We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming traditional Irish hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Charming traditional Irish hospitality”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a last minute booking as we went to Dingle for the day and loved it that much we wanted to stay. If you are looking for good old fashioned Irish hospitality and a breakfast of champions to boot then this is the place for you. It's about a mile from the town centre, and I'd advise asking Jill for a reputable taxi number to get you home in the evening to avoid getting stung for €9 like we did by some chancer the bar called for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stenkenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and it was a pleasure to have you all to stay. Your two children were so good. I'm still wondering if Dillon got home without getting car sick? Also I would love to know that your new four legged addition to your family recovered well from her operation. Neutering can be tricky sometimes. My poor Westie Bengie has now gone deaf so it's a very quiet world for him now. I don't have to spell 'Walkies' anymore which is so sad. I hope you all enjoyed the Aquarium here in Dingle and the beautiful scenery we have on the Peninsula. I hope we meet again sometime. My number is : 00353-669151373 should you see this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and could not fault our stay in any way.
House is immaculately clean.
It's bright, tastefully decorated.
Jill is a very welcoming host who made us feel at home instantly.
The breakfast was excellent especially the porridge:)
Also met the lovely Benji who looks nowhere like his age.
Thank you so much Jill for having us.
One in a million!
Xxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fireballor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Siobhán, it was so lovely meeting your family and again the best children in the world. I hardly knew they were in the house. You have left such an impression on me as one of the loveliest people I've met in a long time. I have contacted Glanbia about the food for Bengie and waiting for a reply to my email!!! Thank you so much for your advice. Bengie is now deaf and I am so sad for him.

Your lovely comments have left me with a 'swelled head' but that doesn't get the work done, but it does make it easier, and it's so lovely when someone notices!

I hope we meet again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but would have loved to have stayed a lot longer. One of the loveliest and most friendly women i have ever met. The room was amazing as well as the breakfast. Would recommend this place to anyone!!
Thank You
Heather Sims

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Heather, thank you so much for your lovely comments. They are much appreciated. We did have a good laugh as I always look on the bright side of life. You were such a wonderful person and I hope we meet again some day soon! Jill Liston 00353-66-9151373
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We just spent three great nights in Dingle at the Liston Family B&B with Jill and Bengie (her 15 year old Westie). Jill is a wonderful hostess who made sure we were well taken care of. The accommodations are warm and cozy including our favorite - the instant hot water in the showers! Jill is a sweetheart who happens to be related to a very famous Hollywood star (I won't spoil her secret, but she'll gladly tell you if you visit her). We also had nice chats with her about life in Dingle. We especially loved the breakfast room surrounded by sunlight and the beauty of the countryside. She's located a few miles out of town which makes it peaceful and quiet. As for Bengie, he's such a sweet dog. He's over 15 now and has his good and bad days, but all in all he's hanging in there! His presence gave us a much needed "fur fix" being away from our dogs. Thanks Jill for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aae991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
I can still see you both sitting on the floor in the hall with Bengie. HE had the best time ever too, and I am so glad he helped you both feel less lonesome for your own treasured dogs. I hope they had a great welcome for you when you got home.
Thank you for your lovely comments they are very much appreciated here. I had other guests since, who came because they were curious about your comment about my ' Famous Hollywood Star' and they were very impressed!!!!! That's all thanks to you keeping that secret here!!
You won't believe it but my home is only ONE mile from Dingle town and is a lovely walk as the road is flat. Most of Dingle's roads are up hill but not out here. Your car is safe and off the road and of course a good nights sleep is guaranteed. I do hope we meet again sometime. Bengie is doing well but spends a lot of time asleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willmar, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I would highly recommend the Liston Family B&B for your stay in Dingle. We loved everything about it. Jill greeted us with excellent hospitality and knowledge of the area. We had more than enough to do during our stay, and she was full of recommendations. We appreciated that she even picked us up at the bus stop and brought us back at the end of our stay, so we did not have to walk with heavy luggage to the B&B.
Our room in the house was perfect: the cleanest and most welcoming we experienced during our Irish travels. The views from the room were breathtaking, and we even enjoyed the sight, smell, and sound of the nearby sheep flocks! Breakfast on Jill's solar offered spectacular views as well. The food was delicious - my husband says Jill's Irish breakfast was his favorite meal of the whole trip.
The B&B is located a bit out of town, but we found that the walk was nice, especially after a night in the pubs. We appreciated the quiet seclusion, which allowed us to really relax and enjoy ourselves.
If we ever go back... I mean, WHEN we go back to Ireland, we will be sure to spend a few days with Jill at the Liston B&B. Although, we will probably rent a car next time for touring the whole peninsula.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Joe and Rachel, I can't believe it's nearly a year since you were here. I still remember you both and of course the sheep were 'home from home' for you both. For me they are also lovely to look at without the responsibility of actually owning them!!! It is lovely that you are now friends on my Facebook page too!
Anyone who tells me that they are coming by bus I am only too delighted to pick them up at the bus stop in Dingle and bring them back when they leave. Thank you so much for your comment about the cleanliness of my rooms. I do appreciate you saying so as I do put 110% of myself into my work. It's easy when I get to meet such lovely people like yourselves. A car is really essential for touring the Dingle Peninsula as the local bus does not go every day and the Peninsula is one of the most famous places to visit. I hope you get to visit Ireland again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This was my first trip back to Ireland in over 20 years. and my partner's first ever. I wanted to show him the real Ireland, and the warmth of Irish hospitality. We found it all at Jill Liston's home in Dingle. She could not have done more for us, so very kind and considerate. She shared her wealth of local knowledge as we arrived, and there was a delightful welcome letter from her West Highland Terrier Benji to make us feel one of the family. The room was perfect, spotlessly clean, with such beautiful linen. An excellent breakfast was a joy at the start of the day, in such peaceful surroundings. Nowhere else in Ireland matched the welcome we received. I would recommend Jill's home to anyone. We will be back , and will stay longer next time, to see more of the beautiful Dingle Peninsular-and Benji and Jill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you so much for your very thoughtful review recently. I remember you both very much and I'm delighted that I was able to be of help to make your visit more memorable for you. I appreciate your lovely review and I hope to see you again in the future. I get to meet such wonderful people, and it's why I look forward to the summer season each year. Roll on 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My parents and I stayed here just recently in September for about a week. At first I was a bit disappointed cause the B&B seemed to be a bit far out of town. But walking that distance once I realised it was really super short and the silence a bit out of town is extremely enjoyable. It is wonderfully quiet and the view out of the window is priceless! You can enjoy Ireland fully while brushing your teeth :) Jill is more than just a host. She is warm and welcoming and really contributed to our wonderful stay. She knows everyone and everything when it comes to where to go or where to eat. We all felt at home in no time. Staying here helped us all to fall in love with Dingle. The rooms where great and needless to say Benji is a doll! Thank you so much Jill for opening your home to us! It was so wonderful to meet you and Benji (and the baby cat). We will definitely come back if we get the chance!

PS.: Thank you for killing that hairy monster spider :D

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathieRejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshinekerry, Owner at The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
It was such a pleasure to have all three of you for the week. It was just like having my own family home for a while. You were such wonderful people and it was a pleasure to have you come and stay in my home. I do hope to see you all again in the future. Lets hope it's not 'spider' mating time!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingle
1.0 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
1.2 mi away
O'Neills Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Killfountain Farm
Killfountain Farm
#64 of 75 in Dingle
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
394 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ballymore House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Liston Family Bed and Breakfast
Address: Ballynabooly | Dingle, Co. Kerry, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jill and family welcome you to our spacious and comfortable home in the heart of the Dingle peninsula with commanding views of Mount Brandon; Irelands second highest mountain, and Mount Eagle, with Dingle harbour in the distance, so a good nights sleep is guaranteed! Our three large bedrooms have spacious en-suite bathrooms, Central Heating, Pine beds with orthopedic mattresses, clock radios; hairdryers; TV/DVD and electric blankets. Tea/Coffee/hot chocolate/herbal tea making facilities for all rooms, FREE WiFi and FREE safe private car parking. Members of Failte Ireland the Irish Tourist Board and dingle-peninsula I am also on the 'Dingle App' on your phone! We are an animal free house and have special duvet and pillow protectors for people with allergies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing