We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday in the Blooming Wildflower apartment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blooming Wildflower Cottage
Ranked #52 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing holiday in the Blooming Wildflower apartment”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I and my husband stayed in the Blooming Wildflower Cottage, in the apartment on the first floor. It was one of the Irish heatwave weeks in July, and I will always remember this lovely, sunny week in Dingle. We were waiting for a rainy day, but it never came.

As I like making food at home on holidays, this apartment was perfect for it. The kitchen had everything I needed to make a good dinner. I could even take some branches of Marianne's rosemary bush in the garden for my lamb stew. And when the dinner was made, we could sit in the terrace room watching the blue sea and the beautiful views over Dingle Bay. And Marianne's lovely garden, too, with all it's fascinating and colourful details.

Tommy and Marianne did everything to make our stay satisfying, and they succeeded with it. I have nothing to complain about them or their house. They are very kind and caretaking hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariasme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
72
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This was one of our favorite spots during our 5 week tour of Europe. As others have stated, the hosts, Marianne and Tommy, are so warm and welcoming. We were traveling with 2 boys (10 & 13) and they were so kind with them, our kids loved it. My husband and I were lucky enough to get the apartment room with enclosed porch and gorgeous views of the bay and our kids had a room upstairs with a king sized bed that gave them plenty of space. We made sure the boys were on their best behavior since we weren't in the same room and they got it, we all had a wonderful stay.
Breakfast was a real treat, served on a beautifully set table and in a room with the same great views of the bay.

Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. There's alot to see and do in and around Dingle but we only had one night, would be better to stay 2 -3 nights. We were lucky to pick John Benny's pub for dinner as we had great seats for the music that started up right when we were finishing our food. The music was fantastic, a great introduction to the Irish pub scene we had heard so much about.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labuchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We (2 couples) spnt 2 nights at Wildflower Cottage in July 2013. The owner were nice, but a bit scared and suspicious about how much 'party guys' we would be, although we were a normal 2 couples in our late 30 or early 40's. Both apartments (rooms) had little or no storage room and Captain's room has such a soft mattress you wake up with a back pain.
On our check out day we went cycling in the early morning and were asked to pay for our staying a day prior to our leave - don't know why exactly. Also, althoug we returned from cycing at 10.30 a.m. (check-out is until 11a.m.) both app were already locked and had to ask if we could use a shower before driving a car for next 5 hours. We were allowed to use 1 shower and got 1 big towel for 4 of us....
They are friendly, but elderly couple who seemed to be more used to welcome older couples..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingwildflower, Owner at Blooming Wildflower Cottage, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a photo of yourself so we could remember who you are. Imagine our shock that our kindness and hospitality were so easily discarded. Well now, to say the least, you are the last person we expected to write a disappointing review.

Of course, we remember you well, as our first guest from Slovenia whom we in good faith graciously upgraded to the Wildflower Apartment and Captain’s Room so you could be on the same floor across the hall from your friends. Our place may be small but it was certainly big enough for you to park your four bikes inside.

We are always open to constructive criticism and look forward to genuine complaints. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish you had told us sooner so we could have addressed the issues on the spot and moved you upstairs to a larger room with a firmer mattress and more storage space. The Captain’s Room on the Sea, where you stayed, is really a unique room like the master stateroom on a 45 ft yacht. It is very compact with extraordinary sea views. It offers the exclusive opportunity to fall asleep looking out on Dingle Bay while resting in bed enjoying a full moon on a fine summer’s evening or waking up to a lovely sunrise over the Ring of Kerry.

We asked you to pay the night before after you came upstairs and indicated you would be leaving early. You requested us to deliver your breakfast before 7A.M. which even though breakfast starts at 8:30, we kindly went out of our way to supply breakfast for four to your own kitchen in the apartment.

The reason we cleaned the place and locked up was that you had vacated the premises, turned in your keys, removed your belongings from the Apartment and Captain’s Room, and rode away on your bikes. Three or four hours later, you arrived back at 10:45 knocking on the door asking to take showers and promising to leave the shower room as you found it. We agreed. After you left for the second time, our staff cleaned the bathroom and carpet of the bedroom. She gave us not one but three dirty towels to wash again. If we thought you were coming back again, why would our staff bother to clean the rooms only to turn around and clean them again?

In good faith, we feel we were very obliging and cooperative in order to make things easier for you. We apologize for any misunderstanding you may have had concerning our procedures. Everything is clearly posted in our procedure manual located on the dresser of each room.


Sincerely,
Tommy and Marianne
The Blooming Wildflower Cottage
Dingletown, County Kerry. Ireland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's no secret that the Dingle Peninsula is blessed with some of the most scenic coastline in Ireland and all of Europe. If coming to Ireland, this is an experience with charm and breathtaking beauty that deserves a few days or more. So grateful to find a charming B&B that, literally, puts guests on the sea. Reading other glowing reviews and just want to bask in it - what an amazing experience!

My wife and I were hoping to book one of the seaside suites but timing with those booked had us tucked away in a quiet but spacious nook on the other side of the property. We are a stickler for a cozy and comfortable bed and am surprised we ever woke up - when we did there is a glorious setting over the Dingle bay and breakfast suited to our requests by one of the warmest hosts we've ever met, Marianne. Some people were checking out downstairs so we had a peek and, if you can time it, is pretty much the best location you can find anywhere on the peninsula. Writers and artists will be in heaven! What we loved most is that we could have peace and quiet on the seafront but be, literally, only a 5 minute walk to the village.

On a personal note, I'm not the biggest B&B guy on the planet and love my privacy but this cottage struck the perfect balance. We felt completely unplugged from our world but knew they were there with a question or request for Irish music or intimate place for dinner.

This is our first trip advisor review of a hotel(or anything!). When you have an experience like we just did with the Cottage it makes you want to share the experience. Good luck and safe travels!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a very warm welcome and cottage is full of charm. Hosts and other guests great to chat to over breakfast - and view from breakfast table out the back across Dingle bay is superb. And just 3-4 minute walk to town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I, and my sister, traveled to Dingle in early June and stayed with Marianne and Tommy at their delightful B&B. They are gracious and warm hosts and did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the cottage was within walking distance of town. The view from the breakfast area and back porch was wonderful, and the breakfasts were great as well. If you are looking for huge rooms, anonymous hosts, and the ability to return drunk at all hours of the night, then B&B's may not be for you. But if you are looking for a family run B&B with reasonable rates and welcoming hosts, then The Blooming Wildflower is a great choice. It was one of our favorite B&B's in the entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in the apartment for a week in early June and loved it. Since the weather didn't cooperate every day the week we were there (lots of rain and wind some days), the little porch shown in the advert was a great bonus. The apartment was clean, the bed was comfortable, the kitchen was easy to use and there was a washer and dryer in our apartment as an added bonus! Since we were traveling light and needed to wash out a few things, this was wonderful. Unfortunately, we booked a tour the afternoon we needed to wash our clothes(we were pretty much out). We could have done it in the evening, but Marianne said she would wash them for us! That was greatly appreciated. All in all, we had a great time because of our hosts and the facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dingle Marina Lodge
Dingle Marina Lodge
#24 of 75 in Dingle
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coastline House
Coastline House
#13 of 75 in Dingle
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dingle Atlantic Lodge B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Wildflower Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Wildflower Cottage

Property: Blooming Wildflower Cottage
Address: 132 The Wood | On Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DINGLE TOWN: Waterfront traditional B&B beautifully located on Dingle Bay. Offering stunning sunrises and fascinating sunsets from your bedroom windows. *Featuring Free WIFI. Enjoy our seaside morning room with stunning vistas of the Dingle Harbour. Our menu offers a three course breakfast from a choice of 6 specialities carefully selected to serve you organic, garden fresh and newly baked local foods.Located in a scenic, quiet part of Dingle town two streets away from gourmet restaurants, traditional pubs, craft shops, art galleries and Fungi the dolphin harbor tours. Our friendly hospitality is geared toward those who are interested in the Irish culture from a native's "point of view". We offer clean, warm, newly decorated bedrooms with private bathrooms, plus a seaside terrace with petite wildflower gardens.The wildflower garden on Dingle Bay outside your bedrooms is designed to grow plants that can survive living directly on the sea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing