We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at Dunlavin House”
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #21 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at Dunlavin House”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I brought my friends with me on this trip back to Dingle. I booked us all into Dunlavin House as I knew they would love it as I had already been there on a number of occasions . Our flight had been cancelled by Ryan Air so we arrived very late but Denise welcomed us with a lovely smile. She was so friendly although it was nearly 11pm.

Our rooms were very clean and comfortable and the rooms at the front of the house have the most amazing views over Dingle Bay.

The breakfast was fantastic!!! So much choice. Cereals, fresh fruit, lovely cake and full Irish breakfast. No need for food until the evening!!!!!!!!!!

Although this bed and breakfast is not in the centre of the town its only about a 10 minute walk away and a good way of walking off the breakfast.

Denise is the perfect host. She could not have done anymore for us.

Shall definatley be back. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
96
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here two nights and we found the hostess was very gracious. We were looking forward to a room with a water view, but it was disappointing to have to look at a cemetery in order to see the water in the distance. Rooms were plain and nice and we had good breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Situated less than 1.5 miles outside of Dingle hub itself, this B&B is easy to find. Our room was suitable, rather plain and standard. It offered us a view of the backyard that included the gardening hut and trampoline for children, with distant mountains far away, not much else. In front, we noticed the great view of the graveyard located directly across the street, with Dingle bay in the far distance. Yes, you can see the bay situated between two mountains, and at times am sure the view is pleasant enough; but you must cover up the gravestones with your hand to see it sufficiently. Hostess Denise and her mom are gracious, kind and courteous. Their easy going and friendly style made up for our disappointing view. Breakfast was the norm, nothing out of the ordinary. I think the best advantage point is Dunlavin House is ideally located to allow visitors to drive to the coast, up to Connor pass, or for shopping in Dingle itself.

Room Tip: Try out your night adventure side by visiting the Dingle Hotel pub for some "trad" musical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooffwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a one night stay in Dingle and chose Dunlavin House. We were not dissapointed. We had a Room at the front of the house and fabulous views of the Bay. Denise is a great host. Breakfast was amazing as well. We will definitely be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 812TDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

If you are looking for a B&B with a great view and very friendly people this is your place. Denise was very warm and went out of her way to make us feel very comfortable. She cooks a great breakfast, eggs, cereal, fruit, it was all good. She will make sure that you get enough food to send you on your way for the day. Overall, great place to stay in Dingle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We chose this B&B because it was just down the road from downtown Dingle, so a bit quieter. Denise was super nice and eager to give us recommendations in town.
Overall, I think the set-up of the house is a bit unusual. We stayed in the first floor room which was down the hall from the 2 kids' rooms and the family den. Since the kids were out from school during our stay, it did not exactly make for a relaxing experience. Also, the bathroom could have used some deep cleaning.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor co down
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Coming all the way from Co Down we were shattered but we were greeted by Denise who couldnt have been more friendly, she offered us tea and really made us feel at home! The rooms were just lovely, prefect location too, just 10 minutes stroll into Dingle so theres no noise in the evenings!!we staying in room 4 where there is amazing views of Dingle Bay!!and the breakfast was amazing,best breakfast we got while doing our self drive trip around Ireland,cannot wait to return!!thanks Dunlavin,will definately be returning!!!! :)

Room Tip: nice seaview in room4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shel_oconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Duinin House
Duinin House
#13 of 75 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#7 of 75 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cill Bhreac House B&B
Cill Bhreac House B&B
#11 of 75 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Property: Dunlavin House
Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunlavin House we offer the highest standard of accommodation and food for our guests, Overlooking Dingle Bay with a short walk from town gives us the perfect location for the discerning visitor. We offer a personal welcome to all of our guests with useful advice and assistance designed to make their stay in Dingle the highlight of their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing