We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest of the Roses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest of the Roses
Ranked #2 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at Coill an Rois for one night. The location is very beautiful and peaceful, the food was simply amazing and our host was very caring with us (great tea on our arrival from the Dingle Way, interesting discussions and video of the area). A place to stop!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benoît M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
216
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed with Jimmy and Noreen for two nights and have compared the hosts of every b&b since to them. Our visit felt more like staying with very good friends for the weekend than being clients of an establishment. The location is very peaceful at the foot of Mt Brandon and not far from Dingle. Jimmy is a great cook but also provided lots of excellent information on what to visit in Dingle and the house was very comfortable. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Immediately upon entering your greeted by the host, Jimmy, with a warm cup of tea and home baked goodies (he's a pastry chef) and video of the Dingle area sights. The rooms are excellent and I have no complaints. Jimmy is lovely to talk to about anything and great for recommending things to do in the area. The whole atmosphere at Coil An Rois is just warm and inviting. The ten minute drive to Dingle, if that, is well worth it any day.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerPM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Jimmy is such a treat! So welcoming and friendly, really great at recommending things to do in the area. Made us tea and biscuits upon arrival, and recommended a really excellent place to eat in Dingle, as well as providing us with directions and suggestions for pubs.

The beds were very comfortable and cosy, and the rooms exceptionally clean. The showers in the bathrooms were to die for!

But by far the best thing was the breakfast! Jimmy made us Baileys porridge and then eggs with salmon. The soda bread was delicious, and the scones and blueberry muffins were some of the best I've had anywhere. Definitely stay here if you are going to Dingle, and if you aren't you should really consider going to Dingle just to stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My 2 nieces and I enjoyed our stay at Coill An Rois in April 2014. Jimmy, the host, makes you feel like you have returned home. He is a wealth of knowledge for things to do in the area and a great chef. He serves a delicious breakfast with homemade muffins and scones. The rooms have all been updated with new very comfortable beds. The view out the window of Mount Brandon is beautiful. We look forward to returning to Coill An Rois!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The best part of this B&B where my family and I stayed in September a few years ago is the Innkeeper, Jimmy- he is so hospitable, funny, and welcoming. He takes time with each of the guests- greets you where you get there with hot tea, coffee, homemade mini-muffins and scones, etc. The breakfasts and pastries that we had were just phenomenal! He even invites you into the kitchen to learn how to make his recipes (ie Nutella cookies). The B&B itself is located in a very rural area, which creates for a quiet, calm atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable (although not necessarily impressive with decor as with other B&B's) and the shower is great- very good water pressure! Highly recommended. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our first stay was so beautiful. It was like coming home. We got delicious homemade Treats, Coffee and/or Tea. Jimmy and his wife are really kind. It was like an inside in a traditional irish Life, but the best, for few hour we were a piece of it. We loved it so much, that Jimmy`s house became our No. 1 B&B. Now we stay there many times, every time we looking forward to it. The place is breath taking. We are so glad to find such a beautiful and peaceful place and to have new lovely friends. We have two small kids, they fell in love with everything directly. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. The house is full of love and heart. Thank you!!!!
The new beds are great, best sleep ever!!!

Stefan and Sabrina with Kids

Room Tip: Just call there are only good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
6.3 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
5.8 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
6.1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
5.6 mi away
Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle
5.6 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest of the Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest of the Roses

Property: Forest of the Roses
Address: Ballyganeen, Feohanagh, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Mount Brandon amid the tranquil waters of Dingle Bay, lies this cozy hideaway. Contempary and spacious guest rooms, jacuzzi and body showers. Eclectic breakfast menu includes Irish, American and Continental fare, all fresh and home made. Baking demonstrations on request. TRIPADVISOR Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013, 2014. TRIPADVISOR TRAVELLERS' CHOICE winner 2015 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing