We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unprofessional.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blooming Wildflower Cottage
Ranked #50 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Homer Glen, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very unprofessional.”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

For those of you that do not like to read long reviews, I am going to try quickly sum up my experience at the Blooming Wildflower Cottage B&B. Excuse the choppy subjects. The room was very small and cluttered with needless furniture and trinkets. There was no appropriate room to place our suitcases and access them for wardrobe changes. The bed was horrible and felt very much like a floppy sagging sling. Beware of allergies- there was a heavy down comforter (in June) and a roaming cat inside the B&B. I suffer allergies and definitely felt them kicking in when I laid down to sleep, albeit mildly. There were traces of the cat of hair on the bedding inside our room. We had virtually no privacy as we were interrupted by other guests sharing the B&B. These interruptions were both while we were inside our room and outside, night and day. The proprietors also interrupted our stay on a couple of occasions including banging on floor (our ceiling) and the door to our room while one females was there alone and trying to shower. How awkward and uncomfortable! The bathroom was cluttered with unnecessary furniture, was very dim, and not quite clean. I can only describe it as MUNG that was coating the vent fan on the ceiling and dingy bathroom corners. The patio out back left a nice view but was difficult to traverse in the dark when we returned from dinner. It was also hard to enjoy the view since the deck was also cluttered with items and not well cleaned. The patio door onto the deck would not unlock to air out the room when it got a bit warm. And the deck was not private with other guests also using it. Parking was off street and inconvenient for loading and unloading personal belongings. The entrance to our room was difficult to access because we had to lift our luggage up (instead of rolling it) and walk down a 100ft grassy alleyway, through a narrow gate and up a couple of stairs. After dark, this alley was unlit, unsafe, and just plain creepy. Lastly- they were supposed to accept credit card according to all advertisements and website indications. The proprietors chased us down as we were loading our car across the street and persistently refused to accept credit card for payment. We were forced to run into town to an ATM and get the cash for them. This hassle made us late for the next planned drive. The whole check out process was actually very rude. Just completely unacceptable! I believe that this specific location is not well suited to be run as a B&B. It was clearly not built to suit that purpose and obviously has rice paper for walls. I wouldn’t recommend this B&B to anyone. It literally was the worst place I have ever stayed on my multiple trips to Dingle town. Perhaps the worst B&B I have visited in all of Ireland. There are more comfortable locations within the same price range and within walking distance to town centre.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any room being worth the hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB AC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingwildflower, Owner at Blooming Wildflower Cottage, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by our wee historic Bed & Breakfast by the sea. May I extend our most sincere apologies that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We take your comments on board in relation to the lack of professionalism and thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately, for some travellers like you, it is correct that we are not a purpose built business catering to the demands of night owls. We are a family run B&B for guests who prefer to stay in an Irish cottage by the sea with a friendly, native, mature Kerry family.

We are indeed startled and amazed that you have given incorrect information about us, our diligent cleaning staff and, finally yet importantly, our poor little innocent cat who is never allowed inside the guest rooms.

To address your complaints, here are the facts about the room called the Captain’s Quarters on the Seashore where you stayed.
(1) This unit is not small compared to European standards. Total measurements are 29 ft. by 32 ft. (13 Ft by 20 Ft inside space and the room’s private seaside deck is 16 ft by 12 ft)

(2) Two traditional cement walls exist between this room and the luxury suite across the hallway.

(3) Actually, no steps exist to the Captain’s Quarters because it is wheelchair friendly.

(4) The light switch to spotlight this private deck and garden area is easily located.
It is just inside the private entrance door to the Captain’s Quarters.

(5) Thank you for telling us that the original artwork depicting the Blasket Islands and the nautical sculptures of The Captain and the Bosom by a famous Cornwall artist offended you.

(6) Regarding interruptions from other guest and the proprietors, I question the validity of this complaint. I remember knocking on your door with two homemade slices of lemon cake with our compliments and a gesture of goodwill. Then again, I also remember putting your breakfast tray on the mini bar each morning of your stay with us
.
(7) At 3:00 A.M., the man and his wife on the other side of the house complained about you waking them out of a sound sleep with a ruckus and the sound of breaking glass. They thought
someone was breaking in and asked us to phone the guards.

(8) At 6:30 A.M., upon your departure, you were never chased and followed up the street. You were “quietly” motioned from our front door to come in to make it easier for you to pay your bill without disturbing the other guests.

In conclusion, we appreciate all feedback from our guests as it assists us in continuing to improve and address any issues that may arise. Clearly, we failed to meet with our own high standards of customer care on this occasion.

Sincerely,
Tommy and Marianne
Blooming Wildflower Cottage
The Wood on Dingle Bay Seashore
Dingle, County Kerry. Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    16
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were a young couple travelling around Ireland and spent 2 nights at the cottage. When we arrived we were greeted at the door by the lovely hostess and offered a choice of rooms (we were travelling beginning of April so still quiet) - ofcourse we took the bay view - no contest. Absolutely amazing view with your own little decking - unfortunately the weather wasn't quite our friend. The bed was comfy and the bathroom a good size. We were offered lots of info on things to do and they even turned a little fridge on for our cider :) Breakfast was cooked fresh and was lovely. The view was even better from the top floor.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Windham, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Having traveled the lovely road from Tralee by bus, we 3 American ladies of 60 years or more were pleasantly greeted by Marianne and Tommy. I immediately knew they would graciously guide us to maximize the short time we had to spend in Dingle. They helped us arrange ourselves in two rooms and allowed us to settle in before offering options for filling our time. Soon, Marianne drove us through town to help orient us.

She pointed out eating establishments, shops, and places of interest that each of us expressed a desire to find. This was so helpful because later when on foot we knew which way to travel. The walk to town from the Inn was easy and enjoyable along the bay.

The praise I have for their ability to anticipate our needs is very high. They cared for us in the gentle way relatives care for their visitors when wishing them to have the time of their lives. They had a sense of what would be best given the weather and our time frame. Their knowledge of the local possibilities was fabulous and they quickly contacted Tim Collins to take us on a guided tour throughout the Dingle Peninsula. The small van he drove aided us in getting to places the larger buses would not be able to go. Tim was friendly and informative. It was the perfect use of our time.

The breakfasts were fabulous. We individually ordered the night before so that the freshest ingredients could be used. The presentation at the table overlooking the Dingle Bay was a highlight of my journey from America. The serene setting and slow paced atmosphere were welcome changes from other parts of our travels. Tommy's secret ingredient for the porridge was a hit with all of us.

Book early for there are only 3 beautiful rooms to choose from. Each has its own treasures but two have fabulous views of the bay. Be prepared to be pampered!!

Room Tip: Ask for bay view but enjoy the other if that is the only one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We didn't have the pleasure to stay in the Blooming wildflower apartment because our confirmed reservation was cancelled. After informing us that our requested dates were available, I emailed the owner with my credit card information. I received a confirmation email with our total amount due, check in and out time, and "We look forward to welcoming you to the wildflower cottage May 20th. Marianne & Tommy"
A few days later, I received an email saying our reservation was cancelled and our credit card would not be charged. I emailed back to ask why our confirmed reservation was cancelled, but never received a reply. By this time, our second and third choice B&B's in Dingle were fully booked. The apartment looks awesome but it's not worth the risk to book here. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank summermarie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingwildflower, Owner at Blooming Wildflower Cottage, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Summermarie 62,

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused you. We experienced a glitch in our reservation system; a relatively uncontrollable mistake for which we sincerely apologise. We trust that you will forgive us for disappointing you with this irritating disturbance to your plans.

Fortunately, it was a short-lived communications error and program
malfunction causing multiple registering of our rooms. We had everything fixed
within 12 hours and did our best to notify you right away of the mistake in your booking
In addition, we did offer alternative accommodation in which you had more than a month to accept.

Sincerely,
Marianne
Blooming Wildflower Cottage
The Wood on Dingle Bay Shoreline
Dingle, County Kerry. Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in the Captain's Room for two nights. The view onto the patio, flowers and water was lovely. We enjoyed having our tea at the small table in the room overlooking the water. The little touches of biscuits and cakes left outside our room were so welcoming. We enjoyed the guidebooks too! Tommy and Marianne were very nice and their recommendations about bike renting were very helpful. Sitting in the breakfast room using the binoculars to look over the water in the morning eating a delicious breakfast was a lovely experience.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingwildflower, Owner at Blooming Wildflower Cottage, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
RE: COZY,SEAVIEW,LOVELY HOSPITALITY.

Dear Guest,

We are indeed grateful for your review. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do hope you will return again to the cozy Captain's Room to enjoy the seaview and to relax over a cup of tea and cake along the beautiful shore of Dingle Bay.

Sincerely, Tommy and Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Dingle has so much to offer and the Wildflower Cottage offers the best of both worlds. The beautiful view, the great location (a short walk to the town center), and amazing expertise of the hosts. Marianne will give you the scoop on where to go th hear a traditional music concert by local musicians, the best places for food, shopping and "craic" and artistic or cultural sights that are not listed in the tour guides. And Tommy makes a mean porridge! Although I only stayed here once, I have recommended it to many friends who have enjoyed their stay immensely.
Friends who have stayed in the little apartment say it was fabulous as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingwildflower, Owner at Blooming Wildflower Cottage, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Re. Lovely little place to stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted that you took such an interest in seeing Dingle from a native's point of view.

We make a special effort to stay updated on traditional concerts by local musicians, and to visit new local restaurants, shopping, artistic and cultural sights not listed in the tour guides so that we can pass these hints on to our guest. Thank you for mentioning this in your review.


It was very gratifying to hear somebody praise our Irish porridge and the beautiful view. We likes the fact that you didn't give away his secret ingredient.

We are grateful that you spent time in our B&B and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

With kindest regards,
Tommy and Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed there for just one night, nevertheless we had a very warm welcome from the owners, Marianne and Tommy, who did everything to make us feel at home. The place is clean, nice, and wonderfully located in the centre of Dingle, right on the waterfront. The owners are warm and very friendly, and they decorated the rooms wonderfully, in a beautiful variation of shades of blue, which go very well with the view of the bay. Breakfast was great, served in a room upstairs, which was also warm and cosy, with Irish music in the background, and we were also able to have a look at the bay at the same time. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingwildflower, Owner at Blooming Wildflower Cottage, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We were delighted to welcome you to the Blooming Wildflower Cottage. We were so very impressed with all the research you did on the Dingle Peninsula before your arrival here.
It was such a pleasure to meet you and to share your enthusiasm about the Irish culture and landscape and hidden treasures of the Dingle Peninsula.

We really do try to make your stay as comfortable as possible and to learn from any comments you may leave with us as we endeavor to improve each year.

With kind regards, Marianne & Tommy
Blooming Wildflower Cottage
The Wood on Dingle Bay
Dingle, Co Kerry. Ireland
Tel: 353 669152200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.2 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coastline House
Coastline House
#8 of 78 in Dingle
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Marina Lodge
Dingle Marina Lodge
#26 of 78 in Dingle
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 78 in Dingle
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Wildflower Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Wildflower Cottage

Property: Blooming Wildflower Cottage
Address: 132 The Wood | On Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DINGLE TOWN: Waterfront traditional B&B beautifully located on Dingle Bay. Offering stunning sunrises and fascinating sunsets from your bedroom windows. *Featuring Free WIFI. Enjoy our seaside morning room with stunning vistas of the Dingle Harbour. Our menu offers a three course breakfast from a choice of 6 specialities carefully selected to serve you organic, garden fresh and newly baked local foods.Located in a scenic, quiet part of Dingle town two streets away from gourmet restaurants, traditional pubs, craft shops, art galleries and Fungi the dolphin harbor tours. Our friendly hospitality is geared toward those who are interested in the Irish culture from a native's "point of view". We offer clean, warm, newly decorated bedrooms with private bathrooms, plus a seaside terrace with petite wildflower gardens.The wildflower garden on Dingle Bay outside your bedrooms is designed to grow plants that can survive living directly on the sea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing