast was good, and the room pretty standard with an en suite bathroom. The host was great, very friendly and engaging. The price, 190 for two nights, was among the highest rate we paid in ireland though far from a bad deal. While I was not disappointed, and would stay here again on a return trip to dingle, the high price in comparison to similar and cheaper accommodations throughout ireland is why i ranked this location a 4.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this reasonably priced, convenient yet quiet B&B in Dingle. The owner could not have been more helpful and his restaurant and pub recommendations were spot on. Our request for tea was immediately met with a tray of all the necessaries for our room. This is a great value for money place to stay.
PS sometimes when people write reviews it is important to remember what you are paying for.... Some reviewers expect the Hilton at hostel prices!!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Ashes B&B owner has obviously worked to improve his property according to some of the past critiques. My 3 young adult children and I found Robert to be very welcoming, ready to provide satisfying, cheerful service, offer helpful guidance about the area and maintaining a property in convenient proximity to the best Dingle has to offer. His comfortable, homey house and our 2 ensuite rooms were clean, our beds were great and the clean bath towels provided daily were thick and luxuriously oversized! Robert saw to our breakfast needs with earnest attention to detail each of the 3 mornings we were there. His price was very reasonable as I checked several other places and found Ashes to be a good deal. The vegetation in the front yard looked a little overgrown and could be trimmed to reveal more of the handsome house, while the interior carpet looked a little tired. But these things are minor. The 4 of us enjoyed our stay at Ashes B&B and would be glad to stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed in Ashe's B&B a couple of weeks ago and it was really terrific we couldn't have asked for more. The staff were friendly but unintrusive ,the rooms were bright ,clean and comfortable and the breakfast was cooked to order (while most of the other B+B's we had stayed in had their breakfast pre cooked).Robert the owner was very helpful and had a great knowledge on the local history of the area. He gave us some excellent reccomendations. There is free wi-fi and a little internet cafe in the foyer which we used regularly. Location was perfect. A minute walk from all amenities in the town. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Dingle for a few night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NathalieMassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkes NSW Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We recently stayed at this guest house. The host was kind and welcoming however this was all.
A double bed in a single room, bathroom and main door would not stay shut, (Try sitting on the toilet holding the door shut), linen was dirty, no water glasses, no tea & coffee making facilities, 3 only coat hangers, some knobs pulled off cabinets, no face washer, no guest longe room (locked away) and breakfast was second rate with no fruit at all and orange juice was the only juice available. The place had a unkempt look about it with the owner not even being able to clean around the front entrance to entice guests. I would not recommend this to anyone. The guest house is very central to Dingle which is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed in Dingle for one night as part of a motorcycle trip around Ireland with friends. Ashe's was easy to find and a decent place to stay; Dingle was packed because of the races, and the B&B was only a short walk away from the town centre. The twin room was fine (although the view was of the spacious car-park) but the owner, Robert, was on his own and seemed a little bit overwhelmed (with towels not appearing until prompted a few times). From other reviews, it seems we missed his wife!

On the trip we stayed in nicer places for less money (oh yes, Ashe's is cash only) but then again Dingle fills up quickly in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhysPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Barr Na Sraide Inn
#31 of 75 in Dingle
191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#15 of 75 in Dingle
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Atlantic Lodge B&B
1.5 mi away
Killfountain Farm
Killfountain Farm
#58 of 75 in Dingle
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashe's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashe's B&B

Property: Ashe's B&B
Address: Spa Road, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ashe's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing