We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House”
Review of Milltown House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milltown House
Ranked #6 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My father and I traveled through Ireland this past May and we loved staying at the Milltown House the best. It was so beautiful and had the most amazing view of Dingle. We decided to walk into down each day and it was a very doable walk! Dingle is an amazing city to visit also. We loved our stay and recommend every one coming to stay here! Oh, and the 8 month old Irish Wolf Hound they have is amazing!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Elena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown D, Owner at Milltown House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are delighted that you and your Daddy enjoyed your Irish holiday, and that Milltown House and Dingle were the highlights!
Thanks for the lovely photos, especially the pic of Seamus, he really is an adorable gentle-giant.
Best wishes to you both, remember you now have a new home in beautiful Dingle.
Le meas/with respect
Stephen McPhilemy
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Milltown House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed three nights at Milltown House and it was perfect. It felt like coming home every night after our adventures.
The location was ideal considering that Dingle is not that big. Everything within walking distance.
The breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices of fresh fruits, cereals, fresh breads, and cook to order food. It was something we looked forward to every morning. In fact we delayed our departure on the day we were to leave so we could have their breakfast one last time.
The service was warm and welcoming. Will definitely come back here again and recommend to families and friends to stay in Dingle.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akjdkcodkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown D, Owner at Milltown House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Wow, what a great review and a testimony to how fantastic the award-winning breakfasts are at Milltown House, Dingle.
Our team will be delighted to hear you postponed an early departure just to enjoy the breakfast for a 3rd morning in a row!
Thank you for your business and Im proud to hear we met your expectations. Guests who stay for 3 nights or more are always extra important to us, as they become even more like members of our Milltown House Clan!
Happy Travels around the rest of Ireland.
Stephen McPhilemy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Milltown House is a perfect way to experience Ireland! Deirdre was the most welcoming hostess and a fantastic cook as well! The view from our room was breath taking, I could have sat at the window for hours. Stephen is not only a terrific guide, but a wonderful host as well. This was my favorite place to stay during our 16 nights in Ireland. oh---and "Wee" Seamus is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown D, Owner at Milltown House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for the positive review, compliments and the lovely photos of Seamus our Irish Wolfhound and The 'Robert Mitchum' Room!
It was a delight to host you both and always an absolute pleasure to welcome Rick Steves tour-groups to Dingle and to our beloved Milltown House.
Glad you enjoyed the views, the warm welcome and the yummy 'High-Tea' on your arrival, that sunny evening in the conservatory and on our lawns was such fun and a great memory for us also.
Safe journey home to New-England and give a doggy-biscuit to Brandon, your Kerry-Blue terrier, from all of us here in the beautiful County Kerry!
Go neiri an mBothar leat/may the road rise to meet you
Stephen McPhilemy
Owner
Milltown house
Dingle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This house was the nicest B&B west had the pleasure to stay in during our 9 day trip. The house and grounds were beautiful, but the corner bedroom view was spectacular looking out over the bay and the town of Dingle. The room was quite large, clean and beautiful too! Nice big bathroom :).

Room Tip: Ask for the front corner rooms :)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown D, Owner at Milltown House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave very positive feedback on Tripadvisor.
Delighted to hear you thought Milltown House was the best accommodation on your holiday through Ireland!
Its always flattering to hear how guests love our beautiful historic house and the lovely grounds. It truly is a magnificent location we have right on Dingles waterfront, we are very blessed.
Safe journey to you both and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Le meas/with respect
Stephen McPhilemy
Owner
Milltown House
Dingle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I spent a wonderful few days here with my girlfriend back in January. Everything about the Milltown house was amazing- the staff, the house, the comfortable rooms. It's the perfect stroll home after a night out in the world-famous pubs. Stephen is a real winner, and him and his team make the stay quite memorable. Will come again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSAEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown D, Owner at Milltown House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for the kind words about our beloved Milltown House. It was an honour and pleasure to host you both for your winter-break and we look forward to welcoming you back in future. Say hi to beautiful Seattle from all of us here in Dingle!
Le meas/with respect
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Milltown House is set in a peacefull scenic area over looking Dingle bay. It oozes personality, and has endless possibilities.
Its tasefully restored and has a lot of history attached.The warm welcome makes you feel at home. The staff are passionate about what they do, making this a really special friendly place to stay.
The room was a twin lots of space and well decpora\ted and spotless...Fab home made brown bread and a hearty Irish breakfast ....and a genuine smile from the friendly staff ........ Famous Seamus The Irish Wolfhound adds a special touch ...I miss him...so will have to return ........

Room Tip: over looking Dingle bay....Ask for front of the house.....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Milltown House while traveling up the western coast of Ireland with my father-in-law. Dingle town was our next destination and while we had enjoyed the smaller towns up and down the coast, we were tired of the hotel above the pub bit and wanted to simply relax in a place which felt like a home. Milltown House delivered exactly that, a beautiful location on the water with lovely seaside views of the inlet and of Dingle town, which was only a short walk away. My father-in-law was in the room next to us with beautiful appointments and the same seaside views, but we were lucky enough to stay in the Robert Mitchum room where he had stayed while filming Ryan's Daughter back in 1969. The room was full of character with a gorgeous seaside view and it had beautiful linens. The bed was AMAZING! Best bed of our entire trip, to be perfectly honest. Milltown House is a solid house, no creaky floors here, nice and quiet at all hours even though it was completely booked. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The Irish breakfast is a must, with loads of fresh fruit, cheeses, toasts and biscuits and an array of juices, tea and coffee. Seamus, Stephen's Irish Wolfhound, was so adorable that we hope to find one like him back in the states. He adds so much to the delightful character of this adorable place. We would have liked to extend our stay more than one night, but decided to travel further north and realized all too late that Dingle and the Dingle Penisula, would be one of the most beautiful places we experienced in Ireland. Milltown House is a MUST-STAY!

Room Tip: Chose a Deluxe or Supreme double room which offer seaside views. Robert Mitchum room if can get it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown D, Owner at Milltown House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

We are delighted you had a fantastic experience in our beloved Milltown House and in beautiful Dingle!
Thank you for the lovely photos of Seamus and indeed of the 'Robert Mitchum' room, it truly has one of the best views in all of Ireland.
Happy travels
Stephen McPhilemy
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
1.1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
868 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milltown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milltown House

Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: £101 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milltown House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milltown House is the landmark property on the beautiful Dingle Waterfront.We have 10 luxurious bedrooms in Boutique-Hotel style.Home to Hollywood Star, Robert Mitchum, in 1969 during the filming of Oscar-winning movie 'Ryans Daughter'... Unrivalled and breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Milltown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing